We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Building, decoration, location, and SERVICE all great. Very happy to have free wifi and pool.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

We had 1 nights stay on way back to Calais. Very beautiful, great service, delicious breakfast. Close to centre of Saumur and wine tasting area.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

If you want the experience of staying in a huge French mansion, completely renovated and restored to period detail, then stay here. It is just a beautiful space, impeccably furnished and incredibly inspiring compared to so many of the mundane places available to stay. If you are like us you will just want to walk through the house and take pictures. The location is just perfect,
just two large blocks to the center
of town. We stayed in the least expensive room at $185 euro and our prior chateau room the night before in another city was $135 euro. The $185 buy-in was as least 50 per cent better of an experience, seriously. Further, the least expensive $185 euro room was huge, had AC, view overlooking the pool. The more expensive rooms we just over the top and would be a great experience for a real splurge, but not necessary to spend that money if you simply want a great room and want to enjoy the chateau. The owners were very nice, helpful and booked a dinner reservation fornus at le Gambetta, which you MUST go to - one star Michelin and the best meal we have had anywhere in the past three years. We didn't take the buffet breakfast at the chateau , we instead grabbed a baguette and some cheese and sat outside the chateau saumur and enjoyed the view so can't comment on the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meetmobetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We felt very special staying in such a wonderful Chateau, so beautifully restored and furnished, surrounded by lovely gardens, including a swimming pool. The rooms were all decorated differently and ours was superb with all the appearance, including exquisit finishings of a bygone era yet with all the mod cons of today. The owners were extremely helpful with information & reservations and were very friendly - in fact at the time their grandchildren were visiting from Paris for the school holidays and they were delightful, making us feel like guests in a friends home! Samur itself is a pretty & quaint town & many of the shops, attractions such as the Cavalry School & restaurants are in walking distance from Verrieres. We followed Thierry's recomendation and ate at L'Escargot - a must do! The only negative of our visit was that it was all too short - we would suggest you stay here at least 4 nights and enjoy the fabulous locatiion for the Loire and it's Chateaux etc. whilst being spoilt in friendly, elegant luxury!

Room Tip: I suspect ALL rooms are lovely but we stayed in a Romantique which was very large & had seperate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

A lovely town house that has been converted. Each room individually decorated and they range from a smallish double to very large suites. Very welcoming couple who run the chateau and who restored it. They do not do dinner on site but booked us a nice restuarant. Breakfast was good and there was even Marmite for British guests. Also tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Look at their website as each room is individual. We had the smallest and it was fine for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. The public area of the hotel is elegant and luxurious. The château, which dates from the middle of the nineteenth century, has been modernized for safety and convenience, but retains the sense of living in a bygone era. The location is quite central and we were able to walk to all the sights within the town. Despite the central location, the building is in a large private park/garden which is lovely to explore. Our room was spacious, well furnished and very quiet overnight.
The owners were very friendly and open and anxious to help us get the most from our visit. They discussed restaurants with us and made reservations which are usually necessary to avoid the disappointment of being turned away. They also talked with us about the sights and events in the area and provided us with ample information. The Château is their home and this gives an informal aspect to the visit that is not present in many hotels of this quality.
Overall we would recommend this hotel in the highest possible terms and would certainly like to stay there on a future visit. It makes an ideal base for exploring the central Loire valley.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retired698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We booked for two nights and ended up staying four. It is no surprise that this hotel is rated Travellers' Choice® 2011 Winner. The hands on owners completley understand attention to detail and customer service. Our stay was absolutely trouble free and nothing was too much trouble. Standards are faultless and the owners are attentive and helpful without being intrusive. We immediatley felt at home and as we decided to extend our stay had the benefit of sleeping in two different rooms both of which were of very high standards overlooking the pool and the gardens. If you are coming to the Loire Valley you should stay here. Chateau De Verriers is at the expensive end of this type of accomodation but it is worth it! We will return

Room Tip: Suite was very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roofdownandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
2.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Verrieres & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Verrieres & Spa

Address: 53 rue d Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: £160 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Verrieres & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrières is an élégant Château, built in 1895 to host receptions and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School. It has been artfully restored, romantic atmosphere. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with a heated pool, spa and sauna. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrières. Free wi-fi and parking. All comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de Verrieres & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing