We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel at a reasonable price”
Review of Hotel le Progres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Progres
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Don't be put off by the location opposite the station. The area is fine. We parked on a Saturday night in a side street with no trouble and had free parking the following day as it was a Sunday. Reception staff very friendly and helpful, as are the couple who appear to own or manage it. Room equipped with king-size bed and although it overlooked the street in front we had a peaceful night, even with the window open in very hot weather. Excellent breakfast. We would not hesitate to stay there again when in Angers (despite our satnav insisting no such town exists in France!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

I always worry a little when the only hotel room I can afford (when I book last minute) is opposite the main station, but this one is great! You are very well placed to see the main sites in Angers (and in this connection I have to say: do not miss out on the 'tapisseries de l'apocalypse' or it's castle setting – spectacular!)

The night porter who checked us in was charming and kind. And the receptionist who checked us out, and also helped in the breakfast kitchen, was 100% service-minded. Great service.

The breakfast was good. A variety of everything one might desire.

And the room is comfortable yet the decor very old. So don't stay here if you're into boutique hotels. But: the place is spotless!!! Don't think I've ever stayed in a place so clean. And every piece of old furniture is well maintained, and that shows such respect, that I immediately warmed to the place.

I'll be back, that's for certain.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulumacvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in front of the train station, where you can hire a car. Near city centre and many restaurants. You can go walking everywhere. The people working there is very friendly, smiles and help you.
Breakfast very nice, the best smooth croissant.
The room is good, with a very confortable bed and big bath!
My only complain is the acustic, i can listen people walking the floor above.
Good price, totally recomended

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel was close to everything we needed - railway station, top restaurants, historical sites & bus station. The art deco staircase was beautiful (there was a lift, as well) and the staff, without exception, were welcoming and helpful. Breakfasts were good. We highly recommend the Hotel le Progres and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We picked this hotel for it's location opposite the main train station in Angers. We were at the end of our trip and the group would disperse by train the following day. In addition the location provided easy walking distance to the historic core of the city.

The facilities are clean and basic but comfortable and good value for money. The free internet was reliable. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

In summary, the hotel is well situated and adequate for an overnight stay to make train connections at the start or end of a trip to the Loire. We would a hotel a bit more upscale for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Small, outdated rooms without adequate outlets. We had rooms facing the train station, but noise was not a problem. Easy to walk to sites and restaurants in the city. Breakfast was €9 and decent. Nothing special here, but as an American trying to adjust to seemingly lower standards for French hotels, you might not find better for your money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Location opposite train station is quite close to town, a good range of restaurants and was not noisy at all and we had a front facing room.
Wifi was excellent and both the room and bathroom were spacious. The staff are really lovely and helpful

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angers hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Angers Centre Chateau
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel D'Anjou
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 33 in Angers
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 21 Foch
Hotel 21 Foch
#2 of 33 in Angers
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Angers Centre Gare
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Univers
Hotel de l'Univers
#20 of 33 in Angers
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Progres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Progres

Address: 26 avenue Denis Papin, 49100, Angers, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers > Gare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Angers
#7 Romantic Hotel in Angers
Price Range: £54 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Progres 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel le Progres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Progres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing