We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service / excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel le Progres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Progres
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Booked to stay here on a cycling trip from the UK. The friendly staff could not do enough to help and ensured an excellent stay. The rooms are good but not fantastic (bathrooms looking slightly dated) but a very high standard of cleanliness and an excellent continental breakfast in pleasant surroundings. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Hotel le Progres
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel, conveniently located near the train station and a short walk into Angers Centre and Chateau. We had room 108 which had its own terrace with table and chairs. The hosts were polite and happy to help us with any queries..indeed they were happy to provide us with bikes to use (free of charge) to allow us to explore the tracks along River La Maine and Loire. Can recommend the track down to Behuard (15km) and if a warm day then a dip in Lac du Maine.
Breakfast was good with normal Continental / Cereal / Fruit options.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was conveniently located across the street from the train station, and yet quiet. Angers is charming and compact, and all the attractions are easily reached from the hotel. In addition to the obvious tourist spots (castle, cathedral, museum of fine arts), one can enjoy a pleasant stroll on a footpath, heading South between the Maine river and the Lac du Maine (cross the bridge at the southwest of the castle). The rooms were very clean, with spacious bathrooms, a comfortable bed, and a nice breakfast (at 9.5 euros). The staff was friendly and quick.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anglophile2004_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We paid 55 euro for a double for a night in this attractive hotel, right across from the train station. It was clean and comfortable, and we slept extra well in the bed. The shower was hot and there was free-fast!-WiFi. The helpful staff allowed us to leave our bags after check out. There were bakeries just outside the hotel and a small grocery 5 minutes away, with the main attractions about 10 - 15 minutes walking distance. Great value hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PicnicAtTheCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Hotel du Progres. The room was not big, the bed was very comfortable, the bedroom was clean. The cupboard was a bit small to put your clothes if you stay a few days. No mini fridge in the bedroom but the hotel has a small bar with fair prices.
As other reviewers have said, we think a shower curtain would be an improvement. Our toilet was separate from the bathroom, near the bed.
We took the breakfast (9 euros /pp) that offers plenty of choice but not cooked breakfast : hard-boiled eggs, fromage blanc, yoghurts, fresh fruits, fresh bread (no toaster), cheese, ham
The owners and staff were always helpful and pleasant.
The location is good in that you can walk to the town centre easily, and even if the hotel is right opposite the station, the streets around seemed totally safe. A grocery shop, several restaurants and bakers are very close by.
You can street-park at night, there is a 2-hour limit during the day. The hotel offers a garage parking space close to the hotel if you ask in advance.
It is a good quality/price hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabelleandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Close to old town and across from train station this hotel is a good choice for exploring Angers. Room furnishings, simple and clean. Queen bed, comfortable. En suite bathroom included toiletries. Nice balcony with a view. Good variety of choices for breakfast. Very helpful staff.
Plenty of parking on the street nearby. Overall, a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I chose the hotel having reviewed trip advisor and wasn’t disappointed Stayed for 3 nights early October, a warm welcome greeted us and the room was clean and functional.

Possibly a little small for some with a basic wardrobe, desk, two chairs, TV (English channels) and bedside tables we found it however to be perfectly adequate. En-suite shower room was roomy and fairly large.

However the staff were fantastic everyone we meet was kind, helpful and considerate, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to help and assist. I cannot praise this enough from the moment I first made the booking to the time we left. They could not have done more.

The hotel is a short walk of approximately 5 mins from the train station just walk outside the main entrance and it’s on your left. It’s well situated for visiting the sights of Angers most things being walkable. The botanical garden is a bit further out but easily reached using the local tram system.

So would we visit again? Yes, without hesitation in fact already planning a return to the area by car next year and this will be the hotel we use.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angers hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Angers Centre Chateau
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel D'Anjou
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#11 of 33 in Angers
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Angers Centre
Mercure Angers Centre
#5 of 33 in Angers
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Angers Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Angers Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Progres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Progres

Address: 26 avenue Denis Papin, 49100, Angers, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers > Gare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Angers
#3 Business Hotel in Angers
#7 Romantic Hotel in Angers
Price Range: £52 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Progres 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Progres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Progres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing