We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Tapestry collection”
Review of Musee Lurcat

Musee Lurcat
Ranked #5 of 65 things to do in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
omaha
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice Tapestry collection”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was in Angers for a business meeting and we had a reception at Musee Lucrat. It is very nice. The tapestries are fascinating. We were also privileged to have the deputy mayor provide a basic explanation of the art which was very nice. My only regret is not to have a chance to be there during business hours so I can purchase a souvenir from the museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mungo777Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    58
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We visited the hospital first which housed the Lurcat tapestry's, were an audio is a must. It was truly breath taking. After that we visited the museum and was most informative with amazing tapestry's on show. This is not just for females, as the greater percentage of the work is designed/done by males! Excellent value.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I love the old hospital building and the apothecary jars as well as the cloister garden. The tapestries are fascinating as they
Represent a view of the apocalypse at the time of the Cold War and the Sputnik. The modern museum also houses some fascinating exhibitions of work with thread and needle. This makes a wonderful companion visit with the Chateau d'Angers

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank judithchrisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Superb, especially after seeing the Apocalypse”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Having seen the 14th century Apocalypse tapestry in Angers fortress, this 20th century tapestry wove a very poignant story of the aftermath of Hiroshima. Do not miss it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Contemporary Tapestry work in a serene setting to partner the Apocalypse”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The artistic style of "Le Chant du Monde" is of its time but it is a perfect partner to the Apocalypse tapestry (and lacks the crowds so you can take your time and enjoy exploring the symbolistic pieces).
A must see!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 2GentleTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee Lurcat also viewed

Angers, Maine et Loire
Angers, Maine et Loire
 
Angers, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Musee Lurcat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing