We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is a great stopover when travelling from further South towards the ferry ports to the UK. We stayed here in July on the way to our holiday and again in August on our return, in fact I am writing the review from our lovely room and we are catching the ferry from Calais tomorrow.
You can find out most things about it from the website and the owners reply quickly to emails (even in broken French). We booked the Chardonnay family room both times and arrived about 6 on the first stop it was our first day in France and the children played in the huge garden on the trampoline, with the badminton and with the table tennis with chickens, sheep and geese plus a couple of lively kittens. We loved the honest fridge where you can pick up a great bottle of chilled Saumur (fizzy dry white that I really like) for 10 euros and soft drinks for the kids - you just sign against your room and pay in the morning. There is also a kitchen ( although the Chardonnay has one anyway). Anyway, as I say on the first stop we went into the local town (a ten minute walk) and ate at the only local restaurant (its fine and quite reasonable - we had mussels and the kids menu was good) as there is no restaurant at the hotel. This time we have cooked pasta in the mini kitchen that comes with the room partly because we wanted just to chill out and enjoy the surroundings which are great. Last time we really enjoyed breakfast eaten inside a wine barrel - as odd as it sounds. The breakfast was really good croissant, jams, fresh bread, fresh juice and coffee etc. Plenty of other bits (fresh melon, fruit, cheese yoghurts)as well.
Anyhow for all four of us including breakfast it was £100 and for children who are car sick its a great physical break and the freedom is really good the owners are non-obtrusive, helpful and the surroundings are really lovely. Highly recommended - the Chardonnay room with a double bed and 2 singles separated by a curtain with a kitchen is great.

Room Tip: Chardonnay if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laplandbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel comes up under a search for Saumur but is a good 20min drive away.
It is a recent conversion from a vineyard and has been completed to a very high standard.The rooms are furnished in a fusion of contemporary/country style. We stayed for two nights and slept very well. The host is very enthusiastic and helpful and is rightfully proud of the accommodation he has created.Breakfasts were of good quality with the usual selection of breads, yoghurt's, meat ,cheeses cereals etc. The village has minimal amenities(we found one bistro,a bar that was closed and a small supermarket that was reasonably stocked) but the hotel does have a full kitchen if you fancy doing some self catering rather than travelling to a restaurant. If the village followed the hoteliers lead it could easily become a very pleasant tourist destination. Having said that, the hotel is well located for visiting local Chateaux,Saumur and the surrounding area (just don't expect it to be in walking distance). We would use this hotel again.
Don & Jacqui Nightingale

Room Tip: Don't think any of the rooms will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nightinga3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We were travelling from London to the Lot- de Garonne region and wanted to berak up the journey. After extensive research on Tripadvisor we chose Le Chai de la Paleine and booked the Chardonnay room our 4 year old twins my wife and I as suggested by Phillipe when we 1st booked.

We received a very warm welcome on arrival and the room was perfect for our needs. The children really enjoyed playing in the wonderful grounds, the sandpit and trampoline were the favourites, and especially liked the opportunity to eat cherries directly from the tree.. They experinced theit 1st proper french meal at Le Bouchon Ponot and slept well as did we in the very comfortable beds.

On waking all they wanted to do was play in the garden and climb the viewing platform and we had to drag them into breakfast where we were treated to a breakfast which included home-made jams which were lovely. We then treated ouself to some of their own wines and walnuts in their little shop.

If you are a family looking to break up the journey to the South of France this is well worth a detour!

Room Tip: For a family room chose the Chardonnay - there is even a little kitchenette if you need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulF1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed for one night at this excellent bed & breakfast. The hosts were first class and very helpful recommending the only restaurant in the village for dinner - Le Bouchon Ponot - which again was very good. The room was clean and very nicely decorated, it was obvious that a lot of care and thought had gone into the renovation. The honesty kitchen was a very good idea. We will certainly stay again in the future en route from England to Spain and also dine at the local restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thanks for message...See you again ?
Caroline and Philippe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Le Chai de la Paleine is close to perfect for people who prefer a quiet holiday in the French countryside, and who want proximity to most of the splendour of the Loire Valley. The Logis has 12 rooms, each with individual decor. Our room ("Cabernet") was spacious and comfortable. The guests have access to a large sitting room and a nice kitchen with the best equipped minibar we have ever seen! The hosts, Caroline and Philippe, made us feel very welcome and gave us good advice about the interesting spots in the region. This time we stayed for two nights, but next year we plan to stay longer (yes, we will return!).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

hosts Philipe and Caroline were perfect. Met by Philipe, shown property and room, all in very good condition and very clean.Room had bottled water, tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast was extremely good and taken in the barrel, home produced jams and tea in a pot!!
We had a three day stay and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. we will stay here again hopefully when we return to France in September.
We stayed in Cabernet, large and airy.
We stayed in 6 hotels in a 3 week trip and this was by far the best value, even the Michelin starred hotel in the south of France did not have such good accommodation.
Philipe c'etait un bon sejour, merci beaucoup, L'homme avec le grand parapluie!! A bientot.

Room Tip: Cabernet was a good quiet room, with all facilities working
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hantscouple555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel which was converted from a previous winery. Philippe, the host was very accomodating and made sure our stay was comfortable. The rooms was very clean and well decorated and had a view of the beautiful garden. The breakfast was plentiful and good. We especially enjoyed the organic jam and homemade yogurt. The breakfast inside a big wine barrel was very memorable experience. We gave this hotel a perfect 10 rating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KuntalaCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
12 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 26 in Saumur
230 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
11.9 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 26 in Saumur
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Les Terrasses de Saumur
Les Terrasses de Saumur
#1 of 2 in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
348 reviews
11.8 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 26 in Saumur
599 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#10 of 26 in Saumur
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Le Chai de la Paleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Le Chai de la Paleine

Address: 10 place Jules Raimbault | Le Puy Notre Dame, 49260, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range: £70 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Le Chai de la Paleine 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Logis Le Chai de la Paleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing