We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DEFINITELY A PLACE TO VISIT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caves Louis de Grenelle

Caves Louis de Grenelle
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Situated at 12m underground in the centre of Saumur, the Louis de Grenelle wine cellars have been producing, in the purest tradition, Cremant de Loire and Saumur Brut ever since 1859. In this former tufa quarry, you will discover the secrets of traditional wine-producing methods. After the guided tour there will be a commented wine-tasting session. You will also be able to discover wine in a wine-dedicated space.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“DEFINITELY A PLACE TO VISIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Brilliant tour with a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable young lady ( even for those of us non wine enthusiasts) she made the history of the caves interesting enough for adults and our grandchildren age 6 and 8. She enquired at the start of the tour if English was ok for everyone a nice touch and her spoken English is outstanding. The wine tasting is very informative again even incorporating the children whose entrance was free the 2.50 euro entrance fee for us is unbelievable value. Of course we couldn't come away empty handed but that's down to choice absolutely no pressure to purchase which is probably why so many of us did . Thankyou what a team you must be and we will definitely visit again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberystwyth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenelle49, Responsable relations clients at Caves Louis de Grenelle, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are really grateful for this kind comment. I will share it with the team! We are delighted to know that you had a nice moment coming in our family business! It will be a pleasure to welcome you back next time.

Caves Louis de Grenelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    41
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Worth a visit just for the red sparkling wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

we were spoilt for choice for wine tasting but decided on this one as they did an unusual red sparking wine. We were one of 2 couples on our tour & the young tour girl spoke excellent English & was very informative. We tasted several different types of wine & came away with 3 boxes including the red sparkling one. We were also given a complementary bottle - must have spent too much!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieM452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenelle49, Responsable relations clients at Caves Louis de Grenelle, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to learn that you liked the tour with our guide and we hope that the red sparkling you bought will remind you of your visit in our family business!

We will be happy to welcome you back anytime you want!

Regards,

Caves Louis de Grenelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great tour and insight into this wine business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a really interesting tour by an enthusiastic young lady who was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English as well as French.

We had a wine tasting after the tour and bought home some bottles!

Free entrance if you stay at Castles, domaine le Breche campsite.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Easterholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenelle49, Responsable relations clients at Caves Louis de Grenelle, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the tour and the wine tasting into our family house. Hope you will make your friends discover our sparkling wines!

Kind regards

Caves Louis de Grenelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Fizz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Visited on a rainy day and were the only people on the tour. The girl who took us round the caves was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Tasting was interesting too and we ended up buying totally different wines to the ones we planned. The "Cremant fizz" is excellent - especially the red.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenelle49, Responsable relations clients at Caves Louis de Grenelle, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Hello

Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to know that you had a good time in our family house.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really friendly informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We missed the tour, but the girls in the shop were really good about letting us taste anyway and told us all about how the sparkling wines are made. Had a really interesting half hour and came away with a case of very good value (& tasting) bubbles! We are normally red drinkers and so tasting so much fizz was a nice treat! Recommend even if only to taste. Didn't go back for the tour as not sure our toddler would have let us listen without a fuss, but it was VERY popular when we saw the group return! Should be noted there are no tours between 12-1.30.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenelle49, Responsable relations clients at Caves Louis de Grenelle, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your kind comment! We are happy to learn that you appreciated the wine tasting. We hope you will have the opportunity to come back here one day and to do the guided tour of our wine cellar!
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caves Louis de Grenelle also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Caves Louis de Grenelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing