We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find”

Auberge des ecuyers
Ranked #20 of 117 Restaurants in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A good find”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were walking down the road looking for somewhere to eat and there were at least six restaurants one after the other. We chose this place as it had an authentic food fired pizza oven and looked welcoming and had a lot of outside seating as well as being packed inside. Very friendly woman came to serve us ( not sure if she was the owner) and there was also a very efficient waitress. Food cooked to order and very enjoyable , lots of people were eating triangles of bread and dipping them into pots of sauce - we had no idea what they were and wished we had tried some knowing they were a local speciality. On the table next to us the couple were eating large stuffed mushrooms and said they were delicious. I had a very large dish of melon, mozzarella, ham salad and tomatoes which was delicious. Mains and desserts where delicious too. We returned on our last night in Saumur which was a Friday and it was much busier, there was a longer wait for service and the food but it was delicious when it finally arrived. My husband had the local pigs trotter casserole with beans. A good restaurant serving local specialities.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    79
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
東京
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delious fouee lunch”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I've never heard of "fouee" before my french friend took us to this place for lunch. She explained us that fouee is very traditional and typical of this region, French Loire. When we opened the door, there were already plenty of people having lunch so we have to wait for a while. The atmosphere is very warm, cozy and welcoming. We ordered "fouee" lunch for 3 person. At first, I thought that I had to select ingredients from the list (bacon, rilette, garlic butter, and so on), but not. Actually, when you order "fouee lunch", they serve you automatically a plenty of basket of freshly baked "fouee" (bread) and all the listed ingredients/fillings to your table. And this is "volonte" ( all you can eat). The food is very nice and not only "tasty" but also "fun" because you can try your own recipe by mixing up fillings. If you and your friends look for nice cozy lunch place yet traditional and typical for this region, you must go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReginaNomado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saumur, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must go there”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Saumur has one local specialty 'fouees', a small 'bubble of bread' that you can stuff with different sauces and cream, goat cheese, 'lardons', local beans, etc...
You need to try them if you go to Saumur and this is the best place to do it in the city. Very friendly staff, good fouee and very good pizzas, beef and fries.

You should also try the 'galipettes' which are big stuffed mushrooms. It's really good.

:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Authentic Restaurant”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were recommended this place by the reception of our Hotel(Ibis Styles) as being a traditional local cuisine Restaurant, i must admit it was worth the 15 minute walk, the food was wonderful, it has a Pizza Oven in the middle of the Restaurant where they produced the most fantastic bread (try as a dessert with the Chocolate and Caramel dipping sauce mmmm!) The whole experience was wonderful, the starters of Tomato and Mozzarella for me and melon and Ham for my wife, whilst simple were delicious. For main course my wife had Scallops that were cooked to perfection and i had the most amazing Bourdon Noir truly delicious. The kids were delighted with their freshly made pizza which they claim is the best they have ever tasted (from 9 year olds praise indeed), and then that amazing Dessert. Coupled with the fact that the local bottle of wine we had was exquisite, and a bill of around 70 Euros for the 4 of us. A truly lovely meal in a lovely atmosphere and exceptionally friendly staff. The ideal way to start our French Holiday

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge des ecuyers also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Auberge des ecuyers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing