We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely few days”
Review of Le Patio Saumur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Patio Saumur
Ranked #2 of 25 Saumur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hosts were very friendly and attentive and even offered us a free bottle of wine on the first night. The Patio is ideally located in the shadow of the chateau and facing the Loire. If you want character this is the place to stay. There is a delightful inner courtyard with tables and chairs and plants. We met here with our two friends before going out. The style is definitely shabby chic and it could probably benefit from a pot of money spending on it but this doesn't take away from the experience and value for money. We had a good basic breakfast of croissants, bread and coffee.
Our room was on the top floor (the Loire room) It had a bath not shower, with plenty of hot water. The beds were twin joined together and it would have been more comfortable with plumper pillows with smooth cotton pillow cases but hey this is not an expensive hotel! Thanks to Romain and Stephanie for a lovely stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Le Patio Saumur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed just the one night on route to Dordogne but lovely welcome to our spacious good value suite by Stephanie. Lovely room and breakfast ,ideally situated for short walk to centre with easy free parking opposite by the Loire .Atmosphere was great , particularly sitting in the courtyard supping wine.The owner Romain even invited me to join him and his friends for a nightcap which turned in to a few more ! How often does that happen?
Would not hesitate to stay here again.Highly remccomended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DangelaBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We had a delightful three day stay in Saumur & Le Patio was the perfect place to make as our base to explore this region. Our room was very spacious, clean crisp linen, ample ventilation, with a views of the Loire and the Chateau. The fare at breakfast was plentiful and our hosts were warm and welcoming, nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I reserved a suite in advance, speaking personally to the owner only 5 days earlier. We arrived, only to find that he had not reserved the room for us and had given it to someone else (who wanted to stay 3 nights, not just one). He was not at all apologetic, indeed quite surly about it, as if it were our fault. He told us (quite unnecessarily) that he was a doctor. I sincerely hope that his manner with his patients, if his assertion is true, is better than his manner as a host with guests. He was very unhelpful.

It was Friday at 5.30pm. We had just driven from the UK and couldn't have found another room at that time, so begrudgingly took it. Instead of the impressive suite we had arranged, we had a shabby attic room (which he said he let out as an overnight room for a junior doctor on call at the local hospital) in which he placed some fold-down beds for our children. The owner, M. Legrand, was rude and dismissive. That evening we heard him outside speaking, appearing to laugh with other guests about our arriving and his not having a room for us.

The room smelled strongly of urine and the bathroom was old, with no shower and some of the lights didn't work. The floor was covered with a very uncomfortable coir matting. The wallpaper was peeling.

The owner's manner at breakfast was equally unhelpful, again with a surly expression and simply plonking the food and drinks on the table without any pleasantries at all.

Finally, he charged us more for the use of that room than he would have charged for the suite we had reserved. We were in no mood to argue and simply wanted to get away, and so paid.

This is a lovely town, with the beautiful Loire running through its heart. The chateau is simply astonishing and I would urge you to visit Saumur.

I travel often and never expect perfection in a hotel/room/cottage etc. I had never written a review for Tripadvisor before but felt moved on this occasion to do so because we felt so let down by our stay here, and that is not at all reflective of our experience of staying at many other places in France.

Stayed: September 2013
5  Thank MikeandLucyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our family of four (including two teenagers) stayed here for one night in early July 2014. The B&B is a former post office and well located right on the river close to the old part of town. Romain was extremely welcoming and friendly, and our room was beautiful, clean, comfortable and spacious. Wifi was somewhat weak unless we were close to the windows facing the courtyard. Breakfast was good. We enjoyed our stay, would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to others

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Greeted by the ever enthusiastic Romain, who made us feel immediately at home and recommended an excellent restaurant in the nearby town square. Atmospheric and charming 17th century coaching inn to which I am sure we shall return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dchittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My Wife and I staryed here for 5 nights and enjoyed it completely.
Romain makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive and will endeavour to help you with directions and advice.
We stayed in the Green Suite and it was extremely comfortable and suited our needs completely.
Room was always clean, as was the bathroom and the bed was quite comfortable.
Breakfast was included a "continental" and certainly all we needed to get the day moving.
Le Patio is very conveniently located to the centre but not so close that you get any noise.
I think you would be hard pressed to find a better B&B and we can certainly recommend Le Patio for your stay in Saumur.
Well done Romain and Stephanie.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.4 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#10 of 24 in Saumur
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
285 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Patio Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Patio Saumur

Address: 31 quai Mayaud, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Price Range: £78 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Patio Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing