We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant visit”
Review of Ackerman

Ackerman
Ranked #1 of 5 Shopping in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Tourisitc visits of Ackerman's cellars in Saumur and tasting. A three-part visit at the heart of troglodyte cellars : a trip throughout history, an artistic experience and a break on the Loire river... Founded in 1811, Ackerman is the leading producer of Loire Valley fine sparkling wines. Situated in Saumur, on the banks of the Thouet river, a tributary of the Loire, at once informative and entertaining, the cellars of the House of Ackerman combine charm, heritage, and prestige. The wines of Ackerman are true to type, well-balanced and elegant. Thanks to a large selection of fine sparkling wines (Cremant de Loire, Saumur Brut) and Loire Valley still wines (Saumur-Champigny, St Nicolas de Bourgueil, Chinon, Sancerre...), you will be able to appreciate the prestige of a great brand which has seduced consumers world-wide over the past two centuries. Ackerman is bubbly, luminous and enticing. The House's still, sparkling, organic and alcohol-free wines are available at its boutique all year round. Discover Ackerman's world of wines.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I enjoyed this wine cellar tour, which we could immediately compare to Moet & Chandon in Epernay having visited there a few days earlier. Whilst much smaller, there is good and interesting information throughout - we also had the audio tour - not to mention smelling the essences, seeing a mini art exhibition and playing the games at the end. The actual tasting was informal and the staff seemed happy to allow us to taste pretty much whatever we liked. Great value for money too.

Thank TonyF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ackerman-Saumur, Responsable relations clients at Ackerman, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

We all thank you for your nice message !
We will be pleased to welcome you once again in our Caves for your next trip to France !

The Ackerman Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Ackerman
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

The caves here were amazing. Interesting information for adults and the different coloured lighting through the caves kept our two and four year olds happy. There were also ball games to play at the end and a few other interactive elements for young children. Unfortunately when we had finished the tour the staff were rather off hand with us for the tasting and left us hanging around for ages whilst they spoke with French visitors. At which point the children were bored so we left.

1  Thank 402Ellie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S D, Responsable relations clients at Ackerman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Hello and thank you for your message 402Ellie1979
We are sorry to see what happened in our caves... We are a bit surprised because our aim is to spend time with visitors before and after the tour. The wine tasting is for the adults but we usually suggest juices for the children too... Sorry for this inconveniance ! If ever you come back in the region, we will be pleased to offer you the visit of our Caves and the wine tasting.
Regards
The Ackerman Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

a great wine tour plenty of info. good arty exhibition and games to play. the tasting was the highlight & the wines very reasonable to buy.

1  Thank Lizkeith68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S D, Responsable relations clients at Ackerman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

We are glad to see that you spent a great time in our Caves and hope to see you once again.
The Ackerman team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What an enlightening experience spent walking through the caves of this wine producer. We really enjoyed the mixture of art with the story of the production methods used to produce the wine.

1  Thank korthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S D, Responsable relations clients at Ackerman, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thanks a lot for the message you left on Trip Advisor !
We are all glad to see that our track "Journey to the Center of the Bubble" has pleased to you ! The goal of it is actually to teach all about the method and wine through Art and games, so as it pleases to most of people (children, parents...)
Hope to see you soon in our Caves.
The Ackerman Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Even though I know the area really well, I have not until recently visited the caves of Ackerman. I usually go to Bouvet-Ladubay or Louis de Grenelle, but I think I may swap my allegiance. This is not necessarily down to the sparkling, but to the tour of the cave. It's always good to take visitors to one of the caves and so I thought we would give this one a go. We were surprised. The cave is full of interactive displays such as testing your sense of smell, a few games nearer the end which will keep some children happy and of course a tasting at the end. You can, if you look around into hotels/ restaurants/ tourist offices around, pick up vouchers which will give you a free tour but even without it will only set you back a few euros. The artwork and lighting show is very interesting, and during the heat of the day this is a welcome place to be as it keeps a constant 12 ish degrees all year round. Visiting again very shortly with children and I feel confident these 6 and 8 year olds will be kept entertained, apart from when we indulge in a quick wine tasting!

2  Thank Jimvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S D, Responsable relations clients at Ackerman, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We all thank you for your message and are glad that you enjoyed our "Journey to the Center of the Bubble' !
We want to make people discover and learn about wine but through artistic and playful ways !
During the wine tasting, we also have sparkling grape juice for the children so that everybody can take advantage of it. We also have some drawings for children to make them quiet during this 'parents' time !
Hoping to see you again.
The Ackerman team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ackerman also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire
 

Been to Ackerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing