We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed one night on our way back to Roscoff
The rooms are spacious and clean
Philippe was very friendly and helpfully
The breakfast was very good with homemade Jams ect
We will definitely return in the future

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tavygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We really loved our stay here. The owner, Phillipe provided a really friendly welcome and lots of advice on what we could do in the area (kayaking etc). We especially enjoyed the garden which was complete with chickens, a trampoline, sun loungers and a table tennis table with bats and balls provided. The shared kitchen (with supply of 'emergency wine') and air conditioning made for a comfortable stay. The setting on a while was fantastic, a welcome change after the bustle of Paris!

The village itself was extremely quiet in August so a car is probably essential to make the most of your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuelaMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here recently en route from Bordeaux area up to Dinan on a beautiful summers day. After a hot drive it was very welcome to be able to relax in lounge area and obtain drinks from the honesty fridge in the kitchen area. Philippe was so friendly and informative and was obviously so proud of his property. Room was very comfortable and quiet and everything necessary was provided including tea and coffee making facilities. Went to one of the restaurants in the village recommended by Philippe and were not disappointed there either.
Breakfast next morning was excellent too with good variety of food - we ate in the barrel, very unusual. Nice touch having the local produce shop too and we purchased some wine which we are looking forward to tasting.
Gardens quite extensive and good off road, secure parking was a bonus.
All in all would love to return and spend more time here in the future and will certainly recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Other reviews all raved about this hotel and the host Phillipe they were spot on. Set in the middle of the lorie region this little village is a perfect location for visiting castles abbeys and vineyards etc. There are two restaurants in the village both recommended by Phillipe we only made it to one as the food was so good we had to return. Back at the hotel an excellent breakfast seated in a wine barrel if you choose, serving home made jams that are also available to purchase in the small shop amongst other delicious French produce.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

If I could award 6 stars I would. Everyone says the same - well almost everyone - this is an amazing place. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Phillipe was a charming and helpful host. We arrived on a Sunday evening - most places were closed on our journey from Calais - so the wine fridge was a bonus! The local restaurants were excellent. The breakfast (yes in the barrel!) was superb. Even the other guests were fantastic - a big thank you to the couple who dined at the same restaurant and returned the camera I had left behind there.

I'm a little late sending this review - we went in May 2013. I'm sure it is still a great place and so convenient for visits to Saumur - and Montruil-Bellay - 10 minutes away. Look no further stay at Le Chai.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peegee_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very nice hotel, rooms are of a high standard, clean and spacious with good facilities. Communal area with emergency supplies of good wine very nice and welcome touch. Perfect location to visit all the local attractions. Two very nice restaurant within 5 minutes walk. Host is a star and very very helpful, would go back tomorrow

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is unusually laid out and the rooms very well equipped (tea, coffee making facilities - excellent). Comfy bed and good ensuite. Rooms opened out onto a large open lounge area with books etc. There's a kitchen area at the disposal of guests stocked with wine should they want to purchase a bottle. Although we couldn't have an evening meal there, the owner was able to recommend local restaurants. Breakfast (seated in a large oak barrel!) was excellent with good choice. The owner was helpful and friendly. Lovely village location and large garden.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matilda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
12.1 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
13.7 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
447 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
219 reviews
11.5 mi away
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
11.8 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Le Chai de la Paleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Le Chai de la Paleine

Address: 10 place Jules Raimbault | Le Puy Notre Dame, 49260, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Le Chai de la Paleine 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Logis Le Chai de la Paleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing