We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel and staff”
Review of Hotel Sozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sozo
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night. From the greeting of the staff, through to our room this was a special place. The hotel is built in a refurbished church, so the room we stayed in had a beautiful stained glass window. The staff were incredibly helpful, efficient, warm and and nothing was to much effort. They helped us find a great restaurant and the places we should visit. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul7wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I spent a week at this wonderful property. The staff was warm, attentive and efficient. Our room on the 3rd floor overlooked le Jardin des Plantes, very pretty view. The location was very convenient to my conference, restaurants and the train station. Really liked the room. It was cozy, well appointed and very clean. A super feature is that it is a converted 19th century church. This adds an a propo touch to a classy hotel in the EU's greenest city. We would stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: Room 307 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

we stayed in hotel sozo recently having gotten it out of the michelin guide.we loved it!on arrival we were given a coffee and chilled out in the foyer/bar,which is bright with modern comfy easy chairs.the hotel used to be a church and has been redesigned very tastefully,its small,27 bedrooms,breakfast room a bit tight -so what- !good parking at the back€10.00 per night,breakfast . was very good,not enormous serving tables groaning with food,freshly sqeezed orange juice,boiled eggs,bacon,croussants etc.15.00€ per person.
our bedroom was heaven itself!certainly big enough for 2 people,v comfy bed,large tv ,towelling robes,free soft drinks,up a few steps was the bathroom area with a very nice bath,shower,handbasin and the toilet in a seperate room.only negative thought we have was that the lighting was a little subdued for reading,c,est tout!the staff were some of the nicest and most helpful we have come across and hopefully they will stay this way.

Room Tip: room 201!this is in the dome of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coleen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

While this establishment is superficially impressive, especially as an architecture and design showpiece, it leaves a lot to be desired as a hotel.
There are many, many quality issues needing urgent attention, the most serious of which are: some rooms are simply too small and poorly laid out; ventilation is poor to the point of discomfort; showers don't work; etc.
We left in disgust after a terrible night, but I must give credit for their response to our complaints, which was exemplary. Our feedback was welcomed, assurances of improvement given, and all monies refunded. The staff were excellent in every regard.
Naturally, as things stand, value must be rated as extremely poor, but if they focus effectively on the hotel aspects of their offering, they may be onto something ...
Until then, the recommendation must be to not visit

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that has: - adequate ventilation (some have tiny, single windows); - a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I loved my stay here! Slightly small rooms but really lovely staff and very clean with great location (city centre and walkable distance for castle and other tourist sites etc). The repurposed church design is obvious from the outside but the interiors are very modern and different in style. Would definitely consider returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m3ghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Sayed for 1 night in August. We picked the hotel because it had been positively reviewed in The Times. On the plus side, the staff were absolutely fantastic, really friendly and knowledgeable. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was ok, although for the price of the rooms, it probably should have been included. On the downside, there was no airconditioning in our rooms which was slightly disappointing. We were offered mobile aircon units, but were told they were extremely noisy so we declined. The worst part though was the bathrooms which were in need of an update. The showers were very difficult to use as the heads were not supported properly in their cradles and kept falling out unless you got the water pressure just right. The bathroom in our room was also extremely small and difficult to move around in. So, although it was a relatively nice experience, it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Sozo. We were there for six nights. The staff were just so friendly and courteous and knowledgeable. I had communicated with them prior to our arrival for restaurant recommendations and they didn't disappoint. There is wonderful art all over the main floor and the lobby is very cozy to just sit and read or interact with other guests. The WiFi is fast and reliable.

Yes, the rooms are relatively small (but just how much time do you plan on spending in your room?). The beds were real comfortable, the bathroom is small and the shower works just fine. And if you run out of Nespresso you only need to call the front desk for more.

Breakfast is served in a small but bright room off the lobby. Fresh-squeezed juices, fruits, pastries/bread, etc. are available.

The hotel is literally minutes from the main train station (and a beautiful walk through the Jardin des plantes de Nantes) and within walking distance of most attractions. A tram line (#1) is in front of the station and will connect to other lines all around the city.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: we had a "Tentation" room on the 3rd floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank new282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantes hotels
Graslin - Commerce
Oceania Hotel de France
Oceania Hotel de France
#1 of 108 in Nantes
729 reviews
Decré - Cathédrale
Okko Nantes Chateau
Okko Nantes Chateau
#2 of 108 in Nantes
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Voltaire Opera
#3 of 108 in Nantes
376 reviews
LE COLISEE Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Saint Herblain
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sozo

Address: 16 rue Frederic Cailliaud, 44000, Nantes, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Price Range: £91 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sozo 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing