We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The heart of the Loire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau De Verrieres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau De Verrieres
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The heart of the Loire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We made a last-minute travel change, and decided to stay in Saumur for a night. (The Loire Valley proved to be larger than we imagined, and we were driving too much.)

Chateau De Verrieres was the perfect property, well-situated near the town center, but wrapped in it's own walls and garden that made it feel secluded. The owners have exquisite taste that's reflected in the house, it's decor and the artwork. They were also generous with their time, providing suggestions and advice on the area. The best of those suggestions was an unassuming restaurant right around the corner "L'Escargot". It was one of the best meals we had in France.

I wish we could have stayed longer. This is a charming place. It's also worth noting that the website has links to other Chateaus owned by their family. We didn't see any of those, but I imagine they must be nice as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    42
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
265
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was a nice place to stay at. With nice décor, grounds, settings, nicely decorated with old antiques, lovely old wood smell. It was nice and hot when I was there and there being a swimming pool was a fabulous bonus. Not that far from the centre of town (some have complained that it is far out of town but it is just a 10/15 minute walk, nothing strenuous). The only thing to state, is that like other reviewers have mentioned, it is on the expensive side for what you are receiving. A gin and tonic was 8 euros - quite high, more like London prices!! I forwent the breakfast due to the price so I can't comment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha_W_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in the suite here and had a lovely stay. The hosts were a delight. Location very good. All of our needs were met. The suite is large and modern with a Japanese theme-a pleasant change. Bright sunny room with loads of windows and a great view of the Samur Châteaux. Easy walk to town center where there are many restaurants and cafes. Easy access in and out of Samur and environs. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband had the good fortune to stay at Chateau de Verrieres just before we met some 7 years ago. He has always raved about how wonderful it was and how much he wanted us to visit together. We had that chance recently, and appropriately stayed in the Romantique room. It was indeed wonderful in every way - and after 2 nights, I found it difficult to leave! Thierry and Yolaine have restored this magnificent building, along with the beautiful grounds in which it sits, with much love and care. They are the most gracious hosts and could not be more welcoming (and Uno, the dog, is my new best friend). We fully endorse all the other 5***** reviews and can only say that Chateau de Verrieres should be at the top of the list for accommodation in the Saumur region.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank modenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Had two excellent nights in this beautiful house. We agree with other reviews. Rooms are quite exceptional and complete in terms of facilities and comfort if, perhaps, a little overpriced. Breakfast did not match up, too basic with many missing items, eg: fruit, ham, cheese, yoghurt. Also, what is it that requires an additional 17 Euro pp charge for 'continental' breakfast plus a further charge for a cooked breakfast? The room charge at 220+ Euros per night is easily enough to include breakfast of any dimension. Having had breakfast on our first morning we chose to miss it on the second. This should not have been a consideration for this standard of establishment. Young staff left in charge were very willing and helpful, pleasant and polite, if somewhat inexperienced for accommodation of this standard.

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful, everyone should be pleased with whatever room is available. On our experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our first time in Saumur and a lovely experience it was too. Others have described the house and grounds but we would just add how wonderfully calm we found it to be. We needed to unwind and not take too long about it as we could only manage a four day break so the tranquil aspect and quiet offered by the house and its environs was perfect. Our room was the General's room on the first floor overlooking the grounds at the back of the house. It is a lovely room with grand bay window and super big bed upon which you can recline whilst enjoying a view of the huge trees bordering the property.
Again a lot has been written about the owners of the chateau and it cannot be easy for them to achieve that perfect balance of being there when advice is sought yet being such a discrete presence that one has the freedom to explore the house and garden at will. From this point of view one would imagine the chateau being an ideal honeymoon retreat and even though we actually clocked up twenty-seven years of marriage during our stay we still appreciated the privacy afforded by our hosts.
Should we visit Saumur again, alone or with friends, the Chateau de Verrieres would most certainly be our choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor Co. Down
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We love Saumur,we love visiting here and we love CHATEAU VERRIERES even more. First found this beautiful restful convenient hotel in 2009, it is now without doubt our favourite destination when considering a short break in France. A very large part of its charm eminates from the delightful owners Yolaine de Valbray-Auger and husband Thierry not to mention the family pet "UNO" the dog. He seems to have adopted me as his next best friend, don't mind, as he is adorable!
Everything that needs to be said about Chateau Verrieres has been more than covered by other reviewers so I will not repeat the detail. Simply to say do not hesitate to book here if visiting Saumur and district,
On our most recent visit we found everything just as good as ever, weather perfect, Yolaine and Thierry, what more can one say! they seem to be on call 24hrs, making sure their guests have everything they need. We ate in some wonderful restaurants personally recommended by mine hosts. The best, still L'Escargot just around the corner from the hotel. The big problem facing recommendations is the fact so many of the really good restaurants close on Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays this can make choices very difficult. However on this trip we sampled some new eateries and were not disappointed with any.
Already planning our next visit to Saumur and Chateau Verrieres.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#4 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
3.4 mi away
Domaine de Presle
Domaine de Presle
#15 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Adagio
BEST WESTERN Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De Verrieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Verrieres

Property: Chateau De Verrieres
Address: 53 rue d Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau De Verrieres 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrieres is an elegant chateau, built in 1895 to host balls and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School.It has been artfully restored. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with an heated pool. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrieres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chateau De Verrieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing