We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good the second time”
Review of Hotel Saint-Pierre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Saint-Pierre in 2011 and had no hesitation in returning this year. If anything, it was even better than the first time. Regis is a very gracious host and extremely helpful. Our room was enormous and had all the charm befitting the age of the building. The hotel is right next to the market square. Try to go there on a Saturday so that you can experience Saumur's famous market. Breakfast is excellent with a superb choice of fruit, cereals, bread, pastries and freshly cooked crepes. Parking is available and needs to be booked in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian and Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel in mid November for 2 days. It's a very nice and cozy hotel hidden in the centre of city of Saumur. The location is great, near several nice restaurants and main city attractions. You can do everything by foot, it's a short walk. We've arrived late at night and we've received a warm welcome from the owner of the hotel, Regis. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. Besides being nice, give good tips and directions about the city, Regis is able to prepare a wonderful breakfast! We recommend this hotel!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaluArantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here quite a few times over the years for work. Stunning Building with fantastic stone work. Good price for what it is. One of the best Whiskey collections I have ever had the pleasure of drinking. Rooms are very ,, very nice. If your travels take you to this part of the world, you could do a lot worse than the Saint Pierre.

Room Tip: Any I have stayed in were great. Not sure what Saumur is like in Summer , but in winter is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcadogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Absolutely spotless, beautiful décor, I loved every item on display in this hotel, attention to detail in the décor is amazing. I just loved the style. Very comfortable spacious room and shower, very friendly owner, great location in the centre of old Saumur, absolutely perfect!

Small parking next to the hotel, restricted but very comfortable – need to book in advance.

There was a kit in the bathroom which included manicure set, shoe polish etc (see picture for detail), which was very thoughtful (and unusal). There was even a kettle in the cupboard with tea and coffee (without milk though). The hotel has a lift, which is very handy.

Merci Regis, enjoyed our stay in your immaculate hotel!

PS the picture of the bathroom does not do justice to the beautiful coloured décor, bewarned!

Room Tip: Any room I think would be PERFECT, it is a spotless hotel with great attention to detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTraveller848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We picked this hotel for its location in the central Loire valley. It is charming, good value and wonderfully located near the heart of the old town of Saumur. Parking has to be booked in advance and is a bit limited and a bit of a tight squeeze, but we always had someone from the hotel to help guide us in and out of tight parking spaces and help with reversing back onto the road. The room was not huge but had oodles of charm and the bathroom was more than adequate,clean & tidy. Th.e communal rooms and small terrace had a lovely atmosphere and the G&Ts were huge! We were mainly looked after by the owner, Regis who couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was included and was superb! Regis also recommended a couple of restaurants in the old town, one of which was very good but the other a little lacking. Overall excellent base for exploring the Loire.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardVUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It’s a nice little place down a small side street opposite the church and right on the edge of the old town. The owner is very pleasant and makes you feel very much at home in this place that you can tell has had some very nice and unusual personal touches done to it. The rooms were large and I suppose the décor could best be summed up as ‘old reagle’ style. If small, friendly with comfort is what you are looking for then this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitby_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We had a wondeful time at st Pierre in Saumur. Regis was a generous host. The rooms and hotel are beautifully decorated. The location is fantastic just iff the a lively square with plenty of cafes and restaurants. Regis helped park the car. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkyblb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 26 in Saumur
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.2 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 26 in Saumur
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
11.9 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
0.5 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#9 of 26 in Saumur
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Pierre

Address: 8 Haute Saint Pierre, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#5 Family Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: £78 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint-Pierre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sophisticated XVth and XVIIth century setting, this establishment situated in the same axis as the Castle, saw centuries of history and knew how to upkeep its character, style, and soul. The prestige winding within the spiral staircase, is also present in the highrise fireplaces in Tuffeau, and the massive exposed beams. Here luxury is set off serenely in a well-kept decor, textiles and fabrics of exception, attractive mosaics in the bathrooms. The Hotel Saint Pierre conjugates tradition, comfort and the latest in modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Saint-Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Pierre
Saint Pierre Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing