We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovated room, modern bathroom, professional management” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amiral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amiral Hotel
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Renovated room, modern bathroom, professional management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel Amiral on Rue Scribe is adjacent to 2 restaurants that have a lively night atmosphere, a signature detail of vibrant Nantes and the exciting, energetic young French people that seek this city. I enjoyed being near this energy. With the new double glazed windows open facing the rue below, fresh air and sounds of happy people poured in. Closing them eliminated most of the noise. Room 327, though small, has an efficient vibe. 6 electric outlets, quality bedding, renovated space and new bathroom. Just 1 chair in the room, at the desk, and a tight closet with 7 clothes hangers and no curtain in the shower demonstrate that this is Europe. Still, my room features a stocked mini fridge, night stands,TV plus the above. Management was professional, friendly and eager to please. Wifi worked fast the large majority of time but I experienced some downtime during the day. That can happen anywhere, even at home. The price was very reasonable and I would return with joy. Thank you to the staff at Hotel Amiral.

Room Tip: Room 327 faces the street. Energetic, lively restaurants are adjacent. I enjoyed this energy. New bi...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel practices environmentally friendly practices. It saves them a Euros and encourages guests to do so.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helpful-dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour cet avis qui donne une belle idée de l'endroit.

Si vous revenez pour quelques nuits, n'hésitez pas à faire le choix d'une chambre twin ( plus spacieuse) , sur précision de votre part , nous pourrons la moduler en lit double.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    220
    41
    18
    5
See reviews for
77
144
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We arrived in Nantes for the HELLFEST Festival and decided to spend the first night after driving for 7 hrs in Hotel Amiral. Parking is right next to the hotel and is not very expensive. Hotel is located in the old city centre so it has superb location for walking around the old town and there's plenty of good places around to eat. Public transport is also nearby so you can easily go around the city. Room was large, air-conditioned and beds were comfortable so we slept well, the only disappointment being a very mediocre and poorly supplied room bar. bathroom was really big and practical and it had everything that you need. The reception was a bit disappointing though, as the receptionist barely spoke English and was borderline rude when asked about parking and restaurants in the area and the map that the hotel provides was not helpful at all. To summon up, it is OK for a night or two, but lacks any real charm or appeal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_M75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time this comment.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel room was fine, and the staff was nice. The room was clean.

The hotel or the shop underneath it was undergoing construction and there was extremely loud drilling and hammering starting at 7am. It was not just a little noise, it was like being in a construction zone. It might have been right under us, it shook the walls and woke us up. We tried to come back later to take a nap and it was going on all day. No hotel should put customers in a room right next to that sort of construction. we were jet lagged and exhausted and it basically ruined our whole trip to nantes because we could not sleep.

Our room did not have air conditioning and so we had to keep the windows open at night. There was a lot of street noise (though nothing like the drilling from the construction). They advertise that some rooms do have AC but be aware you probably have to pay extra and ask for it. We did not ever see an option for this.

I do not recommend this hotel, I do not think they take customer care seriously enough.

Room Tip: Ask for AC. There is a lot of street noise, perhaps try to be on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We unfortunately suffered in july noise related to the work of the neighboring business. They are now completed. During this period, we have ensured that it does 'nt make noise before 09.30 am, so I'm surprised by your information that indicates a disturbance at 07.00 am ! I'll find out about it, this is actually unacceptable, I agree with you.

Thank you for your objectivity about your impressions of the hotel and the staff.Please note that we make every effort to retain our customers and bring them satisfaction, but there are sometimes ecternal factors that can affect our mood home, sorry for that...

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great location (10 minutes walking distance from "Commerce", the transport hub). Breakfast is also beyond expectations for a two-star accommodation. Rooms are reasonably clean and comfortable (despite a small incident involving a large spider...)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyRoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per questa recensione e commenti sul colazione. Offriamo il gourmet tutta la settimana e siamo lieti di vedere il feedback positivo dai nostri clienti.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domfront, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We found the hotel bedroom small and the bathroom very small. The sliding bathroom door did not even come near to closing, there was no soap for the basin.
The bedroom window was difficult to manage in that when open it was impossible to walk past the bed and reach the window, without crouching and shuffling.
Noise from outside meant we could not have the window open at night. My partner found the bed uncomfortable, and due to that, and the obtrusive noise had a terrible nights sleep both nights. (We had booked for 3 nights and left after 2.)
No tea and coffee available for the room.
Poor storage availability in the room for 2 people.
Staff did not know about the main town market which is on every day in Nantes (except Mondays) at Talensac and told us there was only a Saturday market.
No papers or news updates available.
No obvious information about fire exits.
Only 1 glass in the (double) room.
No water available in the room.

On a positive note, the room was cleaned very well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank juliette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
First of all, thank you for taking the time to write us.

In your remarks, you insist on the fact that our rooms are small. I wanted to let you know they correspond to the grading standards of a 3 stars hotel, I remind you that we are listed as 2 stars.
The safety committee has validated our information "exit" in january 2014, it fully meets the current criteria.
Regarding the Nantes markets, we are sorry for giving you bad information, to make sure the news,don't hesitate to consult our free internet terminal at the reception 24/7.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Helpful staff, clean and comfortable room. Very pleasant. No noise problems despite our room being on the side of the road. Only criticism, the breakfast was rather basic for the price. The bread was not fresh.

Room Tip: We were on third floor facing the road, but no noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GillX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for this review.
We have already contacted our baker because we also found last week low quality bread delivered, your comment only confirms our claim.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very clean, modern, very nice location in the center of the city, excellent choice if you want to be close to pubs, restaurants, shops. It is noisy at the weekend if you want to sleep with the window open, as it is on one of the streets with pubs and restaurants. I didn't mind that as I sleep with earplugs anyway. Very good quality for price/quality/location. Personnel was very friendly and helpful. Very close also to one of the bicloo stations. Supermarket is just a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aibreann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
You did very well summarized the benefits of the hotel through your opinion. Thank you for taking the time to write us.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantes hotels
Graslin - Commerce
Hotel Pommeraye
Hotel Pommeraye
#6 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Graslin - Commerce
Oceania Hotel de France
Oceania Hotel de France
#1 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Hotel Voltaire Opera
#3 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Graslin - Commerce
Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amiral Hotel

Property: Amiral Hotel
Address: 26 B rue Scribe, 44000, Nantes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nantes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nantes
#25 Business Hotel in Nantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amiral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amiral provides 49 fully equipped bedrooms, mini bar air conditioning rooms on request, reception 27/7.In close proximity of the theatre, you'll discover cinemas, pubs,luxury shops and famous restaurants. You'll enjoy a variety of local delicaries carefully selected for you. Laureate 2015 "Palms of the French hotel industry" in the category Ecology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amiral Hotel Nantes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing