We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in Room Romantique for 2 nights and it seriously wasn't long enough. The Chateau De Verrieres is such a beautiful chateau with such wonderful, warm hosts that we wished we had more time to soak up the decadence and hospitality.

Our room was very large with a glorious aspect out over the garden, and our bathroom was spacious, with a great bath. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we found in a month of French accommodation, very restful. The gardens were exquisite, the pool a relaxing oasis and the centre of town only a short walk away.

Breakfast was very good, varied, fresh and tasty and the other guests were very pleasant.

Would stay here again in a heart beat (but for longer next time).

Room Tip: All the rooms look beautiful, the Room Romantique is a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eves21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I, along with our two friends spent a wonderful weekend at this beautiful Chateau. Our expectations were all met and exceeded in every way. The bedrooms are large, comfortable and furnished in beautiful period furniture. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Thierry and Yolande could not have been more friendly and helpful, suggesting and booking restaurants, bringing drinks to us as we lounged by the pool. It was difficult to leave, but we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stunning decor and warm hospitality greets you upon arriving here. You feel like royalty wandering through the spacious rooms, tastefully decorated yet warm and inviting. The owners are so friendly and unpretentious, happily suggesting things to do, making reservations, etc.
Our room on the 2nd floor was flooded with natural light and views of the Saumur castle. Despite all the interesting places Saumur has to offer, just relaxing in our expansive room overlooking the gardens was time well spent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmac999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Thank you Thierry and Yolande for being so welcoming. We stayed for three nights at this beautiful chateau that definitely has the 'wow' factor. But it is also a cherished home. Our room was lovely, very romantic, with Toile de Jouy( hope that's right) on the walls, and a little alcove, just right for a glass of wine and a good book after a long day out. Huge bathroom with bath and shower. Breakfast had everything to offer to set you up for a day out. We didn't have much time to explore Saumur as there were other things we'd planned to see.
But we hope to visit next year and explore the town and visit the riding school. Saumur chateau is well worth a visit after dark as it is illuminated and looks stunning. We also had a very good meal at L'Aromate which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buntywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed for three nights in this beautiful Chateau.
The welcome is outstanding with advice and kind words through out your stay.

UNO the dog is just brilliant he makes you feel at home, it was just the tonic my wife needed as she is away from our dog for two weeks.

excellent breakfast and very comfortable lounges to use by the fire in the evening.

Room Tip: All the room are lovely but the Suite of the rising sun has beautiful view of Saumur Chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Wonderfull house, amazing garden and very kind and interesting people. A really nice place to spent a quiet moment. You feel like home with serenity of just doing nothing. This luxury hotel located downtown is only five minutes walking of the center of the city, you can easily walk around and discover all the treasures of Saumur.
Overall, very highly recommended for a weekend or more...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LECCE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at this wonderful hotel in August - everything from when we arrived was so well thought out by the helpful owners, who were always on hand to give tips and book restaurants. The building is beautiful as are the rooms, with original features and a lot of space. We drove and so loved the fact that there was secure parking yet we were only a five minute walk from the restaurants and bars in town. Saumur was a lovely place to visit, with plenty of great vineyards around as well as some fantastic restaurants. Overall, very highly recommended for a weekend or longer!

Room Tip: All rooms are good - we had the smallest room, which was still lovely for a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniamarrakech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 26 in Saumur
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#12 of 26 in Saumur
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
2.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 26 in Saumur
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 26 in Saumur
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Verrieres & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Verrieres & Spa

Address: 53 Rue d Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: £136 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Verrieres & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrières is an élégant Château, built in 1895 to host receptions and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School. It has been artfully restored, romantic atmosphere. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with a heated pool, spa and sauna. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrières. Free wi-fi and parking. All comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau de Verrieres & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing