We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can I say…………..the hotel is unbelievable. If I owned it I would not w”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We stayed at Chateau de Verrieres for 2 nights in July 2007 and had a fabulous experience. All the previous reviews on this place are correct. This place is seriously grand and elegant, and you feel that you are living with a French aristocratic family. It’s the most opulent hotel I have stayed in in France. It has been recently re-furbished to a very high standard in true château style. The hotel sits in beautiful grounds and you would not believe you are in the centre of a town. It is well located just on the outskirts of the town centre and within easy walking distance. As you enter the hotel you see a beautiful grand staircase in front of you and a sumptuous lounge and dining room either side of the staircase. Check in was very easy and you are made very welcome by the hosts who show you to your room. We stayed in Room XVIII on the second floor. The hotel has a lift so there is no lugging of your cases up the grand staircase. Although you can lock yourself in your room at night, there is no key to your room. The hosts want you to feel you are ’family’ and say that there are no need for keys at this hotel. The bathroom was spacious and beautiful, and supplied with big, thick, white towels. This was the sort of place that, when you leave, you would not take any unused toiletries as you feel you would be taking it from a member of your family. Our room was beautiful, well equipped with lovely big bed, coffee/tea making facilities, safe, phone, tv and mini-bar. It was very roomy, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast is taken in a light airy basement room. We did not take dinner at the hotel. Parking in the grounds is very secure with electronic gates. It was lovely to sit out or walk around the beautiful gardens.
While visiting Samur, you must have dinner in Auberge Saint Pierre, in the centre of town. We visited here on both nights. The place has great character and good atmosphere, the staff are very friendly and hospitable, the food is very good, beautifully presented and very good value. Try the briochette of magret du canard or the roast veal. They have some lovely desserts and a good selection of cocktails, They also have a good selection of local wines. You must try their very unusual walnut wine. They suggest it as an aperitif but I think it makes a great dessert wine, especially with their walnut ice cream dessert..

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2007

This place has set the standard for us - the chateau is simply beautiful (not to mention secured and quiet). The decoration looks so casually thrown together but on closer inspection, a lot of thought has been put into it. The fact that both Thiery and Yolaine take a lot of pride in the chateau is obvious and who can blame them? Stay in one of the bigger rooms for a night and I bet you that you would want to run home and redecorate your house.

One of the things that really distinguishes this chateau from other similar hotels is the fact that it does not feel like a hotel. You feel as though you are staying with a family friend and you have the freedom to come and go and roam around the garden as you please. The ambience is cosy and very relaxed.

To top it off, you could not ask for better hosts. They are very friendly and extremely generous with their time.

Vivien and Michael

Stayed: July 2007
Thank VSSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

We arrived at the Chateau De Verrieres after spending three nights in Amboise at the Chateau des Ormeaux. We were greeted at the gates by the owner Thierry. He took us into his wonderful chateau which is beautifully decorated in an 19th century style.

Our bedroom was on the 2nd floor reached by lift, the hotel has been made accessible for wheelchair users I believe. The room was very impressive, a large double bed, built in wardrobes, chest of drawers and tv (french only) and was beautifully decorated in a traditional 18th century style. The bathroom was also spacious with a large shower and separate bath.

The hotel is situated only a 10 min walk from the centre of Saumur, we dined in Saumur each evening, there is plenty of choice particulary around the Place St. Pierre area. Don't miss out on the wine from the caves along the road leading to St. Hilarie - St. Florent. We went to Langlois-Chateux.

We ate breakfast in the hotel each day which was good, cereal, croissant, yogurt, fruit etc. but there was an additional charge of E12 per person. As we were already paying E180 a night for the room this seemed a little excessive.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank boozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2007

We stayed for one night and now fondly remember staying at the chateau as one of the best nights of the holiday. Our room was elegantly decorated with a simple blend of contemporary and antique style, with a massive bathroom. The owner's restaurant suggestion was spot on - L'escargot, a stunning meal at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was served in a simple yet beautiful room which we had all to ourselves by chance!

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank NikkiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2007

We found the Chateau on the internet, it turned out to be one of the most wonderfull days and nights of our trip! The Chateau has been beautifully decorated and the owners were so warm and inviting, it was like staying with friends. It's a short walk into the center of Saumur, and the people we ran into were very nice and friendly. We ate at a great Brasserie called Le Maupassant that had a very friendly staff and great food.
The price was very reasonable for staying in the beautifully appointed rooms and the great bathrooms. We will definitely stay there the next time we are in the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Eur2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

This is Chateau Perfection! This property is IMMACULATE. Not just clean and nice but something out of "Vogue Living"!!! Do not bother staying anywhere else in Saumur or even the Loire Valley!!! The only problem is leaving and finding that your subsequent accommodation will never be as good as this unless you pay double the price!

The Owners, Yolaine & Thierry, are amazing in their hospitality, knowledge of the surrounds and attentiveness to detail. The rooms are stunning, including the bathrooms - and I should know as I ws shown ALL of the rooms - even the smaller ones - all stunningly tasteful. Their love for the property and what they do is evident.

We are planning to change parts of our holiday to return to this piece of french paradise. There are also 2 of Yolaine's brothers who also have stunning chateaux - see their website for the links - which we're planning to try.

Da Vinci's house (Clos de Luce), the Chateau d'Amboise nearby, dinner at Saumur;s "La Gambetta" as well as accommodation at Chateau Verrieres totalled a perfect experience in the Loire Valley. Beg, borrow or steal to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PennyKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2007

How nice to find such a beautifully restored chateau in a quiet area so near to the town centre. Our room was immaculate with views of both the gardens and of the Chateau of Saumur.
Nothing was too much trouble. Our hosts decided that the weather was unseasonably warm, and as our room had so many windows, it would benefit from air-conditioning. So a portable aircon unit was discreetly set up in our absence.
Yolaine and Thierry are very sociable people and excellent hosts, and it was a shame that they could only accommodate us for one night on this occasion...............however that gives us an excuse to return, which we shall do.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank two trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 26 in Saumur
418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 26 in Saumur
227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
2.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 26 in Saumur
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 26 in Saumur
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Verrieres & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Verrieres & Spa

Address: 53 Rue d Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: £139 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Verrieres & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrières is an élégant Château, built in 1895 to host receptions and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School. It has been artfully restored, romantic atmosphere. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with a heated pool, spa and sauna. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrières. Free wi-fi and parking. All comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Verrieres & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing