We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must-visit for SteamPunk and Jules Verne fans”

Les Machines de L'ile
Ranked #2 of 111 things to do in Nantes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Machines de l’Ile is an artistic and a tourist project. It is a blend of the invented worlds of Jules Verne, the mechanical universe of Leonardo da Vinci, and the industrial history of Nantes, on an exceptional site in the former shipyards. A ride on the 12-meter tall Great Elephant, climb aboard the Marine Worlds Carrousel of 27 moving sea creatures or the Heron Tree to fly over the hanging gardens.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A must-visit for SteamPunk and Jules Verne fans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife thinks this is a 'boy-thing' and I must admit that I did enjoy visiting it.

Unfortunately, the afternoon that we visited the huge mechanical elephant was out of operation for maintenance and wasn't moving, and the carousel was in viewing, not riding, mode. But there were school groups in The Machine Gallery where examples of the fantastic machines were in operation and ridden by wide-eyed kids. My favourite was the caterpillar and the lad riding it quickly mastered how to move forwards and back.

It's easy to reach this attraction by tram from the Gare de Nantes. The city of Nantes looked very attractive and we would have liked having more time to explore.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RoaminFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,398
    1,231
    374
    121
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Jules Verne comes to life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you like mechanical machines, this is one attraction you can't miss! Inspired by Jule Verne's stories, the mechanical machines you will find in this island will excite you and marvel you from their real-life looks. Take a ride on the elephant and live the magic!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ignacioavellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
providence, rhode island
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Unfortunately, la machine was under repair while we were there, but it amazing just to see it. I would love to see it in operation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank chibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must if visiting Nantes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We have been here twice now. The first visit we chose the museum trip, but quickly swapped it to the elephant ride. As a previous reviewer stated the museum tour is in French, and a bit long winded for young children. The elephant is beautiful and the ride is very enjoyable. There is something new everytime we visit. A three storey carosel is the newest edition. The single carosel by the cafe is great value for money, and has à interesting selection of machines. The park on the way to the larger carosel was also very popular with the kids. There is a multi storey car park oposite the machines. Just remembered, you have to prebook, so we booked in then went for a look around the city, which is lovely.

Helpful?
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If you don't speak French, save 16 euro and just watch the elephant walk for free”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The title says it all really. Despite asking if there any non french speaking people in the group assembled for the tour of the workshop and saying that he would give some commentary in English, the guide then spent the next half an hour only speaking French. I'm sure the commentary. which appeared to be about the development of Les Machines, would have been interesting. When he had finished and was walking off the guide said would we like somethings explained - we said don't bother. As the next part of the workshop tour, conducted by another guide,commenced in French (without even asking if there were any non French speaking people there) we decided to cut our losses and went to wait for our ride on the Elephant. On the Elephant the guide made what was obviously an important safety announcement in French. No attempt to ask if there were any non French speaking people on board. I asked the guide, in French, to provide an English version because "all the world is not French" - guide's face like she had just sucked a lemon. The ride itself was really a bit of a non event. Apart from saying you've done it, I wouldn't bother. It's far more spectacular at ground level watching the Elephant walk past - and you can do that for free.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RJWTP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Machines de L'ile also viewed

Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 

Been to Les Machines de L'ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing