We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay - the best in France!”
Review of La Bouere Salee

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saumur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Bouere Salee
Ranked #14 of 23 Saumur B&B and Inns
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay - the best in France!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

La Bouere Salee is a great place to stay. Catherine and Emmanuel are very welcoming. The rooms have a very traditional French feel. The breakfasts are to die for!
By far the best place we stayed at during our two weeks in France.
Highly recommended, we will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here at the start of our trip through the Loire valley.The hostess made us feel very welcome and gave us some welcome drinks upon our arrival which we thought very nice after our 7 hour train journey from London.Her English is also very good, but her husband not so much. The house is extremly well decorated and you feel as if you have stepped into another world but quite expectant of a house of this size. Our rooms were excellent. It was also very nicely decorated in a countryside feel and clean. We had a en-suite room which was also a plus. The garden outside is very nice to sit and have drinks or have breakfst on a warm day. The breakfast was also top quality and some of the nicest we had on our trip.It was a very welcoming and comfortable stay.It's a nice house too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jozitraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Really a very pleasant stay. The owners are very charming and do their utmost to be welcoming hosts. The breakfasts are fantastic. The rooms are in the "chambres des bonnes" on the top floor. Ours was pleasant with a private bathroom and looked down on the garden. We visited in April when it was still cool. However, I suspect the rooms are warm in the summer although the owners have no problem if you wish to sit in the park with bottle of chilled wine waiting for the evening breeze from the Loire to cool the room down. There are a number of excellent restaurants about 15 - 30 minutes walk away and the station is about 10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: They have a garage where bicycles can be parked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doonfooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My partner and I both nominated this as our favourite place to stay on our recent European holiday: elegant, refined and undeniably French, with that rusticated shabby grandeur reserved exclusively for those with money and taste. This is the sort of house most people spend their lives dreaming about: three levels with a sweeping staircase, fire in the grate, oriental rugs and beautiful antique furniture (which you instinctively know is expensive because it is slightly battered in that picturesque way only true antiques are). Toss in an orchard, gravel drive, resident labrador, high fairytales walls and circles of deck chairs on a sunlit lawn - and what more could you want? (An orangerie, I hear you say. Well, they had that too...) Our host, Catherine, was lovely: incredibly hospitable and with impeccable decorating taste. Our third floor room was done up in a musical theme, with stringed instuments on the walls and battered music primers resting on the bedhead. (I say it again; taste.) The bathrooms had little sample packs of moisturisers and facial masques; a luxurious treat that I took full advantage of. And the breakfasts were a delight: after weeks of heavy French meals drowned in cream sauces and topped with Spam-like wedges of Foie Gras, the fresh, light tastes were a welcome relief. Cereal with generous servings of tart dried berries strewn throughout. Dainty homemade apple pastries. A crystal cake dish brimming with a superabundance of fresh raspberries and melon. Fresh orange juice and brewed coffee in a spindly, silver teapot - the sort of thing you'd expect a starched maid to serve you from. And in the background: tinkling classical music, a crackling fire and the smell of charcoal and cinders. This was a wonderful place that I'd recommend without equivocation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Large country house - former weekend/summer residence of Saumur aristos - run by chic and well-informed Catherine and her husband Emmanuel (who runs a local organic store). Behind high metal gates, you may be greeted with tea in the conservatory. Our bikes were garaged, and there was parking on the gravel approach. You sleep on the top ? former servants floor, with the feeling that the room was lived in until recently - books, articles and local olive soap. So not an impersonal hotel, but calm and restful after the city centre. A well-placed base for a visit to Saumur or its surroundings. No dinner available, but local restaurants within easy walking distance. Terrific healthy breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthendEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.7 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
258 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Patio Saumur
Le Patio Saumur
#3 of 23 in Saumur
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bouere Salee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bouere Salee

Property: La Bouere Salee
Address: Rue Grange Couronne | Saint-Lambert-des-Levees, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing