We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping du Lac de Maine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Angers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping du Lac de Maine
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a lovely campsite, right on the lake giving a very pleasant walk into Angers. The area was busy when we were there, it was a weekend and the weather was beautiful so the whole Angers population seemed to be walking, running or cycling round the lake. Staff on the site were very helpful and we found the site itself to be peaceful with good facilities. Angers is lovely, well worth a visit. As we travel with a motorhome we like to use campsites from which we can walk and this one is perfect for that.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here to break our journey to the channel port from the French Alps. We selected it from the website based on its location in one of the few dry places in the whole of France that week. Firstly the campsite is very easy to find. Simply follow signs to the Centre Ville, and these very quickly provide prominent direction to the campsite. Access to the campsite is through a French "Centre Commercial" with big out of town stores and services, but the campsite itself is in a very pretty area. When we were there you could check in until 10 pm, which for Brits travelling a long way is good thing. The campsite is very secure, with access only possible through gates which can only be opened by guests or the office staff with an electronic card system. We were allocated a pitch on arrival, which was unusually shaped, but big, delineated with hedges, and had shade and both electricity and water on the pitch. We were perfectly happy with it, and indeed I didn't really see any pitches I would not have been happy with.
Facilities were excellent and scrupulously clean. The shower cubicles were bigger than some of those on other campsites I've stayed in meaning that fresh clothes could stay dry. Water was available up to 40 degrees centigrade at all times of the day. Personally I prefer a slightly hotter shower but I'm not complaining. The hot water was available any time I tried to use it - again something that wasn't always the case in other sites this holiday. You can shower for as long as you like, you just have to keep pressing the faucet to keep the shower going. Bread and pastries were available for purchase every morning at the office, but there is a huge Carrefour a few hundred metres away, so you're never going to run low on supplies. On Sunday morning, a much smaller local market is available in a nearby very small town. This was adequate, but if staying there again I would only plan to use it for essentials, fresh bread, eggs, milk etc. Staff on the campsite were friendly, helpful and relaxed about speaking English. Free Wifi is available throughout. The most important aspect of this is that the WiFi server supports VPN access, which means that we were able to watch the BBC iPlayer using a VPN through an organisation based in England - Google it if you're interested. We were delighted with this as some other campsites in France blocked VPN access. WiFi speed and connectivity was variable, but good enough to stream content through Netflix, though not good enough to stream live video content from the BBC - radio was no problem. We used the download function overnight, and so had fresh tele to watch in the morning. The price was almost exactly half of what we paid per night in the French Alps for similar quality and service, so I was delighted with value for money.
I would happily stay here again and explore this beautiful part of France a little more.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a personalised email confirmation if you book online. We booked and paid a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidCKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton East Sussex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were a family of five and usually there is at least one person who doesn't like the campsite we are staying on. At Camping du Lac du Maine, however, we all really liked it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were able to choose a pitch with shade that we liked better than the original one allocated. The ground is a bit scrubby but didn't break tent pegs etc and provided privacy from other campers and was spacious.

The toilets were spotless, and there was plenty of hot water (take own loo roll though). There was a lovely little café by the pool selling very reasonable food and drink, as well as giant chess, table tennis, an outdoor Jacuzzi, a boules pitch etc. Some nights there was local music.

A bus went from outside the site direct to Angers.

We really like this site and area - so close to the lake, and would like to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were disappointed with the overall condition of the site - it is tired and in need of some updating for a 4 star site. Hedges uncut, grass over-long on many pitches and the man who seemed to be the manager was clearly overworked, seemingly on duty for up to 12 hours.

However we enjoyed our stay because the immediate environment was so pleasant with walks and cycle tracks around the site. The main problem was the presence on the site of what appeared to be "workmen", not employed on the site but using it as a place of accommodation whilst they were working elsewhere. These men, on returning from daily work, dominated the washrooms bringing a ghetto blaster into the area, accompanying the dreadful loud music (vocally and badly!) and generally messing up the facility, occasionally causing the hot water to run out.

On at least one occasion this behaviour extended to the pool area. No apparent control was exercised over them by management. They seemed to have free reign over their behaviour. This crowd (about six in number) were camped in 2/3 tents on one pitch and other similar "workmen" were accomodated in one or more of the Static Homes. All in all, they had an adverse effect on the stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank YoungSagaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

This site is laid out with very unusual shaped pitches. They are all very adequately positioned pitches adjacent to the town lake. The town itself is very near to the site and everything is close by. Lovely walks around the lake and very good access to very good shops. We used this site as a two night stop over but will certainly go back for a longer time. Well worth the visit. The staff were very helpful and the facilities were always clean. Also there was free wifi. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Tyrone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Spent a week here in August with our son, daughter in law and 3 children (aged 4, 6 and 8). The toilet blocks and washing up facilities were clean and fresh. Office staff very accomodating and helped us find 2 suitable adjacent sites. The swimming pool was very clean and there were 2 large trampolines to work off excess energy. The childrens activities each am. created an hour of interest for the boys. The adjacent lake offers kayak hire at very reasonable cost. The adjacent Loire by Bike track and local cycle paths were suitable for the children (and very good for adults who want to travel further afield)...... very safe and enough variety to avoid retracing our steps every day. We also cycled to Angers centre a couple of times for sightseeing, food and tram rides. Bread has to be ordered from cafe the previous evg. but there is a Carrefore Supermarket a couple of km away by dedicated walking/cycling path. Overall a pleasant week in very relaxing surroundings.

Room Tip: Bring your bike to make the most of this site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pensionspender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed here with my husband a 3 girls found this campsite to be very pleasant. We only stayed one night on route further south. During our stay there was very nice live music coming from outside the bar. This park was safe and the pool and outside areas were well kept

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aideengalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angers
2.7 mi away
Ibis Angers Centre Chateau
1.1 mi away
Kyriad Angers Ouest - Beaucouze
4.1 mi away
Hotel de Loire
Hotel de Loire
#1 of 1 in Trelaze
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel D'anjou
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mercure Angers Lac de Maine
1.5 mi away
Campanile Angers Ouest - Beaucouze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping du Lac de Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping du Lac de Maine

Property: Camping du Lac de Maine
Address: Avenue du Lac de Maine, 49000, Angers, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Angers
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing