We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb restaurant but taxis needed in Saumur.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Pot de Lapin

Le Pot de Lapin
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: French traditional cooking. Large range of local wine available with meals and to buy. Restaurant in a quiet street on eastern side of the town. Lovely atmosphere. Medium price.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb restaurant but taxis needed in Saumur.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our friends recommended this restaurant .We loved the ambience and loved the food. The service was excellent , the staff were helpful and informative on choice of wine and food. We had no problems on getting a taxi to the restaurant but had difficulty in securing one for our return journey. Taxis are limited here. However, the owner went beyond the call of duty after failing to secure one for us,he took it upon himself to personally drive us back to our hotel. Walking was not really an option for us due to a leg injury.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JBfromthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    158
    22
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulush!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We too were caravaning in the area. Always like to eat where the locals go. This is a wonderful place with French bistros cooking at its best and then some. Staff very helpful and patient with us. Superb meal. Cheeseboard is breathtaking. Lovely atmosphere. Good sized portions & would suggest starter + main or main + dessert unless your appetite is huge!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallyann4961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Can I give this 6 Stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I had dinner here several times during our stay in Saumur, it was just that good!
I have had a few meals over the years in Michelin 3 star restaurants and I think this restaurant comes very close to equal.
Le Pot de Lapin was recommended by the owner of the B&B in which we were staying and its perhaps a little out of the way, easy walk from the centre, so if you want to try, maybe you will need some directions from a local, but it is well worth a visit.
The owner speaks quite good English and both he and the waitress are extremely helpful and happy to translate dishes for you.
All of it is good, traditional French food and Tapas as well if you want.
Prices are very reasonable and quality is superb.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Great service, friendly owner and waiting staff, nice potted rabbit amuse bouche. Very tasty. Had a selection of wines to go with the meal. Went with the recommendation of the owner. All were top quality Saumur whites and a glass of Bordeaux . Had a la carte meal consisting of Serrano ham with melted rebluchon cheese , scallop main course and the cheese board. Cheese was lovely and i was encouraged to eat as much as i wanted. I ate a lot . Also had a lovely glass of Armagnac with my coffee which was a first for me . All in all a wonderful restaurant , very relaxed and great recommendations . Thoroughly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Rikitiki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Caravanning just outside Saumur we wanted to go for an evening meal. We chose (through Tripadvisor) and our friendly reception staff at le camping Chantepie a restaurant called le Pot de Lapin.

The restaurant is small so we booked as it was a Saturday night.

The owner and his (soon to be) wife were really helpful and monsieur speaks very good English although we do our best with our limited French.

The menu is all on chalk boards and has a large selection of entrees, plats and desserts as well as wine by the glass, bottle and 46cl. bottle, also a range of tapas. There is a separate wine menu too.

We decided on entrees of rillettes de lapin and Burratino et soranno. The plates were a picture when they arrived and we were amazed at the size of the portions they were so large. The food was absolutely delicious too.

Main courses of Saute de porc provencal and Tagine d'agneau, the first served with wild rice and the second with couscous, were just as delicious as the starters.

After seeing the desserts served to the next table my husband decided to order the banane flambee which was served with mango sorbet and a brandy snap construction which he loved.

We were the only tourists in the restaurant and noticed the most of the locals order a starter and dessert, or a main course and dessert - not surprising as the portions are so generous.

Our taxi driver home told us she orders a starter and dessert when she goes there as the potions are so generous.

If we were to go again we would maybe start with a couple of tapas, have and entree then a dessert.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Pot de Lapin also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Le Pot de Lapin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing