We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in Angers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel D'Anjou
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is very nice and in a nice location. It's located very near the most beautiful botanical garden.

When we checked in we were assisted in bringing in our luggage by the woman at the reception desk, who came with me to our car to explain to my husband where the parking garage was. She was very helpful.

The lobby is just gorgeous with beautiful furniture and stained glass. Our room was very nice; it could have been a tad bigger, but we were comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was ample but the room could use redecorating. It was rather bland and not as well lit as it could have been.

All in all it was a nice place to stay for one night and we would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chacha7602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Having found the hotel and underground parking, the intercom didn't work, once I had the code, there was no offer from the staff to assist with the luggage. The room was small, though clean, only enough milk(full cream) for two cups. There were notices about saving the environment, paper face cloths-1, broken soap dispenser, hooks that only a very tall man could reach, and air conditioning set to 19oC whether you wanted it that hot of not. Staff were off hand, and definitely need to learn some people skills. We did not have breakfast, 13euros was a bit over the top. Hi speed wifi was down, and after reporting it in the morning, it was still down in the evening. Engineer had not been contacted!
The location was good, but would not stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We booked a superior room, which was spacious, with fluffy white bath towels.
We went down to breakfast at 10 am, and it was supposed to finish at 10.30, yet there were no clean tables laid, or bowls, glasses etc. I had to find the kitchen from the sound of clinking crockery and ask. There were quite a few people coming in after us, so I don't know what they found to eat, because there was only a bit of dried up egg, a few bacon bits and baked beans. The fruit salad was from a tin. There was no fresh bread or pastries. The staff were very grumpy.
It's in a good location 'though. We didn't eat dinner there. We went to Restaurant Le Mail - out of hotel, turn right, across gardens on far side of park - superb.

Room Tip: Pay for a superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have been staying at this hotel on and off for 27 years. We love it as it has real French character and is not a "euro-hotel". Great location, love the stripy wallpaper and faux pillars in the bedroom. Expensive rooms are really nice, with interconnected options ideal for older kids. Restaurant we could not fault - quality of food, decor and service perfect. However breakfast disappointingly served in the basement and not great. Yes lift small, but adequate. Parking available a few metres down the road.

Room Tip: Paying more gets you more. I prefer bathrooms with loos; separate loos tend to be in a cupboard&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel is in a great location within a couple of minutes walking distance of the city centre.

The front desk staff were not very attentive and we got a really small room. The bed was a small double and not much room to swing a cat. The lift was the smallest lift I think I have ever been in...beware if you have a lot of luggage.

Parking outside was difficult but we did get a parking space in the garage which is a 5 min walk away....not great with luggage.

Breakfast was nice with a good choice and plenty of it. This is where the hotel redeemed itself for me.

It's OK but again not sure it's great value for money. We booked through laterooms.com so didn't pay full price and I wouldn't pay full price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Very hard to park outside in order to drop off, had to park in the local car park but that's not a major problem. Awful regency stripe wallpaper with faux tapestries. Asked for a non-smoking room, got a smoker. Smallest shower in the known universe. Light fitting in shower was, I kid you not, a gold cherubim holding the lampshade. My calvados was served with ice, is this some sort of American influence? Nice location but that's about it. Room was clean and quiet and value OK. I'm generally confortable with Best Western but I wouldn't return to this one.

Room Tip: Insist on a non-smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The rooms were roomy and well maintained. The front desk staff were very accommodating with any tourism enquiries -bookings, restaurants, attraction opening times, etc . They also assisted with rectifying problems with our earlier Paris accommodation billing.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelvin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angers hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Angers Centre Gare
0.1 mi away
Hotel 21 Foch
Hotel 21 Foch
#1 of 33 in Angers
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Angers Centre Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Angers Centre
Mercure Angers Centre
#5 of 33 in Angers
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#15 of 33 in Angers
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Angers Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel D'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel D'Anjou

Address: 1 boulevard du Marechal Foch, 49100, Angers, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Angers
#1 Business Hotel in Angers
#3 Romantic Hotel in Angers
#3 Luxury Hotel in Angers
Price Range: £62 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel D'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Anjou is located in the center of Angers. It is an elegant, discreetly-furnished hotel, renowned for its restaurant "Salamander" with its splendid neogothic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel D'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Angers
Angers Best Western
Best Western Hotel Angers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing