We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant dining with professional service.”

L'Alchimiste Restaurante
Ranked #26 of 124 Restaurants in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Elegant dining with professional service.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A well set out dining area with 20 covers unless you are unfortunate to get a table for two just outside the toilet. Nice fresh flower decorations on each table add an air of elegance to proceedings. The set menu is good value but very restricted. The a la carte menu can be quite expensive.Food is of excellent quality and beautifully presented. Service is efficient and very professional. A good wine list with some excellent local wines adds to the overall pleasure of a visit here. Best to book I think.
.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    54
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“We waited in line to get in!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We didn't have reservations, but we waited for about 1/2 hour to get in at 7:30 pm. We're glad we did - terrific food and wonderful service. The price was right, too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraCAlexandriaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best meal of holiday”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Second visit this holiday. First meal 70euros for two but we did not like the fish. However last night was excellent. Main course was haddock. We got there at 7.30 best time for good service as its only a husband and wife affair. By end only two tables left. A bargain meal with an excellent savarennes wine. We are going again on Friday.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb food and service, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Superb menu and service, excellent decor and outside seating is also nice. Lovley touches - little snacks at start of meal. The house aperitif was fantastic. The formula was excellent with all food excellently cooked and presented. Great wine selection. Pleasant service. Clearly the best restaurant we went to in the area. Would definitely go back. Owners obviously care deeply about the food, and providing an excellent dining experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldenthigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The food is excellent, not too much but beautifully presented. Will definitely go back

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank borntotravel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Alchimiste Restaurante also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to L'Alchimiste Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing