We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of our 3 Mercure stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Angers Centre
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel and location and thought it compared very favorably with the Mercures where we stayed in Saumur and Paris on the same trip. It was a comfortable walk to downtown with its very interesting history and the Angers Chateau with its renowned Apocalypse tapestries. There were many small restaurant choices nearby, though one does have to watch for afternoon closings. There is a large and beautiful Jardin des Plantes adjacent to the hotel, and it was even viewable from our hotel window! Our room was quite adequate, very comfortable and very clean, and we really appreciated the complimentary WIFI service available. We were not as happy with the food offered for dinner at the restaurant or the serrvice, though the breakfast buffet was quite ample. We also wished that the bar area might have been open before dinner rather than just afterward. Our group instead went across the street to the James Joyce Pub to gather. Desk attendants were helpful, though not overly so, but all in all, we enjoyed this hotel a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWeids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Wonderful service, large very clean room (if a little dated). Tea and coffee facilities and secure parking downstairs too. The bed was incredibly comfortable - although the pillows not so great - and we had a great night's sleep. 10 minutes walk to town and a pretty safe area, we strolled around quite comfortably late at night without any worries. Fabulous news snapshots in reception area in English that you can pick up free of charge for a summary of what's happening back in the UK.

As an added bonus the hotel is very well sign posted and easy to get back to from town (just follow all the signs for Centre de Congres'!!

We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on that.

Would definitely recommend and happily stay there again.

*Travelled as a couple, stayed one night in September 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whoknows12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

If you know the Accor group then you kind of know where Mercure sits in their heirarchy but unlike the Ibis range we have found Mercures to be quite variable in quality. This was excellent. 2 adults and child in large room overlooking gardens. Quiet, comfortable, clean, air conditioned. excellent mattress (for those with bad backs). Coffee machine, bath, Easy to find. Five minute walk to town centre. There's a carrefour express shop open till nine thirty just up the road too. Contrary to another reviewer we found a lot of restaurant's open in August and good choice of meals. Parking was extra and a bit of a chore with the luggage from the basement (you have to change lifts) but in a town centre that's a bit nit picking.

Room Tip: Overlook the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipsagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Hotel is on basic Mercure's standards.. not more

Restaurant is only worth trying if you do not remember about pathetic service

It is that kind of restaurant where you need to walk to the waiter to order for food

try to get salt, mustard or another glass of wine.. no hope
Even for your bill they are too busy to care for you

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivannParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Rooms nice, staff good and most multilingual. Room pleasant and was able to get an upgrade online.
However this large hotel was very quiet in August and it showed in staffing levels and ambience. Most of the restaurants in town were shut including irish pub.
Restaurant in hotel not as imaginative as other mercures.
Overall good location.

Room Tip: Try to get room overlooking park not street, which is noisy in rush hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flynnwales2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chetwynd5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angers hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel D'Anjou
0.4 mi away
Mercure Angers Centre Gare
0.5 mi away
Ibis Angers Centre Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel 21 Foch
Hotel 21 Foch
#2 of 33 in Angers
186 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Angers Lac de Maine
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Angers Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Angers Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Angers Centre

Address: 1 Place Pierre Mendes France, 49100, Angers, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Angers
#4 Family Hotel in Angers
#5 Luxury Hotel in Angers
Price Range: £63 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Angers Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built above the Convention Centre, the hotel boasts the lush green surrounds of the Jardin des Plantes, right in the centre of Angers. Along with an easy going atmosphere, the Mercure Angers Centre 3 star hotel features a restaurant overlooking the Jardin des Plantes, a bar and meeting facilities able to host up to 60 people. Four tourist excursions are also on offer, Les Bonnes Escapades. Facilities for guests with limited mobility and parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Angers Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Angers Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing