We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau De Verrieres
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical experience”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We received a wonderful welcome from the most friendly, charming and helpful of hosts. Their hotel is set in secluded, private grounds just an easy 10 minute walk from the town centre. The decor and ambience are classical and tastefully executed to the highest standard. Altogether, we found it a magical experience, thoroughly deserving of number 1 status.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bargra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    44
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
66
267
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We stayed at this incredible establishment in late March. It is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The owners speak perfect English and will do anything to make your stay perfect. All the rooms are spacious and are decorated to the max. Fabric on the walls, beautiful antiques, modern bathrooms, etc. The grounds are beautiful and well tended. I do not know what anyone could want that this place does not provide. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when in this area.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_McLean_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

This 19th century mansion renovated by the owners into a small hotel was one of the highlights of our trip through the Loire Valley. The original style was fully preserved through the renovation so the hotel is absolutely beatiful. The owners instantly made us feel welcome and provided the personal touch that you won't find at larger hotels. We were upgraded to a large suite on the 2nd floor with a beautiful canopy bed, another comfortable bed for our teenage daughter, and two bathroms. We got a tour of the other rooms that were not occupied, all furnished and finished differently so each stay would be unique. There is also a park behind the house, very nice for a short walk.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VasyaStamford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

This hotel was amazing. My girlfriend bought me a stay here for my birthday and it is easily the best hotel I've ever stayed in. WE had a choice of room and both were incredible. The room we chose was enormous and had immactuale decor and fittings. There was a separate shower room and bathroom and both were very opulent. Shame there was no cooked breakfast and you had to pay for the continental breakfast, although it was very nice. There was a lovely big garden you could walk around a friendly dog called Uno!

  • Liked — Room decor
  • Disliked — No cooked breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fieldsendchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

We wanted to spend a bit more money and get a great, romantic, accommodation- we were not disappointed!

We stayed in room 314 - which was 2nd floor back left room. It was lovely - had a great bathtub and a view of the castle.

Our host and hostess were very nice to speak with. I speak a bit of French and they spoke right along with me- when my husband was around we switched back to English. I was impressed with the way they encouraged me to speak in French.

They recommended a FANTASTIC restaurant down the block - within walking distance called L"alchimiste. The food was perfect and the price was low, low, low! We really recommend it.

Have fun!

  • Liked — The building, the lobby, the whole vibe of the thing!
  • Disliked — careful pulling into the front gate- its narrow!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blablaOrangeCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our way back from our holiday in southern France. This is a lovely hotel just a few minutes walk from the centre of Saumur. The rooms are simply stunning - very large & beautifully decorated, very comfortable bed with fine linens. The bathrooms are also huge - ours had a view of the Chateau de Saumur! There are good quality toiletries and thick, fluffy towels & robes. An excellent breakfast is served in the original kitchen of the chateau.

The hotel is also well-placed for visits to the chateax along the Loire and for visits to wineries. The secure free parking on site is a great advantage.

  • Liked — Elegant bedrooms and guest areas
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed at the Chateau for one night on our way to our main holiday destination. What a find! We were warmly welcomed by Thierry and Yolande (and Uno their dog!), and then shown to our rooms. The rooms are stunning - beautifully decorated, although the minibar and the TV look a little out of place in such a period property.
We'd asked for a recommendation for dinner that night and we were not disappointed. L'Alchemiste is a short walk away, and although from the outside looks unassuming, with a rather short menu, the food was devine and not overly priced.
We retired to the Chateau after dinner, where Thierry served us an excellent local wine, and Yolande proudly showed us the photographs of her daughter's wedding!
Breakfast was relaxed, and Uno visited each table in turn (no doubt wanting to sample the excellent croissants!).
We wanted to visit Saumur that morning, and Thierry and Yolande happily let us leave the car at the Chateau until we had been shopping - its the little things like this that really make a difference.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone, and hope to return again soon.

  • Liked — The hosts who made us feel so welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#3 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.4 mi away
Domaine de Presle
Domaine de Presle
#15 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De Verrieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Verrieres

Property: Chateau De Verrieres
Address: 53 rue d Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau De Verrieres 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrières is an élégant Château, built in 1895 to host receptions and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School. It has been artfully restored. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with a heated pool. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrières. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau De Verrieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing