We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau De Verrieres
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed at the Chateau for one night on our way to our main holiday destination. What a find! We were warmly welcomed by Thierry and Yolande (and Uno their dog!), and then shown to our rooms. The rooms are stunning - beautifully decorated, although the minibar and the TV look a little out of place in such a period property.
We'd asked for a recommendation for dinner that night and we were not disappointed. L'Alchemiste is a short walk away, and although from the outside looks unassuming, with a rather short menu, the food was devine and not overly priced.
We retired to the Chateau after dinner, where Thierry served us an excellent local wine, and Yolande proudly showed us the photographs of her daughter's wedding!
Breakfast was relaxed, and Uno visited each table in turn (no doubt wanting to sample the excellent croissants!).
We wanted to visit Saumur that morning, and Thierry and Yolande happily let us leave the car at the Chateau until we had been shopping - its the little things like this that really make a difference.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone, and hope to return again soon.

  • Liked — The hosts who made us feel so welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    42
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
266
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton-Le-Fylde, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

What a gem! This hotel is superb - large rooms with traditional setting in walking distance of the centre of saumur. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fine-wines-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

We stayed in Chateau de Verrieres for a couple of days during May 2008.
Chateau: Lovely. When you enter the gates, you feel at home. It is located near the city center, but it is extremely quiet (perfect combination!)
Gardens: Beautiful. We had a wonderful view of the park from our room.
Parking: Free!!
Room: It was decorated in great taste. It was absolutely clean and everything seemed to be carefully planned and cared for. The only problem we faced was a bit of humidity during night, but then it is an old building.
Breakfast: Very good. The service was also excellent.
Drawbacks: only one: the lack of keys. Maybe it is because they need you to feel at home. On the other hand, it is a stress factor for both the hosts (who needed to be at the entrance almost all the time and looked really tired) and you, because you cant trust the hosts 100%, but you don't know the other guests...Fortunately, they have a safe in each room, so that you can put some valuables. You will not face any problem whatsoever, but you need to know this before you go. You can also lock the room when you are inside.
Service: I left the best part in the end. Excellent. The hosts are amazing, very hospitable and they love what they do. It is very important to stay with people that treat you like their guests and not as clients. They also recommended some excellent restaurants. We had a wonderful time and we surely recommend this Chateau....

  • Liked — Hospitality of the owners, location near the city center
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky24_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

My wife and I stayed at Chateau de Verrieres for three nights in March. From welcome to departure, our experience of "la vie chateau" was most gracious and comfortable. Yolaine's true-to-epoch restoration of the chateau's interior is as remarkable as is her kindness. Both husband and wife are most considerate hosts. The room I had reserved many months before was near some exterior renovation, so Thierry and Yolaine kindly offered us another available room so we would have no distubance whatsoever. Both rooms were beautifully appointed and comfortable, and we were truly impressed by their concern.
As noted in other reviews, Thierry's restaurant recommendations were excellent. Gambetta provided a most memorable dining experience in both presentation and cuisine, one I will savor until I return. Just as I will savor the exceptional hospitality at the chateau and look forward to another, longer visit. In my view, Thierry and Yolaine have created a masterpiece of accommodation at Verrieres.

  • Liked — Beautiful atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ravenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2008

This property is sensational. The rooms were amazing - very large with high ceilings. The room we had was very large and had a sperate bathroom which was equally large.

Unfortunately when we arrived there was a mix up with our acommodation. We had booked two months in advance for two rooms and had travelled from Australia. The man who owns the property first tried to tell us that we had the booking wrong but after we produced our paperwork conceded that infact it was his mistake. Unfortunaltey again for us, the hotel was fully booked and rather then contact someone else who was checking in the next day and tell them they had to find alternative acommodation (he said he couldn't do that to someone, but at the same time had no troubles doing it to us) our friends had to find somewhere else to stay (we were travelling as two groups of couples). Luckily our friends were able to get another room in the same town (it is only a small town and there was an event on) but this man was terribly rude and the whole ordeal was very upsetting. His standard line was 'I have said sorry once, i am not apologising again, there is nothing more i can do'. I really have never been faced with such pathetic hospitality.

On return of the lady of the house things were turned around very quickly, she gave us a completmentry bottle of wine and cheese while we were sitting in the back garden desperately trying to find alternative acommodation and she also help by calling a friend who owned a hotel in town.

It was a pity our friends had to stay elsewhere as the purpose of the holiday was to spend time together and we also felt bad as the chateau was a lot nicer then where they were staying!

Breakfast was very good and the gardens surrounding the property are very peaceful. it is only a short stroll into town. I can not fault the property in any way, just the service from one of the owners.

  • Liked — The rooms were huge!
  • Disliked — The owner's hospitality was pathetic
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank sydneysider2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2008

From beginning to end we had a fantastic stay at this lovely French Chateau.

From first contact when booking our holiday Yolaine was extremely helping in recommending restaurants for us to visit during our stay.

We had a problem on arrival in that our boat had been delayed by several hours thus making our arrival time past midnight but this was not a problem to our hosts they both waited up for us and did not make us feel uncomfortable at all.

We stayed in the De Charme Room which was very pretty and well furnished. The whole Chateau is spotless and very well furnished, it has been lovingly restored.

The breakfasts were typically French with the added touch of fresh fruit and on Easter Sunday an Easter egg was left for each guest on their breakfast plate, again another nice touch.

Yolaine and Thierry booked 3 resaurants for us during our stay, the first was "L'alchimiste" a short walk from the hotel, well worth a visit, excellent food. The second was "La Gambetta" which was a special meal for our anniversary and this was stunning, again only a short walk from the Chateau, very untraditional but so much food, the service was excellent and our final night we went to "L'Esgargot", another excellent meal. Be warned that these restaurants are not large and it is recommended that these are booked prior to your holiday.

We did sight seeing to Chenonceau and Loches during our weekend which are both worth visiting, Saumur is also worth looking around albeit it is a shame that the Chateau is not open at present.

In all my time staying in France this was the most friendly accommodation I have ever stayed in nothing was too much trouble and you are made to feel very welcome. I know we will go back one day - we certainly did not want to leave.

Keep up the good work Yolaine & Thierry you certainly know what you are doing.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank PenelJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2007

We stayed here for one night at the start of our trip to France and it was the perfect beginning to our holiday. The owners were charming and welcoming (and Uno the dog is a great ambassador for the chateau!), we felt relaxed from the minute we arrived. The chateau itself is stunning and our small but well appointed room was lovely. Within 20 minutes of arrival we were sipping wine by the pool soaking up the late afternoon sunshine and planning our evening in beautiful Saumur, a town we have visited on many occasions but never tire of. I can thoroughly recommend this place and hope to return one day.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank cheshiretabbycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#3 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Adagio
BEST WESTERN Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.4 mi away
Domaine de Presle
Domaine de Presle
#15 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De Verrieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Verrieres

Property: Chateau De Verrieres
Address: 53 rue d Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau De Verrieres 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrières is an élégant Château, built in 1895 to host receptions and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School. It has been artfully restored. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with a heated pool. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrières. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau De Verrieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing