We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super tiny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Voltaire Opera
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Pro: Good location close to Graslin, plenty of restaurants nearby.

Con: Hard to find parking but you can park at the side walk for free till 9.30am, very basic breakfast for the price, rooms were very small, no space for luggages, light in bathroom are operated with motion sensors (which idiot thought it was a good idea?), poor quality of toileteries.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Propriétaire at Hotel Voltaire Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns following your stay at Voltaire Opera Nantes and thank you for your constructive feedback; your comments will certainly help us review our standards and facilities.
For your information, there is a car park very closed to our hotel and very easy to find (2 mns walk only)
We were most concerned to hear that the room did not meet your expectations and we would like to apologise for this disappointment. We completely understand that this may have deterred you from enjoying a comfortable stay.
As a matter of fact, in our hotel, there are 5 room categories based on 5 different sizes:
- “Classic room”: 14 sqm
- “Superior room”: 16 sqm
- “Privilege room”: 20 sqm
- “Triple room”: 23 sqm
- “Quadruple room”: 26 sqm
May we suggest that next time you could try our Privilege rooms, they are quiet larger than the Classic rooms.
We really look forward to welcoming you back soon to provide you with a new experience in our Privilege rooms.
Au plaisir,
Patrick et Veronique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

we were a group of italian students visiting nantes!
the hotel is really well located in the city center, right beside the Opera.
the owners are so gentle, everything is new, well organised! there is free wifi connection, nice and sweet rooms for an excellent rapport quality/price!
we also had breakfast there..delicious:))
we can only suggest you to experience it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena_Merli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Hotel is centrally located. We didn't need parking, since we arrived by air. Hotel is immaculate, breakfast is continental, plus more. Elevator is fast. Management is friendly and helpful, including staff. Lots of hot water. Stayed for 6 nights and it was always very quiet. Beds are comfy and linens are immaculate. No more than a 20 minute walk to the Castle and all other tourist areas and shopping. Very close to La Cigale, the famous restaurant and the theatre. Lots of great restaurants nearby. My friend and I will certainly stay there again on our next visit. Very secure. You can control the heat yourself. Towel warmers. Only thing room lacked was a mirror over the desk and a small shelf over the sink in the bathroom. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Each room will be different. Ask for the bed arrangement you are looking for. They have larger roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadameH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were worried on arrival as the car park for the hotel is around the block, but that was the last issue we had.
The room was clean and well serviced forthe two nights that were were in Nantes.
The breakfasts were good, however we almost missed the first as we woke rather late.
The owner is extremely friendly and had some lovely pointers as to what to do in the area and restuarants to visit.

Room Tip: Room 442 is the largest room - so if you are a family of four.. ask for this room (there isn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madmoo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Qualys-Hotel
Thank martineb149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jean-François F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Qualys-Hotel
Thank littleyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantes hotels
Graslin - Commerce
Oceania Hotel de France
Oceania Hotel de France
#1 of 108 in Nantes
729 reviews
Graslin - Commerce
Hotel Nantes Centre Passage Pommeraye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sozo
#4 of 108 in Nantes
693 reviews
Decré - Cathédrale
Okko Nantes Chateau
Okko Nantes Chateau
#2 of 108 in Nantes
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Voltaire Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Voltaire Opera

Address: 10 rue Gresset | Quartier Graslin, 44000, Nantes, France (Formerly Cholet)
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nantes
#7 Family Hotel in Nantes
#8 Best Value Hotel in Nantes
#14 Business Hotel in Nantes
Price Range: £47 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Voltaire Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Voltaire Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cholet Hotel Nantes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing