We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, central location”
Review of Amiral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amiral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value, central location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very clean, modern, very nice location in the center of the city, excellent choice if you want to be close to pubs, restaurants, shops. It is noisy at the weekend if you want to sleep with the window open, as it is on one of the streets with pubs and restaurants. I didn't mind that as I sleep with earplugs anyway. Very good quality for price/quality/location. Personnel was very friendly and helpful. Very close also to one of the bicloo stations. Supermarket is just a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aibreann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
You did very well summarized the benefits of the hotel through your opinion. Thank you for taking the time to write us.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    240
    43
    19
    5
See reviews for
80
160
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I am a little reluctant to give this hotel an average rating.
The room at this hotel was quite clean and comfortable. The young woman at the desk in the evening when we arrived was very cordial and helpful. Parking is just around the corner at a municipal lot (which is quite typical of many of the cities in France) and is reasonable.
Our room, on the 3rd floor, faced the street and the noise was ridiculous. There is a popular bar across the street and we heard loud yelling until the wee hours of the morning. We thought we might finally catch some sleep when the heavy artillery started, first street sweepers then garbage trucks.
All in all there was no rest here. When we checked out, the gentleman at the desk asked how our stay was and when we mentioned the noise, he merely shrugged and said, "it's a college town." So, I guess the takeaway is, if you are a college kid, stay here. If you are grown up looking for some sleep, find someplace else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mec354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We do our best to make your stay as pleasant, unfortunately, what happens outside escapes our control.

Thank you for your message.

Nadine witczak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel for the price paid. The room was very modern with a lovely bathroom (wet room style shower), all spotlessly clean. It is on a noisy street, but the soundproofing was great. I stayed here with my mum, who is a light sleeper and she had no problem sleeping. The receptionist when we arrived was very helpful and recommended somewhere to eat. We didn't have breakfast but went to La Cigale on nearby Place Graslin, which was lovely. We would not hestitate to recommend this hotel - only reason I gave 4 stars is this is a budget rather than a luxury hotel but it is great.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank holly_gl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
The whole team thank you for this nice post.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

everything was great about this hotel. i would really love to stay here again. the staff were so friendly and accomodating. The rooms were nice, modern, with the beds average. our only problem was we hit Nantes on a heat wave and had not booked rooms with air con, hense had 3 very warm nights sleeping. they only have aircon on floors 3 & 4. id recommend ensuring you have aircon if you travelling here in summer. Great location! everything you need on your door step.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for this glowing review.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Amiral for four nights on a business trip. First and foremost, I must say that the staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is adequate, with sufficient variety. The rooms are not very large; I would not want to stay with more than one person, nor with a large suitcase. There are no toiletries, and towels are limited to one large and one small towel. The pillows were too soft for my taste; it would be nice to have three different pillows instead of three of the same.
The street in front of the hotel has some bars, but the windows are sufficiently sound proof, at least at the 4th floor where I was. What I really did not like is that one cannot hang the shower head. You are more or less forced to take a bath, or at least have your shower sitting in the bath tub.
Wi-fi worked well after some initial difficulty to get it working on my phone.
Expect a basic level of luxury. Personally, I was expecting a bit more for the money I paid. Perhaps more the Sailor hotel than the Admiral...

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kaareneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour cet avis.

Nous avons fait le choix d'un développement responsable et avons en effet supprimé de nos achats tous les emballages individuels, c'est la raison pour laquelle toutes nos salles de bains sont équipées de distributeurs proposant du gel douche et shampooing éco- certifiés.

Nous proposons dans chaque single : 1 drap de bain, 1 serviette de toilette et 1 tapis de bain, tout linge supplémentaire est gratuit, nous vous encourageons à en faire la demande auprès du service d'étage ou de la réception 24h/24.
Le linge est doublé pour une occupation 2 personnes et sera dans le même cas augmenté gracieusement sur demande .

Nous ne sacrifions jamais la qualité de notre accueil à la démarche environnementale, nous faisons vivre les deux dans un savant équilibre, pour le bien être de tous, tel est notre engagement.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruffec, France
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The hotel is centrally located in the shopping district very close to the Opera. Lots of lovely restaurants nearby. The hotel was quite hard to find and there is no parking although you can park around the corner in car park Graslin. Once found, we found the check in pleasant and helpful and the room was nice, if a bit small. The bathroom was lovely and clean with a bath and hand held shower, which was a bit awkward. I found the mattress a bit hard although the pillows were nice also it was a bit cold (it was a v cold February night). The worst thing was the noise from a local bar which went on late into the night which meant I didn't get much sleep which is a real shame as it is not the hotel's fault. The breakfast was very nice with lots of choice.

Room Tip: away from the bar next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graceloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maniro, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Google Translation
Le parking Graslin situé à 20 mètres de l'établissement est effectivement la meilleure option pour profiter de votre séjour à l'Amiral, il vous en coûtera 3 euros pour la nuit de 20h à 08h ou 13 euro pour 24h de stationnement (tarif dégressif semaine).

Votre judicieuse remarque sur les convecteurs nous a fait nous interroger sur le choix de programmation appliqué actuellement dans les chambres. Il semblerait que la position "Eco 4 " par jour de grand froid ne suffit pas, nous allons donc reprogrammer l'ensemble des radiateurs sur "Eco 6" afin d'améliorer la satisfaction client.
Nous vous rappelons que vous gardez en toute circonstance la maîtrise de votre programme de chauffage, grâce au thermostat intégré.

Nous restons à l'écoute d'eventuelles remarques.

Merci pour cet avis.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
263 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located, it looks good and modern, rooms are pretty new as well. Breakfast is above the average French style. I can reccommend it with no problem, some rooms above the pub are noisy: ask the receptionist to avoid such rooms. I had a very good discounted ratio by booking on kayak. Nantes is also pretty good to visit, I didn't expect!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maniro, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you for your message and see you soon at Amiral hotel.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantes hotels
Graslin - Commerce
Oceania Hotel de France
Oceania Hotel de France
#1 of 108 in Nantes
624 reviews
Hotel Voltaire Opera
#3 of 108 in Nantes
320 reviews
Graslin - Commerce
Hotel Pommeraye
Hotel Pommeraye
#6 of 108 in Nantes
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Graslin - Commerce
Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amiral Hotel

Property: Amiral Hotel
Address: 26 B rue Scribe, 44000, Nantes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nantes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nantes
#25 Business Hotel in Nantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amiral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amiral provides 49 fully equipped bedrooms, mini bar air conditioning rooms on request, reception 27/7.In close proximity of the theatre, you'll discover cinemas, pubs,luxury shops and famous restaurants. You'll enjoy a variety of local delicaries carefully selected for you. Laureate 2015 "Palms of the French hotel industry" in the category Ecology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amiral Hotel Nantes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing