We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy restaurant in central area”
Review of La Bourse

La Bourse
Ranked #54 of 117 Restaurants in Saumur
Price range: US$13 - US$28
Cuisines: French, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bracknell
Level Contributor
127 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant in central area”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Visited La Bourse during our Loire Valley trip- we'd picked out 4/5 from Trip Adviser reviews and this was the best one-open on a rainy monday.

Food was very good quality and staff attentive- we'd managed to grab an early table for lunch and by about 1pm became incredibly busy- service didn't seem to deteriorate as a result though.

Probably best to go on a non-market day as really busy then- but would recommend. Seemed good value as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BinfieldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    108
    48
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pretty average all round and service below that expected”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The food was ok but there is much better available at the price in Saumur. Service was slow and irritably delivered and I do hate it when you want to leave and pay and staff studiously avoid you. No more to be said.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horndean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good food but when busy service can suffer”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We visited this restaurant twice recently once to eat and once to be seated and then forgotten. On both occasions the restaurant was very busy but first time we were seated in a pleasant position and accepted the slow service but on the second we were seated right next to the toilets and we left without eating after waiting a while with no-one taking any interest in serving us. If you are prepared for potentially slow service and are not in a hurry, though, the food is good and it should be worth the wait. We chose melon and ham with port as a starter and wow, it was a hearty course! It was served in a large upright glass with masses of diced melon and bread sticks around which ham was wrapped - and a lot of it too! This course was delicious and if you like melon and parma ham, choose this and you'll not be disappointed. In fact it was so substantial that it spoiled our appetite for our main course of moules mariniere et frites. Whilst the mussels were on the small side, they were tasty and were served in a lidded saucepan which helped to keep them warm. The frites were excellent! Worth noting too that the restaurant has long opening hours. We liked this place despite being forgotten on our second visit and will be back when next in Saumur.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterPietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We ate here this evening, my partner feeling hungry, me not so much. Staff were friendly and attentive. Food was tasty and very reasonably priced. He had modules and frites, I had a croque with salad and fries 16.80 euros! Magic! Good atmosphere and great service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clocktowerclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“THE LOCALS LUNCH HERE!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Typical Frence Brasserie frequented by the locals. There is always a Plat du Jour which is great value but the menu is extensive and suits all tastes. Wines are mainly local and good value too and by the glass.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bourse also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to La Bourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing