We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

It is rare that you can barely believe that you are walking into a hotel, but this is one such place. It looks like a proper chateau, in a secluded location just out of the town centre, but within easy walking distance of all amenities. It is like being taken back to the nineteenth century and staying in a French gentleman's residence. The reception rooms are vast and beautifully furnished in period style, and the bedrooms are similar, with acres of space, large bathroom and all facilities. There is no evening meal, but the couple who run the hotel are kindness itself and can book any one of the many restaurants in Saumur for you, all of which are within walking distance. Breakfast is in a unique vaulted cellar, and is quite an experience. Unequivocally recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JDMcFarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was the last hotel of our 2 week trip and it was worth waiting for. Our hosts were so attentive and helpful to our every request, including making wine tour reservations for us. The grounds are phenomenal and everything is well preserved.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights. The welcome by the owners and staff was warm, friendly and sincere. We had a corner room on the first floor which was all one might have imagined for such a house. The bathroom offered splendid views of the fairytale Chateau Saumur.
The absence of locks did not concern us for a moment. The house is beautifully furnished in style of the belle epoque. Breakfast is taken in a stunning converted cellar but at 17 euros is a little expensive.

If we were in the area we would not hesitate to stay there again.

For dinner try Le Montagnole.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

From the moment you arrive at the gates and spy the chateau behind the trees you know you are going to experience something special. The personal welcome by the owners was warm and friendly and the reception rooms were exquisite with stunning period pieces and wonderful paintings. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom offered every amenity. The view of the large castle on the hill was amazing and kept changing as the sun went down. You feel very secure and we found all the staff helpful and charming. The breakfast was beautifully laid out and there was plenty of everything.
I had booked dinner at L'Escargot which was a great choice and walking distance from the chateau.
Would definitely return

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw had great charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CarolClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in July and we have not stayed anywhere better in France in the many years that we have been going there. From the start the owners were friendly, unobstrusive, elegant and welcoming. We stayed in Bel Ami on the top floor on the road side. It was quiet and comfortable and all that we needed was supplied. We did not mind in the least that there were no locks on the doors and the staff were welcome to enter and tidy any time they liked!

The cost of breakfast was included in the price of our room, so not really aware of the 17 euros charge. However, I do like some protein for breakfast and therefore had a couple of boiled eggs on a few mornings. We were not aware that we would have to pay 5 euros for these until we came to pay the bill. However, it was so lovely there, we were not going to let it spoil anything. We would certainly return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July. Excellent accommodation in this charming 4 star establishment. I'd describe it as a beautiful estate surrounded a large garden and a private pool. You should expect bed and breakfast style service rather than a hotel, in that they don't have a bar or cafe on site or room service on offer. They do, however, have a lovely area to have a drink or eat your own food, a fridge is provided in the rooms and there are some nibbles on offer when using the pool during the day. We did found it unusual that there are no locks on the room doors. We understood that there was a safe in the room for our valuables and the Chateau was well secured but we felt a little uncomfortable with this, as there were other guests and people in the Chateau. The reason for this we were given was that 'we were all friends here', which was also a bit vague. One thing we did notice though, was that more than twice a day our room had been visited by staff to tidy things up - normally you might expect your room to be cleaned once a day, but this was more than that. They would come in during the day to open windows (as there was no air conditioning) to air the room, tidy our towels away and even fold the toilet paper decoratively! We thought this was a little far fetched and I was a little uncomfortable with the fact that my clothing had been tidied away on one occasion. It just felt a bit intrusive and justified our frustration with not being able to lock our room door. The only other negative was the breakfast being priced so high, and then even extra for anything cooked. Even for a boiled egg that doesn't take that much time to prepare or cost much we felt it was still overpriced, compared to all the 6 hotels we stayed in on our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wec stayed here for three nights in July 2014. The chateau stands in its own grounds behind a wall with electric gates. (posh) There are plenty of parking spaces. The hotel only has 10 rooms, so you are sure to feel special. We had a second floor room at the front. This was very spacious with a double and a further bed, dressing area, wardrobes with safe. Tea and coffee making facilities and a large bathroom with double sinks, shower, bath and hair drier.
The period features are plentiful throughot the house. The owners are friendly as are the staff.
The costs are quite high - we paid 260 euros a night for the room with continental breakfast at another 17 euros. We were close to the main road but road noise wasn't that bad. We managed to get some good nights sleep in. The standard continental breakfast did not come with meats, cheeses or eggs. (this was another 5 euros per person per day - complete) The walk into Saumur was around 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KP999_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
2.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Verrieres & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Verrieres & Spa

Address: 53 rue d Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: £160 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Verrieres & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrières is an élégant Château, built in 1895 to host receptions and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School. It has been artfully restored, romantic atmosphere. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with a heated pool, spa and sauna. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrières. Free wi-fi and parking. All comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de Verrieres & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing