We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel le Progres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Progres
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Location opposite the train station is excellent and the area is fine. Also reasonably located for short walk into the heart of the town. Friendly staff. Scrupulously clean room. My room was quite large though I could see from the fire plan that some others were smaller. Breakfast was included in my rate and was fresh and plentiful in a bright and airy room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClydeHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

The hotel is modern, and well maintained. The staff is quite good. The breakfast is wonderful. Parking is separate at a garage down the street. The overnight charge was five euros. Easy walking distance to the chateau. Would highly recommend a restaurant one to two blocks down av. denis Papin called Le Brasserie de la Gare. Phenomenal food at exceedingly reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurotraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Very helpful staff. Pleasant rooms, conveniently located next to the train station (not noisy). great base to explore Angers. Good valuye for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

This hotel offers a lot of quality for money. It is very clean, very conveniently located (just in front of the railway station, walking distance from downtown), staff and owners are very nice, breakfast is ok. On the negative side, rooms are quite small.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YouBeeTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My mom and I stayed here for 2 nights because of the locaction direclty across the street from the train station. The reception staff was extrememly friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic, but very clean. The breakfast is great and the breakfast room is bright and cheery. Angers is a small city so you can easily walk to all the historic sights within 10 minutes. Great location, price, and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We booked this hotel on recommendations from trip advisor users.It was perfect for our overnight stay.Staff were very helpful right from the initial booking.There is no parking at the hotel but they have space in a secure car park building a couple of streets away.
We arrived quite late and hungry and they recommended a restaurant which was unexpectedly a real treat.Exceptionably fine food and personal service at Le Lucullus 5,Rue Hoche.
Our double en suite room at 60 euros was light and airy with our own balcony .Breakfast is 7.50 each . We wanted to explore Angers in the morning and the hotel offered to let us keep not only our overnight bags but also our car in their car park till we were ready to leave after lunch.
We were within walking distance of the castle and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz55SouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I have stayed there twice now. Though I wouldn't recommend the hotel to a family, it provides all essential facilities for the business traveller. The rooms are basic, but very clean. The continental breakfast is good. The owners are true gems of the hospitality trade (forthcoming, friendly, helpful, you name it) and all staff have adequate English language skills. There is also a night porter service and one feels very safe. The hotel is ideally located across the road from the train station and is only about a 10 min walk from the city centre. While the vicinity of train stations can be dodgy, the locale is rather pleasant and offers some nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caherglissane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angers hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Angers Centre Chateau
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel D'Anjou
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 33 in Angers
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 21 Foch
Hotel 21 Foch
#2 of 33 in Angers
186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mercure Angers Lac de Maine
0.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#16 of 33 in Angers
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Progres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Progres

Address: 26 avenue Denis Papin, 49100, Angers, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers > Gare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Angers
#7 Romantic Hotel in Angers
Price Range: £54 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Progres 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Progres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Progres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing