We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true experience of rural French living”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Visit local fresh food markets throughout the week
Château de Saumur
Visit local Brocantes, flea markets, of a weekend
Château du Rivau, near Chinon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saumur, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Susan_Sag...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A true experience of rural French living”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Our 4th year at La Bellevue and we are still enchanted by the rural nature of the setting, tranquility, peace and quiet. Sarah-Jane is a gracious and generous host and welcomes you on arrival so you feel instantly at home. She is always very forthcoming with help about things to do and see in the area. There are two gîtes on site both of which are totally restored to a tremendously high standard, well equipped and scrupulously clean. I could not recommend La Bellevue highly enough and will definitely be going back in 2014 for our 5th year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful gîte.
Liked least: Nothing all good.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephBad...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Cottage in a picturesque setting”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a fantastic week at Annie's House in the beautiful Loire Valley. Sarah-Jane and Gerald were incredibly helpful during our stay (they even dug us up some incredible wines from the caves beneath the house).

If you want a peaceful break in a beautiful setting then Annie's House is for you. If you like wine too then all the better - highly recommend you do the Loire Valley Uncorked tour and tasting with Gerald. We had a great time.

Thanks for a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frenchy99...
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Home Base for Exploring the Loire Valley”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked Annies House because we had spent a wonderful day on a previous trip learning about wine with the owner, Gerald and his business Loire Valley Uncorked. After spending the day with Gerald, we wanted to return to Loire Valley for a longer visit, and because we felt so comfortable with him and the interaction we had with his wife Sarah- Jane, we decided to stay in one of their gites.
We were not disappointed. Annies house is located in a lovely little village. After being in the hustle and bustle of Paris, we felt ourselves relaxing as soon as we arrived. The house is adorable and immaculately clean. There is plenty of room to relax after a long day of exploring the numerous chateaux in the area. The location is excellent, as it was a relatively easy drive to many beautiful villages, vineyards and castles. We very much enjoyed a Sunday flea market in a nearby village.
I cant say enough about Sarah Jane and Gerald. They are a lovely couple, and go out of their way to make you feel at home. We were so comfortable at Annies house that we only went out for dinner one night, which is highly unusual for us.
We highly recommend Annies house and Loire Valley to everyone, and we cant wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and charm
Liked least: no negative comments
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramejat
Brighton England
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A beautiful, well equipped, comfortable, quiet little house, with good outside seating and views. Set within the owner's gated grounds and although Sarah-Jane was a great host and available if needed, we felt very 'private'. Chateaux, trogolodyte villages, brocantes, river Loire, vineyards, good restaurants all within a short drive. A very good supermarket in the neighbouring town supplied all our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ambience.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a great week here, the property was beautiful and in a nice, quiet location. Both Sarah-Jane and Gerald were very welcoming and friendly. The village is situated amongst the vineyards and is close to all the key points of interest. Fifty yards up the road is a great Belgian restaurant which we would recommend.
Overall we would say it's the best gite we've ever stopped in and for the first time wished we had booked for two weeks instead of one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, very clean. Nice and friendly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday home!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at the beautiful Annie's House for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Sarah and her family were incredibly welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. She recommended great days out and markets to visit in the area. We felt completely relaxed and would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The local markets
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Annie's House is a very attractive stone cottage set in a delightful courtyard, surrounded by colourful and fragrant shrubs and flowers, with extensive views of the local countryside. We really appreciated the warm welcome, friendliness and the care shown in ensuring we had a great stay. The interior was stylishly furnished and well maintained with very comfortable seating and beds. The cottage is ideally placed for visits to Saumur, Montreuil-Bellay, Fontevraud Abbey and many other Loire Valley attractions such as the troglodyte caves at Turquant. We enjoyed sampling interesting wines and tasty food at Gėrald's bistrot in Saumur.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting and friendliness of owners.
Liked least: Lack of washing machine.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$97
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing