We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Auberge Saint Pierre

L'Auberge Saint Pierre
Reserve with
L'Auberge Saint Pierre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 115 Restaurants in Saumur
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Our second visit to the Auberge St Pierre in Saumur on a Sunday was just like the first (on a weekday). Staff are friendly and accommodating and even though both times we visited outside normal provincial French weekday lunchtimes (12:00 to 14:00) we were served food. Even better they will accept a large dog inside the restaurant as long as it is well-behaved.

The food is of good quality, with decent portions and the wait times suggest freshly prepared fare. It certainly isn't boil-in-the-bag but then again it's not Michelin starred either. The price for us was around €50 for a three course lunch with a bottle of good local wine, a bottle of Badois and three coffees.

There were a couple of families there with young kids who were enjoying the cheaper menu which looked to be wholesome and attractive to kids whilst avoiding the usual junk food.

In a tourist hot spot we thought it was good value especially given the quality of the food and the welcoming and attentive staff. The Sunday customer numbers were substantially higher than the weekday but the service standards were the same - solid and reliable.

Overall, a good place to go in Saumur for a lunch (and I guess dinner).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    173
    110
    129
    179
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Dining under the stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Saumur is a lovely french town with several beautiful squares It was in Place St Pierre that I discovered Auberge St Pierre. A small restaurant set amongst medieval buildings. The seating was mainly outside and the evening was warm and starry. The square full of twinkle lights. Even alone it was enchanting to be there. I had the duck for dinner with a good Chinon wine and a tart tartin to finish. All nicely prepared and tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We ate here on 5th September 2013 and weren't disappointed. The staff were immediately on hand to find us a lovely table overlooking the square. Nibbles arrived with a very extensive wine list. We had a saumur champigny while ordering off the menu which was stuffed full of choices. We ordered starters duck and pâté, and crayfish with smoked salmon. These were beautifully presented and very tasty. The mains of boeuf bourgignon and coq au vin we cooked to perfection. The staff were very attentive and pleasant and tolerated our attempts at French.
The atmosphere so good we lingered after the meal, and enjoyed another drink.
I would highly recommend L'auberge to anyone wanting a real dining experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jub-N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Boeuf Bourguignon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant in the busy square below the castle because our first two choices were closed but we weren't disappointed. We had different regional specialities and the boeuf bourguignon was particularly good. We avoided the aperitifs and had a good Loire red instead. We ate quite early and had good fast and friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had dinner there. Although the location is nice on the place St Pierre, it was the typical tourist trap. The bill was 20% higher than in all other places in Saumur where we had the same type of meals. The service is patchy, the food was very average. Avoid and go to Les 2 tontons instead just across the place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darklangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Auberge Saint Pierre also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to L'Auberge Saint Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing