We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”
Review of La Bouere Salee

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saumur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Bouere Salee
Ranked #17 of 25 Saumur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Really a very pleasant stay. The owners are very charming and do their utmost to be welcoming hosts. The breakfasts are fantastic. The rooms are in the "chambres des bonnes" on the top floor. Ours was pleasant with a private bathroom and looked down on the garden. We visited in April when it was still cool. However, I suspect the rooms are warm in the summer although the owners have no problem if you wish to sit in the park with bottle of chilled wine waiting for the evening breeze from the Loire to cool the room down. There are a number of excellent restaurants about 15 - 30 minutes walk away and the station is about 10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: They have a garage where bicycles can be parked.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doonfooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for La Bouere Salee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

My partner and I both nominated this as our favourite place to stay on our recent European holiday: elegant, refined and undeniably French, with that rusticated shabby grandeur reserved exclusively for those with money and taste. This is the sort of house most people spend their lives dreaming about: three levels with a sweeping staircase, fire in the grate, oriental rugs and beautiful antique furniture (which you instinctively know is expensive because it is slightly battered in that picturesque way only true antiques are). Toss in an orchard, gravel drive, resident labrador, high fairytales walls and circles of deck chairs on a sunlit lawn - and what more could you want? (An orangerie, I hear you say. Well, they had that too...) Our host, Catherine, was lovely: incredibly hospitable and with impeccable decorating taste. Our third floor room was done up in a musical theme, with stringed instuments on the walls and battered music primers resting on the bedhead. (I say it again; taste.) The bathrooms had little sample packs of moisturisers and facial masques; a luxurious treat that I took full advantage of. And the breakfasts were a delight: after weeks of heavy French meals drowned in cream sauces and topped with Spam-like wedges of Foie Gras, the fresh, light tastes were a welcome relief. Cereal with generous servings of tart dried berries strewn throughout. Dainty homemade apple pastries. A crystal cake dish brimming with a superabundance of fresh raspberries and melon. Fresh orange juice and brewed coffee in a spindly, silver teapot - the sort of thing you'd expect a starched maid to serve you from. And in the background: tinkling classical music, a crackling fire and the smell of charcoal and cinders. This was a wonderful place that I'd recommend without equivocation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Large country house - former weekend/summer residence of Saumur aristos - run by chic and well-informed Catherine and her husband Emmanuel (who runs a local organic store). Behind high metal gates, you may be greeted with tea in the conservatory. Our bikes were garaged, and there was parking on the gravel approach. You sleep on the top ? former servants floor, with the feeling that the room was lived in until recently - books, articles and local olive soap. So not an impersonal hotel, but calm and restful after the city centre. A well-placed base for a visit to Saumur or its surroundings. No dinner available, but local restaurants within easy walking distance. Terrific healthy breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthendEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Propriétaire at La Bouere Salee, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jean-marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Propriétaire at La Bouere Salee, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank catclod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.3 mi away
Premiere Classe Saumur
Premiere Classe Saumur
#14 of 24 in Saumur
167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ami Chenin
Ami Chenin
#9 of 25 in Saumur
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Patio Saumur
Le Patio Saumur
#2 of 25 in Saumur
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bouere Salee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bouere Salee

Address: Rue Grange Couronne | Saint-Lambert-des-Levees, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing