We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great gitte”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Visit local fresh food markets throughout the week
Saumur
Visit local Brocantes, flea-markets, at a weekend
Château d Angers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saumur, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rl1926
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great gitte”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Perfect gitte for two people. Sara and Gerald are lovely hosts who will be happy to help plan your activities. If you are a cyclist there are great routes to various chateaus and the countryside. The gitte is in the countryside 15 to 20 minutes to many bigger towns and restaurants. That said if you want to be in the country in a beautiful area and a lovely home this is the place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Northamptonshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

When we finally arrived mid evening we were greeted warmly by Sarah-Jane to our delightful 'home for the week' La Grange d'Henri. Every detail has been carefully thought of from plenty of loo rolls to shopping bags and everything Inbetween. The whole place had a wonderful ambiance and we enjoyed the peace and quiet. Sitting outside in the evening enjoying our BBQ and glass of wine enjoying the views was great.
Sarah-Jane worked very hard to give us suggestions of places to visit and to provide anything that we asked her for. Her attention was faultless! Her two children were little delights.
The wifi was a little patchy and really had to be used outside so it was good that we had wonderful weather! They are hoping to make improvements which will be a benifit.
We could certainly recommend a stay at this pretty little place with no hesitation and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughtfulness of Sarah-Jane
Liked least: Can't think of any real negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan...
Swaffham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent choice of gite for a visit to the Loire Valley”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just returned from a wonderful relaxing week at La Grange D'Henri! We received a very warm welcome from the owner Sarah-Jane, and found the Gite and surrounding gardens were presented to a very high standard. We were located in a beautiful small village, typically French, with great views over the countryside. The gite is within easy access to many interesting and attractive towns and villages, with an abundance of chateaux and vineyards. We found Montreuil-Bellay, a small town a few miles away was charming, with several excellent places to eat and dominated by a beautiful Chateau. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to La Grange D'Henri and the Loire valley, and will certainly be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, gardens and cleanliness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Warm welcome , spotlessly clean , church bells , stunning views , what more could you want . Incredibly helpful hosts who also own and run a great Bistro in Saumur really worth a visit .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamari
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed with Gerard and Sarah-Jane for two weeks in June in La Grange d'Henri.

Everything about our stay was excellent, La Grange is very well equipped, with high quality furnishings and fittings and all the additional bits and pieces which make a holiday so enjoyable. The terrace had the evening sun and we were able to eat outside each evening and then enjoy a glass of wine well into the evening.

Sarah was so helpful with advice on places to visit, things to see, always there to help but never intrusive. On our last night we enjoyed some excellent bottles of wine with Gerard, Sarah and the guest staying in the adjacent gite, an excellent evening and one we will not forget.

La Grange is situated in a small village which is ideally placed for visits to Saumur, Chinon and Angers, there is a supermarket nearby which provided a wonderful selection of wine, vegetables and fish.

We had not been to the Loire for 14 years but our wonderful stay will ensure that we visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Our hosts, the gite and the location
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IERat31
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave.....”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We've lost count of the number of visits to La Grange d'Henri. The location is for us simply the best, and the owners are no different. We always feel it is a home away from home, but a home where we can always relax, enjoy a bit of peace and quite and for a few days at least forget the rat race. The only problem we ever face is leaving.......but we know we'll be returning again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigginJar...
jarrow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Devine, beautiful and relaxing place to have a holiday”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Having had many holidays in France staying in gites, I have to say that La Grande D'Henri is up there with the best. The accommodation is first class, immaculate and clean with all the trimmings you would ever want from a holiday home. What I found different was the mix between Sarah - Jane's fabulous English style hospitality and Gerald's French, warm personality. The gites location offers a central point to visit various chateaus, brocantes and quaint villages without having to travel far. As a general rule, my wife and I, normally never holiday at the same place twice, but La Grande D' Henri just may be the exception.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners hospitality and quality of the property
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing