We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Adagio
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. We had a lovely spacious corner room with a very comfortable bed, and spacious bathroom. Everything was immaculate. There is free parking right at the door and it's a very pleasant 5 minute walk to the centre of Saumur. All staff we encountered were helpful and polite. All in all a very good spot for visiting Saumur and it's attractions. Don't miss the Cadre Noir. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchSandgroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Initial impression was rather sceptical.
But overall this hotel ticked all the boxes.
We booked a privilege room which was a good choice.
Bathroom was recently refurbished. Plenty of towels and bathrobes and slippers available.
The bed was rather hard but everyone has different requirements. Room was spacious.
Staff very pleasant.
Breakfast was plentiful and had reasonable choices.
A short walk over the bridge will take you to some pleasant locations serving reasonably priced good food.
Don't bother with the hotel parking as you can park outside the hotel and avoid the charges.

Room Tip: Privilege room is a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Adagio is a short stroll to the Saumur Castle and into the centre of town. Lovely town to walk around in. Great views from the Castle if you decide to go up. Toured the Castle itself - much of it was destroyed or abandoned at one time therefore a lot of it is restored. Nice grounds to stroll around in though. Hotel is very clean, breakfast was good with variety. Staff was great too. Rooms are a good size. Parking outside the door very convenient. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel situated on the island in the middle of the Loire. Had a corner room with 2 windows and balconies with a lovely breeze. We managed to park outside each time we returned which was great. Off road parking was also available. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Lucy and Simon were in particular extremely helpful. Both worked very hard to ensure all visitors were happy. We had stayed in 4 top hotels in the last week and the Adagio was the only hotel which provided gluten free bread. The staff had gone to the trouble to go out and buy some. Very nice bread it was I must say. Well done to you. Breakfast was very good and extra special because I could enjoy toast.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to superior room if staying more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizb477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in the Best Western Adaggio on the first night of a motorcycle trip down to the Pyrenees. The location is very good and they offered us garage parking for the bikes. The room was on the small side but modern and nicely equipped. They offered a very good breakfast. The price is very good and I would go there again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel situated on the island in the middle of the Loire with room views of the river or the Massive Chateau on the hill.
Reception - Very good - warm welcome ask where we parked and advised it good fine to park there (Right outside front door - in parking bays)(Option to park in secure parking out back at a small charge).
Lift available to upper floors.
Room - Big room with large door windows overlooking the River Loire. Very big Double bed and very comfortable it was.
Large Bathroom with bath shower, basin and loo.
Big TV on the wall in front of the bed - great!
No restaurant - however the town is just a 10 min walk across the bridge where a large choice of bars & restaurants can be found.
Bar - there is a small bar selection and seating area if needed.
Breakfast - very good -help yourself buffet type.

Great base to visit all Chateau's, caves rivers sports etc within the area.

Would I stay here again - oh yes I would..

Room Tip: The river view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just come back from a short stay in the Loire,used the adagio as a base,very nice hotel lovely family room overlooking the river,breakfast good ,nice friendly staff,used the secure parking it was fine but a bit tight for a big car,very easy to walk into saumur where there are some very good restaurants.
We just wish it was possible to eat at the adagio as you can get room service but there isn't a restaurant,only a minor problem though

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 26 in Saumur
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 26 in Saumur
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 26 in Saumur
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cristal Hotel
Cristal Hotel
#10 of 26 in Saumur
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Adagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Adagio

Address: 94 avenue du General de Gaulle, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: £62 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Adagio 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully decorated, the hotel has thirty-eight warmly welcoming guest rooms, two of them suitable for guests with reduced mobility. All the rooms are insulated for sound and air conditioned, are either smoking or non smoking, and most of the rooms have a view over the Loire. Wi-fi connection available free in the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Adagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saumur
Saumur Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing