We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Adagio
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel situated on the island in the middle of the Loire with room views of the river or the Massive Chateau on the hill.
Reception - Very good - warm welcome ask where we parked and advised it good fine to park there (Right outside front door - in parking bays)(Option to park in secure parking out back at a small charge).
Lift available to upper floors.
Room - Big room with large door windows overlooking the River Loire. Very big Double bed and very comfortable it was.
Large Bathroom with bath shower, basin and loo.
Big TV on the wall in front of the bed - great!
No restaurant - however the town is just a 10 min walk across the bridge where a large choice of bars & restaurants can be found.
Bar - there is a small bar selection and seating area if needed.
Breakfast - very good -help yourself buffet type.

Great base to visit all Chateau's, caves rivers sports etc within the area.

Would I stay here again - oh yes I would..

Room Tip: The river view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    134
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
37
125
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just come back from a short stay in the Loire,used the adagio as a base,very nice hotel lovely family room overlooking the river,breakfast good ,nice friendly staff,used the secure parking it was fine but a bit tight for a big car,very easy to walk into saumur where there are some very good restaurants.
We just wish it was possible to eat at the adagio as you can get room service but there isn't a restaurant,only a minor problem though

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ry, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in July 2013. The first impression was a nice, light and clean lobby area and we were greeted by a warm and friendly welcome by the receptionist. Our room was very comfortable with nice beds, extremely clean everywhere and finally an air-conditioning system that actually worked - and was silent. The breakfast buffet was nice and the breakfast room was pretty and comfortable overlooking the northern part of the Loire river. Although situated on an island in the Loire river, the city center, shops and restaurants were within easy walking distance across the lovely bridge. From our experience the hotel is also suited for disabled guests with limited mobility. Parking was easy and free right in front of the hotel. We will highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit this area.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room right under the roof. It may offer limited headroom in the shower, but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skorstengaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland. UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights and was very impressed. Rooms are well appointed, clean and air-conditioned. Very central location. Staff extremely polite and helpful. Would stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were very pleased to find this hotel. The room was comfortable and the central picturesque location is ideal for exploring Saumur and the surrounding villages. We did book for breakfast which was extensive by some French standards but expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonNZ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami FL
Level Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Very near the center of town. Parking available. Good spot to use with many surrounding places to visit. Restaurants a short walk away.
Many Troglydyte villages a short drive from Saumur. Rooms clean with A/C available. We again turned down breakfast as we feel in France they all charge too much. We only take coffee and a croissaint and 10- 12 euros is a bit steep.
All in all a fine stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
214 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

It's quite a small hotel and my room was small. But it's clean and the staff are friendly. Hotel location is good, situated on the central island with a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of town. The hotel has parking but one can also park for free directly outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.5 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chateau De Verrieres
Chateau De Verrieres
#6 of 24 in Saumur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#2 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Adagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Adagio

Property: BEST WESTERN Adagio
Address: 94 avenue du General de Gaulle, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saumur
#6 Family Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Adagio 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully decorated, the hotel has thirty-eight warmly welcoming guest rooms, two of them suitable for guests with reduced mobility. All the rooms are insulated for sound and air conditioned, are either smoking or non smoking, and most of the rooms have a view over the Loire. Wi-fi connection available free in the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Adagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saumur
Saumur Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing