We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inspiring hotel - quiet, stylish, wonderful service and amazing hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Verrieres
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An inspiring hotel - quiet, stylish, wonderful service and amazing hosts!”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We chose the Chateau de Verrieres as our base for a week's touring in the Loire - and we simply couldn't have made a better choice! The hotel is beautiful, it's in a super location, furnished and styled with an elegant eye and owned and run with impeccable care by Yolaine & Thierry. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyandGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    49
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
68
282
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I have never taken the trouble to write a hotel review, but we had such a perfect time at Chateau De Verrieres that I thought that this time I had to. The Chateau is every bit as stunning as the photos suggest. It is a short and pleasant walk from the center of Saumur, which is itself perfectly located for enjoying the region's extraordinary historic sites (and restaurants and vineyards). We stayed in a junior suite, which was stunning. It was big, sunny, comfortable, beautifully furnished....what more could you want? But the truly amazing feature of this hotel is the proprietors. You will never find a hotel run by more charming and helpful people. While not being at all intrusive, they are warm and welcoming, and happy to take the time to share their extensive knowledge of the region. When we missed our train to Paris (we were having such a good time we forgot to check the tickets) Yolaine drove us to the station and handled the negotiations with the french railways! This place is really too good to miss.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Thank you Wall Street Journal for your review of this gem in the French countryside. There are many towns and villages to stay in the Lourraine, but Saumur is ideally located in the middle of chateau country (it even has its own castle!). Chateau De Verrieres was one of the only four star accomodations I could find for our quick trip to the area, and wow, did the owners make it a high-yield 2 days. They readily suggested activities and neat little nearby villages to visit and the inside scoop on the grand chateaux. They made us reservations for dinner the first night of our arrival and each night thereafter to eat at this amazing 4 star restaurants offering local cuisine and amazing regional wines, all within in walking distance! They provide a great continental breakfast each morning.They also have decorated the hotel with period (late 19th century) pieces so you feel as though you have been invited to stay in a grand chateau. This place is not trendy but has a homey feel. We had a completely relaxing time and would have liked to have stayed for a few weeks longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memphis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We stayed here in October near end of our three months in france.
It realy was Wow Wow and Yolaine and Thierry were great host.
They have done a fantastic job renavating this lovely Chateau we felt very lucky to have found this 5 star home.We loved the stained glass window on the stairs and would walk up the lovely old staircase in stead of the lift just to see it.
Our room was amazeing did not want to go out,but we did and Saumur is a lovely town we were sorry could only stay for two days.Would be great in summer to come back and have a swim in the lovely grounds.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyOysters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2010

this chateau was on recommendation from a tour operator from Cognac. We liked it so much that we stayed an extra night ! The owners went above and beyond to make sure our plans to allow us to stay the additional night were changed perfectly. They even provided maps to return our car to Paris city-center (which was not such an easy feat) ! We were given ideas and directions as to what places to visit in Loire. They made dinner reservations for us in small and charming restaurants in town within walking distance. The Jr. suite was great and the bed was extremely comfortable.!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proandrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Staying in Chateau de Verrieres is unforgettable. It's not only a hotel but also a museum. All furnitures, decoration, displays are so ancient and original. Every corners are full of passion and memory that make us like part of the family. The kindliness of Yolain and Thiery, and the interior of the Chateau.... everything are memorable. We enjoyed the gourmet breakfast inside chateau. The dinner at a gastronomie restaurant introduced by Yolain is not expensive but very valued. It's just nearby the chateau. We really enjoyed the dinner. The wine was good. Every dishes were impressively beautiful. We stayed at a splendid triple room which is spacious and warmth. The bedding is comfortable. Yolain was so nice that she walked around and showed to us other rooms. We found each rooms are particularily designed and decorated and looks comfortable as well. Chateau's location is excellent. It just takes a round by drive to reach the beautiful scene 'Chateau saumur'. We're so regret not to stay for a longer time. Only one night is absolutely not enough to explore the beauty of the Chateau. Lastly, thanks god, thanks Yolain and Thiery. We also remember the lovely dog 'Un'.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReinieWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2010

stayed for 1 night in october weather fab samur lovely must return , chateaux in centre walking distance to everywhere, chateau owners are fabulous hosts , we arrived early and it wasnt a problem to check in, helped us with our bags and gave us an upgrade, the room bathroom was soooo big and beautiful,the lady of the house was there to answer any queries we had she even gave my husband recepies he requested , can i say anymore, you havent lived if you dont share this wonderful experience, cant wait to return , hi to all at the chateau

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#2 of 24 in Saumur
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Verrieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Verrieres

Property: Chateau de Verrieres
Address: 53 Rue d'Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Verrieres 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrières is an élégant Château, built in 1895 to host receptions and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School. It has been artfully restored, romantic atmosphere. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with a heated pool, spa and sauna. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrières. Free wi-fi and parking. All comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau de Verrieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing