We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Rural French Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the house
Private enclosed pool with patio / gazebo eating area Dining Room - 6 settings plus highchair
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Front of the house
Private enclosed pool with patio / gazebo eating area
Dining Room - 6 settings plus highchair
Well equipped kitchen with range hob, washing machine, dishwasher and fridge freezer.
Main bedroom 1 - king sized bed with en suite wet room and plenty of drawer / wardrobe space.
Parrot at Doue La Fontaine zoo
Giraffe and zebra at Doue La Fontaine zoo
Market entrance in Bourgueil - Tuesdays & Saturdays
View of the local vinyard in Saint Nicolas de Bourgueil
Horse riding available at a number of locations close by.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saumur, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
billhj
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Idyllic Rural French Retreat”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My wife and I spent a week with our married friends, Sue and Steve, at this cottage in the middle of rural France. The owners description is accurate and can be relied upon. We had a wonderfully relaxing week with extremely good weather - touring in the morning and returning to the pool in the afternoon. The pool area is spoiled by an overhanging sycamore tree and a surrounding laurel hedge both of which mean the pool is in need of constant cleaning. Some cushions and parasols for the loungers would have added to our enjoyment of the pool area. These are fairly minor points though and did not detract greatly from our enjoyment of this facility. The cottage is well equipped and support from Darren is on hand. His recommendations of trips to Villandry, Saumur and Montsoreau‎ were excellent. All are within a 45 min drive from the cottage and present an excellent opportunity to view the beautiful French countryside

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian...
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic! ”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

What can I say? Angie and Darren went above and beyond to look after us. So lovely and flexible with our arriving times. The house is large, perfectly clean and a lovely place to be. Surrounding area is fabulous, especially the forest. We saw lots of wildlife. The pool was fab. Hope to return soon! Thanks xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your review Judith, glad you enjoyed your stay at La Boulaie! Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KJSE2012
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely gite with private pool set in a splendid peaceful location”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The gite is very well equipped, has good sized room and is set in a peaceful rural location, but close to many picturesque villages and beautiful chateaus and gardens to visit and explore. Supermarket and bakers etc close by. We had a lovely, relaxing stay at this gite and totally unwound. We took our two small dogs and enjoyed days out to lots of local towns, villages, chateaus and gardens where they were always welcome. It was nice to come back each afternoon and relax by the excellent pool - we were lucky to have great weather to enjoy it. We will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Glad you both had a lovely relaxing time at La Boulaie - look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 May 2017
Many thanks for your kind review and am glad you enjoyed your stay at La Boulaie! Kind regards Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely Gite in a lovely part of Loire”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely stay in this well equipped Gite. Peaceful location but near to local amenities and some lovely French villages, chateau's and markets. Would definitely recommend.

Pool area was lovely with a nice shaded area with table and seating. Property manager and his wife were very accommodating and gave us useful local information.

All had a great time and we're sorry to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was as expected
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing