We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a little bit special.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Bouvet Ladubay
Ranked #7 of 23 Saumur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's a little bit special.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had a wonderful brief sojourn at the Chateau Bouvet Labuday in April on our way through the Loire Valley region.

Bruno the host was attentive and easy to deal with. From booking right through to our departure the whole process was very easy.

We stayed in the Jade room (rooms!) which suited our family perfectly, with room for the adults and kids and even a mini sitting room with views over the glasshouse. The accommodation was perfect, spotless and grand, particularly the bathroom with the gold spa bath which our boys loved!

Breakfast was in the sitting room, very atmospheric and lovely to look out over the glasshouse and the greenery.

A very lovely experience and a great opportunity to have a peak into chateau life!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
68
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheverny, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was unsure when I booked this chateau in Saumur in the Loire Valley of France but it was a highlight of our trip. The host is a charming Frenchman who could not have been more attentive. The chateau is stunning with beautiful furnishings and artwork. We had a fabulous suite of 3 rooms which were warm and comfortable, with a luxurious bathroom and access to a balcony in the conservatory. We then moved on to a well known chateau in Cheverny which was twice the price but half as nice. Do yourself a favour if you want to experience a classy French chateau, visit Chateau Bouvet Ladubay. Don't be fooled by exteriors and the marketing of the larger chateaux. They do not offer as value as good or a unique experience as this chateau does,

Room Tip: We booked a double room but were given a suite next to the breakfast room which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hornsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guernsey channel islands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This chateau was recommended by friends and wow they were exactly right with the review. Bruno was charming and very helpful with restaurants near by that we could walk to. We had a two bedroomed suite as we had my mother with us, both bedrooms were amazing as was the décor. Swimming pool was heated to a lovely temperature and my mother swam each day we were there. A most enjoyable 2 nights. If you are looking for something a bit different then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Bruno was a delight. It was fun to talk to him and see his chateau. He gave us a great recommendation for dinner and a winery tour. Our room at the front had a great view of the Saumur chateau lit at night. The chateau is not modernized and cleansed, but full of charm - and antiques.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rimaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Picked at random, but what a result. Amazing find. Bed and Breakfast in a living museum. Bruno the owner bought this place after leaving the banking rat race and seems to run it as a hobby whilst he collects antiques - which the place is full of. It's not a spotless marble edifice, it's a bit more shabby chic, but absolutely oozes style, and yes, all the rooms are mini-suites. Older kids fit in (12 plus) but perhaps a bit of care with smaller inquisitive ones - there's lots to smash. Book early - or else phone up and hope for a cancellation. And don't try to arrive before 4pm

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our first ever B&B in 45 years gite-ing. Due to an unacceptable gite outside Loches we needed to make a swift exit, and by chance using iPad found this haven in Saumur. This gorgeous 'Belle Epoque' chateau has three large elegant double-bed en suites rooms (we saw them all), and two 2-bedroom double suites - which we took as a family. Our suite, at the front, had a red/gold Chinese style bedroom, and a vast white bedroom complete with gold jacuzzi bath and perfect round tower sitting area. Our son's suite had two double bedded rooms and lovely bathroom. Everything was immaculate.

Breakfast was standard continental - tea/coffee, juice, yoghout, bread, butter, jams, pain au chocolate and croissant, served as early or late as you wished. One day we didnt even leave, but stayed by the pool.

Bruno - the owner - is charming and advised us on restaurants. Good recommendations.

The heated pool - 28deg during our visit in early June - was spotless.

Do go there. We will!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful experience! My husband and I just returned from three nights at Chateau Bouvet Ludabay and we had an amazing stay. The rooms were more like suites. Our room, the Agathe room, named after Bruno's daughter, was not only elegant it was very functional. The ceiling are 5 meters high and we had French doors and windows that gave us the view of his beautiful grounds as well as his Solarium. We had a nice sitting room and a bath room with modern amenities, a towel,warmer and a tub that was Huge! I have a jacuzzi that fits two at home and this tub was twice that size....no kidding. So relaxing after a long day touring the area. Bruno was,as mentioned before, so very helpful,and spoke perfect English. I was in a hurry to get to Market on our first day and he took us in his car so we would get there in time.He was so helpful with places to go and made all of our dinner reservations in advance,at wonderful, reasonably priced restaurants. He also,arranged for cabs, and anything else we needed. Did I mention that breakfast comes with the room? Fresh croissants, fruit, juice and cafe cream with warm milk started our days in the Loire area. We like to,walk everywhere we visit, and right down the road were two wineries with sparkling wine that is France's best. Do not miss the winery Bouvet Ludabet, or Gratien- Meyer a little out of town. Fabulous sparkling wine for about 9 euro per bottle! Unbelievable ! We will definitely recommend this wonderful Chateau to anyone who is going to that area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctldallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau De Verrieres
Chateau De Verrieres
#6 of 24 in Saumur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Domaine de Presle
Domaine de Presle
#15 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#2 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Adagio
BEST WESTERN Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bouvet Ladubay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bouvet Ladubay

Property: Chateau Bouvet Ladubay
Address: 6 avenue Georges Thoreau | Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by a well-known familly of wine producers in Saumur, the Chateau Bouvet-Ladubay with its magnificent conservatory and its three guest-rooms wil give you a taste of the magic of the Loire Valley. The Ecole Nationale d’Equitation, the Cadre Noir de Saumur, the vineyards and cellars are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Bouvet Ladubay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing