We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Chateau with Pool and personal attention”
Review of Chateau Des Forges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Des Forges
Ranked #2 of 17 Angers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chateau with Pool and personal attention”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the better places to stay in the Loire Valley. Great reception, even at 1AM, when we arrived. Old school romantic rooms with design modern features (bathrooms). Breakfast with view on the pool and the valley. Your wish is their command.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maartenrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
44
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed one night and would have liked to stay longer. This felt like walking into a beautiful manor house - the decor was oh so typically French chateau. We were greeted warmly and shown to our room on the top floor. The room was tastefully furnished and the room and bathroom were very clean. Easy access from the motorway and easy to get into Angers itself. The breakfast was beautifully presented and tasted fresh and delicious. We were recommended a great place to go for dinner - the Belle Rive. Nothing seemed too much trouble. I've travelled a lot and stayed in many and varied places. Chateau des Forges is high on my list of recommended places to stay and I intend to book again - and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennedy-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Although on the outskirts of Angers, the house seems to be in the middle of countryside. satnav/GPS did a good job in getting us there. (Tip: on returning from Angers centre late at night, set satnav to Botanical Gardens, which are nearby, to avoid being taken along back lanes. Old house tastefully restored with mod cons where required. We had the room of David D'Angers which is on the second floor in the eaves, so one side of the bed has little headroom. There is an eccentric lift which I timed at 25 seconds from ground to second floor! Breakfast minimalist continental but adequate, and better if weather permits outdoor sitting with uninterrupted countryside to view. Used the lovely outdoor pool (27 degrees Celsius). We were attended to throughout by engaging young Senegalese man (Gibril) who was helpful and entertaining. The owner, Philippe, was charming and jovial, but remained largely in the background. There was no table d'hôte during our three day stay. Nearest restaurant 1.8 miles down back lanes (Belle Rive - see separate review). Otherwise, Angers Centre only 3.8 miles on main roads.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winelovinggourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We learned of this B&B through tripadvisor. The ratings are very accurate. We were met by M. Dufresne, who was warm and helpful, but not intrusive. We stayed in the Margeurite d'Anjou room. We have stayed in many such places, but this is definitely one of the best. Clean, well decorated, quiet. Easy access from the autoroute (use the same roundabout as the Terra Botanica but a different exit - well signed), easy access to Anger center (visit the chateau and the place in the center of town). We highly recommend staying at the Chateau Des Forges.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansen0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is a B&B in a recently (2013) refurbished manor house on the outskirts of Angers. It's about a 10 min drive into the centre of town, but at the Chateau it feels like you're out in the country with only the low buzz of the motorway a few miles away giving away the fact that you're in a big town.

We had one of the cheaper rooms, but it was still a sizeable affair with his 'n hers sinks in the bathroom and a separate toilet. The only thing missing was a fridge in the room. A huge amount of attention to detail has gone into the decoration and furnishing of the rooms and the house as a whole - it really does feel like you're staying in a stately home. Breakfast continues this theme with good food beautifully presented on richly detailed crockery, silver coffee pots, etc.

Note that this is a B&B rather than a hotel, so there's not an army of flunkies ready to tote your bags, provide room service. This is reflected in the price though, and I thought the amount we paid (120 Euros a night) was a bargain considering the quality of the property.

If you stay here then the back way into town is a much nicer road in and out than the main roads to the Botanical Gardens - turn right out of the gates of the Chateau and follow the river into town. You can also bike this way down a riverside path. Whilst you're down on the river a nice diversion is the hand hauled ferry over to the I'le Saint Aubin where you can have a glass of wine in the riverside cafe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a peaceful two night stay in Marguerite d'Anjou room with a grand four poster bed, spacious and modern bathroom, plus a balcony with beautiful views over the countryside and pool. It is a peaceful, out of town chateau and a great place to escape from the city.

It is easy to find as it is located right by the Terra Botanical which is well sign posted. However it is also close to get to the centre of Angers with only a 10 minute drive to the main attractions. We were pleased to park for free in the centre on the Sunday and found the tourist office really helpful. We hired bikes and enjoyed a beautiful ride down the Maine river to see where it joined the Loire. Well worth going past Bouchemaine to La Pointe – stunning!

We had a warm welcome at the chateau, were well looked after and had a nice breakfast. We wish the weather had been warmer so we could have enjoyed the pool too.

So we were left a little surprised that we were the only guests staying and couldn’t work out why more people weren’t enjoying this great value for money chateau in a great location. Small negative aspects that wouldn’t suit everyone included a couple of resident friendly dogs and sometimes the smoke from the staff quarters drifted in to our room.

Overall, we’d thoroughly recommend Angers and a stay in this newly renovated chateau. We hope that more people discover it and we wish the owners all the best as it goes from strength to strength.

Room Tip: We stayed in Marguerite d'Anjou room which is a very large room with a four poster bed plus balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nj_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful long weekend in this beautiful Chateau, which offers very good value bed and breakfast. It is in easy reach of central Angers (there is a tram line close by) which is a town well worth visiting. Madame was very welcoming and helpful, the bedroom was lovely, the swimming pool and views over the countryside stunning, and the whole experience most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had the Queen of Sicily
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angers hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel 21 Foch
Hotel 21 Foch
#1 of 33 in Angers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
6.8 mi away
Chateau de Noirieux
Chateau de Noirieux
#4 of 33 in Angers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel D'Anjou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Logis Du Cavier
Logis Du Cavier
#1 of 1 in Avrille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Angers Centre Chateau
2.3 mi away
Mercure Angers Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Des Forges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Des Forges

Property: Chateau Des Forges
Address: Chemin du Port de l'Ile Saint-Aubin, 49100, Angers, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Angers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau Des Forges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing