We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charm close to city centre”
Review of Anne d'Anjou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anne d'Anjou
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The highlight of the hotel is the lovely courtyard with views of Chateau de Saumur - a perfect place to sip a glass of Saumur sparkling. The hotel is charmingly appointed, though our particular room was a tad on the worn side. The staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. The convenient riverside location is a short stroll from numerous restaurants and shops. Can't speak to the hotel restaurant as we did not eat there.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the courtyard and chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandavr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Lovely old character hotel within short walk of centre of town and overlooking river at the front with a lovely courtyard at rear where we had breakfast overlooked by the chateau. There is secure parking at rear ideal for motorbikes. Not the most modern but it does have charm and character

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank downsgolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on route further south. Welcome and service were first class. Only one reservation - the room we had at the front of the hotel was on a busy main road so somewhat noisy. Because of this we had to keep windows closed which meant room was a little too warm. It would not put us off a further stay as we would plump for a courtyard view whcih looks up at the Chateau Saumur!!!!

Service and welcome were first class!!

Room Tip: Pick a courtyard facing room as the hotel fronts a busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed for one night on a wine tasting trip to the Loire Valley,Saumur is a pretty town and this Hotel is within walking distance of the town . I have to agree with other reviews , the staff were very friendly but the Hotel is in a very old building .We had Room 101 comfortable with a good bathroom and with a beautiful view over the Loire BUT on the first floor beside a busy road .This was one of the expensive rooms but if you are a light sleeper ,beware as traffic noise will intrude . Our Wifi connection which was free would not work on either of our IPAD's on arrival until the following morning, and the breakfast was all buffet including the coffee from a machine , adequate but nothing to write home about. We had dinner out so cannot comment on the restaurant , overall I think the previous reviews sum this Hotel up and hope this addition helps fellow travellers

Room Tip: Take note of traffic noise if you have a room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We enjoyed Anne D`Anjou for three nights in Saumur. It is a very old building and may appear a little dark inside but we found it to have a nice atmosphere and to be very comfortable and clean. The shower was fantastic! Our room overlooked the Loire River and we enjoyed looking at the river in the early morning and evening light. There was plenty of space to unpack everything. We were not disturbed by the occasional traffic noise. If this potentially poses a problem for you ask for a room overlooking the garden and enjoy the view of the Chateau!

The owner was frequently in the lobby making sure all guests felt welcome and at home. She recommended some good restaurants and made us comfortable in the garden each evening for our pre-dinner drinks. She also helped with suggested outings and assisted us with our train booking. Nothing was too much trouble.

We were delighted to find our first lift of our trip and we never had to wait for it . Often we walked the staris to work off some of the red wine and cheese we had consumed!

Saumur is a lovely town , and Anne D`Anjou was within easy walking distance to the town centre. The Saturday market was one of the best I have seen in Europe, so fresh and colourful with all the locals purchasing products. We purchased the makings of a picnic at the market which we enjoyed on the banks of the Loire River outside Chinon.

This hotel made a good base to explore the region

Room Tip: ! Our room overlooked the Loire River and we enjoyed looking at the river in the early morning an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dandy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

very nice stay, nice and great rooms with al accomadations
parking in house
nice terras with view onto the castle
and the restaurant ; the best in Saumur Michelin recommandation worth

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Look up from the courtyard and you see the Chateau on the hill above. Great views of the city from there. Don't go to the restaurant in the courtyard. It is pretentious and expensive. It is a renovated home so it is pleasant in that way. Small rooms as usual. Nive breakfast.

Room Tip: You have a choice of a view of the chateau (probably quieter) or the river and street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
12.0 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
0.5 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne d'Anjou

Address: 32 quai Mayaud, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: £68 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anne d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine 18th century hotel is situated a stone's throw away from the city of Saumur, enjoying the opulent beauty of the River Loire running gracefully nearby. Listed façade, sumptuous staircase crowned by a trompe-l'oeil ceiling - all the prestigious hallmarks of the past have been preserved and enhanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anne d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne d`Anjou Hotel Saumur
Anne d Anjou Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing