We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Mail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Mail
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

When traveling a lot, hotel chains blur into obscurity, which is why we appreciated our stay here so much. An old building with character, the perfect location with parking, the whole town centre within a stroll yet tucked away in a quiet area... a photographer's delight, the city of Angers is well worth a romantic visit, and this hotel made ours memorable by being so cozy and quite simply pleasantly out of the ordinary... try it yourself and see! (And ignore comments of shabby, think more chic!!)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    86
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
33
112
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location is perfect and the service good but the mattresses are bad, the room shabby, the bathroom uncomfortable and there is no salty food at breakfast only sweet typical french breakfast. Also no elevator

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Staying here is a yesteryear experience,(when considering the room furnishings, bathrooms, staircase, corridors - tired yet charming) but with free Wi-Fi everywhere and a particularly friendly team who went out of their way to help us to make the most of our stay. We will willingly return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Not a luxury hotel, but much more than correct. Fantastic situation, nice building, acceptable room, very good breakfast, and specially really good service by the owners, very kind and nice people. We have a good experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiguelAngel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend break and can thoroughly recommend it. Yes, you can't deny the bedrooms (well, based on ours and other reviews here) are what you would politely call "tired" and rather in need of refurbishment, but don't let that put you off. The family who run it were charming and hard working, especially the son who seem to run the place single handedly (and very well) over the weekend there. The large breakfast is a real stand-out. Parking can certainly be a squeeze in the central courtyard, and we found that SatNavs were not updated with the new(ish) one way system in the centre of Angers which meant getting into the narrow streets to access the hotel was fun and games to put it mildly. There is a charming small restaurant near the hotel (come out of the gate, turn right then left, red front - its name escapes me at the moment) which is closed Sundays and Mondays, otherwise definitely give it a go. As I say with my other hotel reviews, would I stay here again and would I recommend it to friends and the answer to both is yes - just take the 1980s style (perhaps I should say 1970s) rooms in your stride.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have just arrived home after a holiday travelling around the Loire Valley, spening two nights at this lovely, independent hotel. In a quiet location but near the centre, the onsite parking was a bonus. There was a good choice for breakfast, and the staff were efficient and friendly. The room was spacious and clean, with characterful furniture and charming period decor. We really couldn't fault anything and wouldn't hesitate in returning.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the internal courtyard/car park - lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nita-J822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

This place was amazing, full of old world charm with great attention to decor & fitting details. Breakfast choice was vast & fresh with home made marmalade & jams. If you have a mobility problem ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift. However the really welcoming & helpful staff gave us details of a selection of superbe eating places very nearby, as they have no restaurant. Inside cheap parking was also very usefull in the city centre.

Room Tip: If you have a mobility problem ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift. However the really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choralsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angers hotels
Hotel 21 Foch
#1 of 33 in Angers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ralliement
Mercure Angers Centre
Mercure Angers Centre
#5 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Hotel Continental
#12 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Mail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Mail

Property: Hotel du Mail
Address: 8-10 rue des Ursules, 49100, Angers, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers > Ralliement
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Angers
#4 Romantic Hotel in Angers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Mail 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Mail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Mail Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing