We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau De Verrieres
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights, extending our stay by 2 extra ones.Everything from the warm greeting and discreet, spot on attention from the hosts to the beautiful room and generally well maintained and charming chateau itself made our stay pretty perfect. The pool was great and we used this every day.The recommended restaurants within walking distance were of a good standard and altogether we enjoyed our time in Saumur very much.

Room Tip: Worth having a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    47
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
274
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Yes, Chateau De Verrieres is expensive for the region but the quality of the building, the bedrooms, the staff and the overall experience is faultless and more than makes up for it. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here en-route to the Dordoigne and the standards have remained consistently high. It is perfectly located to explore the Loire and the owners can't do enough to ensure that your expectations are met or give you advice on the area and places to eat/visit. Even Uno the cheeky dog puts a smile on your face. The Chateau has a good sized swimming pool where you can relax and serves good fresh local food

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roofdownandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The chateau is a beautiful building set in lovely gardens and is very private, despite being in the town of Saumur. All of the public rooms are superbly decorated. The best thing about the hotel though, and the thing that sets it apart from all others we have stayed in, is the service and attitude of the hosts. They are exceptionally friendly and genuine people who will go out of their way to ensure you have a good stay, nothing is too much trouble.
Every other hotel owner should come here to learn how to run a hotel properly.
Staying here is a privilege and better than any hotel we've been to, because it's like no other hotel we've been to.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verrieres, Propriétaire at Chateau De Verrieres, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you very much for your very nice review. It is very motivating for us to read such nice comments.
you were the perfect guests as well as every hotel wishes to welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, NJ
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at this chateau and found the property to be quite nice and very well located for either walking into town or for touring the area. I struggled with an excellent rating on this review a bit since as lovely as the property is, it is quite pricey for the overall experience. For instance, breakfast at 18 euro which is essentially bread, cereals and fruit and extra for eggs is high compared to other places we stayed in France. The other issue I had is that I would have preferred to have breakfast outside since it was so lovely, but there are no tables set up for this.

Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the back garden. The room was quite large and the bathroom nice with a separate tub and shower (I hate it when I have to get in the tub to shower). The room itself was well decorated and attractive. If the weather is hot, they have an "air cooler" which is not the same as a AC. but does reduce the temp a bit. The downstairs rooms were very interesting, but in great weather, no reason to stay inside. Pool and grounds were very nice.

Yolaine and Thierry are excellent hosts and took great care of us while we were there. My husband had a medical problem and they were invaluable in assisting us and resolving quickly so it did not impact our trip.

Despite my minor negative comments above, we would stay here again. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: In hot weather, I would request a room in the front of the house as the ones in the back have sun wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I recently completed a four night stay at the Chateau de Verrieres with my wife and daughter. The Chateau is just on the edge of Saumur, which made it very easy to drive to, but also very convenient to walk into town for dinner. The Chateau itself is very nice and we found Yolaine and Thierry to be great hosts, even down to taking time to recommend places to visit on the next leg of our holiday. The actual room we stayed in was really nice, including a proper bed for my daughter unlike the camp beds you get in a number of hotels. Breakfast was probably on the pricey side, but did include baskets of fresh pastries, good quality juice and coffee so overall it was probably reasonable. There is also a nice heated pool, which was extremely nice after a day site seeing. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the hotel if staying in the area,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeiiGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

There are a number of points which are not intended to be insulting the the owners but just as we found the property:

I. this is called a chateau but is really a large house in town in between several very large buildings. There are thousands of actual l chateaus in this part of the world which are very large and in acres and acres of grounds.

ii. On arrival, we were shown to our room and given a list of 'don'ts' for instance, don't open the curtains because of the sun, don't open the windows because of insects,don't leave the light's on if you do open the window at night as it will attract insects. Even more 'don'ts' were listed in their booklet for instance don't 'under any circumstances' eat in the bedrooms, don't walk into the hotel from the pool with wet feet due to the lovely flooring,

iii. Pool towels had to be collected from the reception, which is ridiculous in a supposed luxury residence.

iv. Breakfast was to be taken in the cellar/basement, out of the way of the lovely living areas.

v. Our room which should have cost 260 euros (we paid 220 euros but were given an upgrade) had a white chair which had a piece of fabric on the seat to cover black stains all over it, plus there was a chipped mug in the room for the coffee.

vi. There is an enormous pit of black water covered with green slime behind the trees in their back garden. This is EXTREMELY DANGEROUS FOR CHILDREN and certainly should have been pointed out in their booklet or in their list of 'don'ts'.

We were charged 16/17 euros each for continental breakfast, anything cooked was another 8 euros each. We were charged 2 euros for a tiny bottle of water.

All the other chateaux gave the water free.

We felt as if the owners were wanting the money for the accommodation, but that all the guests were an inconvenience and not really welcomed in the main body of the house.

The price we paid which was 274 euros for a second floor bedroom, breakfast, two cups of coffee and two bottles of water was outrageously expensive when one can stay at the most amazing Michelin starred chateaux such as Noirieux for similar and a ton of others which are much more beautiful and much much cheaper. If the owners are so concerned regarding their possessions, then they should not be letting out these rooms. A beautiful four star full service hotel can be booked in France for this price without all the onerous do's and don'ts.

Room Tip: First floor rooms might be better bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marsha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verrieres, Propriétaire at Chateau De Verrieres, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
What an inspection report !

1- You are right, there are hundreds of chateaux (I would even quote thousands) which are surrounded with acres and acres of grounds, but...how many are located, with four private acres around, in the historic centre of a town ?
2- You complain about the "don'ts" : they are expressed to guarantee your comfort and the environment for the quality of your stay.
3- "The pool towels can be collected from the reception : how ridiculous...!" But think about it: in a 10 bedroom privately run hotel, you will not find dozens of staff standing in the corners, starring at the guests...where can you find someone permanently available to fulfil the guests' requests? In the reception office ! Where is the problem ? Would you prefer to collect your towels in the breakfast room ?
4- The breakfast room might be the nicest room of the chateau : a lovely white stone vaulted room, receiving fully the morning sun, never cold in the Winter, always cool in the Summer, accessible by the elevator and with a direct access to the park...
5- We sincerely regret to have upgraded you.
6- the park, which is a listed park "a l'anglaise", has of course, a pond, the most romantic
part of it. That pond is one foot deep and usually dry in Summer.

Most of the people are able to appreciate the quality of our hotels and chateaux and our efforts to provide the most enjoyable environment and personalised attention for our guests. There is a price to pay for quality. But, obviously, by reading through the reports you wrote on your other stays, so few of them have had the chance to suit you! There are numerous cheaper and standard places, probably easier to inspect and to be less systematically criticised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the Chateau de Verrieres in Saumur for the second time in June 2013, and it was as beautiful as last year. Yolaine and Thierry are the perfect hosts to their chateau and their welcome is exceptional. We stayed in a Junior Suite for two nights which was a lovely quiet haven after a very busy fortnight touring the Loire Valley. The breakfasts are a bit expensive but well worth the cost, in my opinion, with lots of lovely pastries, croissants, nice French bread and gorgeous home made conserves not to mention proper French coffee. As we were arriving on a Sunday night, I had E Mailed Yolaine and Thierry to book us into L'Escargot which is a very nice restaurant very near to the Chateau and open on a Sunday night, this had been booked for us which was very helpful. We sat out in the lovely, well cared for gardens one afternoon which was very peaceful. This is an unique place to stay with some wonderful antiques and beautiful furniture.

Room Tip: A junior suite is well worth the extra Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#3 of 24 in Saumur
366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
258 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De Verrieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Verrieres

Property: Chateau De Verrieres
Address: 53 rue d Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau De Verrieres 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrières is an élégant Château, built in 1895 to host receptions and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School. It has been artfully restored. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with a heated pool. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrières. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau De Verrieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing