We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Stay”
Review of Le Volney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Volney
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked the hotel as an overnight stay on the way to the South of France from London, The Hotelier Mr. Dupruy could not have been more obliging in terms of dealing with my requests. We declined the offer of breakfast but regretted it as it was a splendid place and we would have enjoyed another hour or so there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank for your positive opinion.

We share your recommandation about the owner Mr Dupuy and we hope you will receive for your next french stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    61
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
49
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illkirch-graffenstaden, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel very close to city center - easy to walk to restaurant & shopping area.

Difficult to park the car in front of the hotel (need to pay for parking), but free parking at 200m from the hotel

People at the hotel could give good advise on the city highlights

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Guy-67400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your positive opinion.

We hope you will keep good memory for your french stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This modest hotel is a short walk from the town centre and the Château. There is free parking at a couple of minutes walk. We turned up without a reservation and the friendly receptionist found us a room which was basic but clean and included private bath and TV.
At EUR 65.50 per night, including a very good breakfast, you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thanks for your positive opinion, we hope to receive when you will come back in France.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

Spent a few days here in July. Clean rooms, helpful staff. Breakfast was ok. There is indeed free parking close by, we parked outside the post office(free parking at weekends) and returned the following morning to find our car had been vandalised. We put this down to youthful high spirits due to the Bastille day celebrations but it still spoilt an otherwise nice stay.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank for your positive opinion about our hotel.

We are so sorry for your vandalized car, this type of act happend rarely in our town.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel Volney is situated at the end of town furthest from the Gare and centre ville, next to a school and on a busy road so its not in a quiet or really handy position.

The front door is particularly heavy and difficult to push open with your luggage in hand and the room doors are not much easier to pull open.

The rooms are of average 2 star size and the bathroom slightly bigger than usual with quite good liquid soap.

The staff are friendly enough but room cleaning lacks something as our towels were left wet where we had left them and not even straightend including the bath mat still on the floor; we certainly should have put them in the bath to get them changed.

Breakfast though adequate with cereal yogurt and the usual breads and coffee was quite disorganised taking ages before milk butter coffee etc were served.

The stairway which is usual for this type of hotel is particularly steep and narrow and even we who only travel with hand luggage had a bit of difficulty with the stairs.

We only stay at 2 star hotels and can rate Volney as clean but average.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzGronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thanks for your opinion.
We apologize for the breakfast service, it may happen to be disorganized when the hotel is full.
In order to respect the ecological development, if you don't use all the towels, you can it leave wet them apart in the bathroom.
We hope to receive when you will come back in France.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were very pleased with the hotel, we stayed for 3 nights along with 3 other friends and had breakfast for €7 on two of the mornings which was lovely. The man at reception was very nice and helpful.
The rooms were quite basic but very clean which is always the most important thing. We were so pleased with the location too.
For the price it was just perfect. If you want luxury, you'll have to pay more but we prefer to spend the savings on good food and wine!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thanks for your positive opinion, we hope to receive when you will come back in France.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Saumur Centre
Kyriad Saumur Centre
#10 of 24 in Saumur
217 reviews
1.7 mi away
Campanile Saumur
Campanile Saumur
#23 of 24 in Saumur
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Saumur
Premiere Classe Saumur
#14 of 24 in Saumur
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cristal Hotel
Cristal Hotel
#9 of 24 in Saumur
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Volney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Volney

Property: Le Volney
Address: 1 rue Volney, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Volney 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel le Volney is located in the heart of the Loire Valley, in Saumur downtown famous for its "Cadre Noir" (national horse riding school, its castle, its wines, its caves...This charming Hotel offers you a very special and warm welcome. Its rooms are personalized and some of them have air conditioning.Located in a very quiet area, close to downtown, its narrow pedestrian streets, its restaurants, its commercial area, Hotel Le Volney is really the place to stay if you want to visit Saumur and its area, Loire and castles.In a relaxed atmosphere, the owners will inform you about Saumur, Loire Valley and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Volney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Volney Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing