We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour”
Review of Ackerman

Ackerman
Ranked #1 of 5 Shopping in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Tourisitc visits of Ackerman's cellars in Saumur and tasting. A three-part visit at the heart of troglodyte cellars : a trip throughout history, an artistic experience and a break on the Loire river... Founded in 1811, Ackerman is the leading producer of Loire Valley fine sparkling wines. Situated in Saumur, on the banks of the Thouet river, a tributary of the Loire, at once informative and entertaining, the cellars of the House of Ackerman combine charm, heritage, and prestige. The wines of Ackerman are true to type, well-balanced and elegant. Thanks to a large selection of fine sparkling wines (Cremant de Loire, Saumur Brut) and Loire Valley still wines (Saumur-Champigny, St Nicolas de Bourgueil, Chinon, Sancerre...), you will be able to appreciate the prestige of a great brand which has seduced consumers world-wide over the past two centuries. Ackerman is bubbly, luminous and enticing. The House's still, sparkling, organic and alcohol-free wines are available at its boutique all year round. Discover Ackerman's world of wines.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our young family really enjoyed the tour of the caves - tho make sure you pick up the audio guide.
The kids especially enjoyed the art and games area at the end. We really enjoyed the excellent sparkling wine that we bought afterwards ;-) IMO the best out of all the producers in the area!

2  Thank njc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ackerman-Saumur, Responsable relations clients at Ackerman, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Hello and thank you ! We are all happy to read that you all had a great time in the Ackerman cellars, either children and parents!
We all wish to see you back in our Caves !

The Ackerman Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"self guided tour"
in 8 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 16 reviews
"sparkling red"
in 4 reviews
"cave tour"
in 4 reviews
"great fun"
in 4 reviews
"demi sec"
in 2 reviews
"sales pitch"
in 2 reviews
"french visitors"
in 2 reviews
"wine making"
in 4 reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 3 reviews
"wide range"
in 2 reviews
"different languages"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"loire valley"
in 2 reviews
"ipad"
in 7 reviews
"games"
in 18 reviews
Filter

60 - 64 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

There is no guided tour, but you can have an audio guide to explain the history of the brand and the production process of the sparkling wines produced by Ackerman, while you walk through the caves.

The caves appear to be merely a "museum", actual production and storage is done in an Industry Zone close-by (as we discovered the day after).

The tasting was... not existent. When we finished the tour we wondered around in the boutique, nobody vaguely interested in us, although we were the only people there. Very disappointing.

Thank MichielRuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ackerman-Saumur, Responsable relations clients at Ackerman, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Hello and thank you for your message. We are surprised to read that you couldn’t taste our wines after the tour. Indeed, all the staff is willing to make people discovering the wines from the Loire Valley… I guess we were all busy with other tasks. Next time you come, don't hesitate to disturb us because tasting is part of the tour ! We will be pleased to offer you then a wide wine tasting, as we usually do.
Regards

The Ackerman Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

So we had to cancel our plans to go elsewhere and we had a spare afternoon. We like art. We like wine. The Ackerman visit is three euros and we only went because we were passing the door. We expected the usual, bland, informative, corporate tour followed by a chance to buy some wine.

We were right and we were wrong. There's a nice tour of the process, well made apart from a rather banal video at the start, things to smell and look at. And of course there's a shop at the end where you can buy bottles of the stuff - and at very reasonable prices (wish we had got more).

But what blew us away, and led us to be underground was the utter surprise and wonderful delight of the three art installations discovered and not, from the outside, really expected.

These installations are delightful for scale, imagination and realisation. There's a cave full of re-imagined bottles, another that is an abstract based on bubbles and the highlight, a series of caves dressed out like an undersea kingdom.

This last is modelled using recycled packaging materials and coloured light. It is awe-inspiring, drop jaw stuff. If you are a teacher and have done junk modelling you need to spend some time here just to be inspired and to see what a lot of junk and a lot of space do when they collide.

Make no mistake, this is first class stuff.

I think Ackerman should be congratulated in having the imagination to let artists let rip - they should be very pleased with the result and I hope that someday we can go back and find new and more exciting things at the Ackerman caves.

1  Thank StephenDSpicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ackerman-Saumur, Responsable relations clients at Ackerman, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hello and thanks a lot for your kind message ! We all are delighted to see that you enjoyed the time spent with us and especially the works of art. We will relay it to the artists that work hard for us ; no doubt they will be very satisfied !
Don't hesitate to come next year (and the others !) because the artist comes back at the beginning of each season to improve it and we welcome some new artists each year !
We all look forward to see you another time !

The Ackerman Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had hoped to see some wine production here but it has all moved out now,so it was disappointing.There is some art work and fantasy land stuff which just smacks of, "oh dear, we have a hole to fill, what shall we put it it and charge to see it", not my cup of tea, but tastings were good, satff friendly and of course, a full shop!

Thank kate616275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ackerman-Saumur, Responsable relations clients at Ackerman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello and thank you for you message.
We don't hide that the site people can visit is not the current production site, which is now 10 kms from Saumur. That's the reason why we can propose Art in the Caves and we work with local, professional artists who create their works of arts in situ to highlight our Caves.
We are glad that you enjoyed the wine tasting and hope to see you again !

The Ackerman team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We planned on visiting the Ackerman cave however we were given free tickets when we purchased wine at the chateau of Saumur. The tour around the cave was slightly underwhelming and not much fun for the young kids. What surprised us afterwards was the endless supply of wines (and fizz) to taste (although no fun if you're driving) and good quality plonk it is, so much so we purchased about 25 bottles.

Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ackerman-Saumur, Responsable relations clients at Ackerman, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We thank you for your message !
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the wine tasting and our wines !
Regarding the tour, we wanted it to be as complete as possible and to please to either parents and children. We are upset that you did not enjoy it entirely.

Hoping to see you back !

The Ackerman Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ackerman also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Ackerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing