We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saumur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Croix de la Voulte
Ranked #12 of 25 Saumur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We visited the B&B last week, and found a lovely place, beautiful garden, clean and wide room, the owners were very kind and helpful, speaks english fluently.
The only "problem" was the internet - because the place is big, theres no wi-fi signal in the room we stayed.

RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hostess Madame Minder makes you feel welcome immediately. She follows you to your room and a small handcart is available for your luggage. In the nice, charming and very clean room with atmosphere you almost feel like a Baron. Everything is well maintained. The breakfast is served in the beautiful house in front of the pool and is excellent compared to what is often seen in France. The only thing we really regret is that we stayed at La Croix de la Voulte only one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_M_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is a beautiful B&B, cared for lovingly by its owners, Helga and Jean-Pierre. They are welcoming hosts who provide helpful information but don't intrude, leaving you to enjoy their quiet and relaxing B&B, grounds and pool. Breakfast in the pool room was a treat.

And the B&B is just a 5 minute drive from Saumur and its chateau and fab restaurants and not far from other local spots to visit. For us it was the perfect mix of a peaceful, stunning location with lots to do very close by. Plus it has quiet roads for running.

And Ava the dog is the gentlest, sweetest dog I've ever met and I'm usually scared of dogs :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyBYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

La Croix de la Voulte is located several kilometers from Saumur off the country road. Therefore, it is very quiet. The grounds are beautiful, spacious, with a large field in back of the property. Flower and other decorations enhance the setting. Our room (see photos) was simply gorgeous. We felt like we werre the lord and lady of the manor house. The ample breakfast of pastries, breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, delicious pate, cheeses, coffee and juice. was served in the pool house, a modern room, built to coordinate with the other, older buildings. This property dates back to the 15th century.
Helga and Jean Pierre Minder were the most gracious, welcoming hosts one could imagine. They recommened serveral sights to us, made restaurant reservations, and in general, made our stay even more delightful. When we left, they gave us some tips on chateaus to visit, We were not sorry we took their advice. We just wished we could have stayed longer at their home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed here in September,2012 for several nights while exploring this part of the Loire Valley, and we couldn't have chosen a nicer location.....quiet, charming rooms, lovely breakfasts and two of the friendliest and most helpful owners. Jean-Pierre and Helga greeted us warmly, with smiles on their faces, and were most accommodating during our visit. Helga recommended two restaurants that were great, one, a seafood place in town, and the other, a fun experience dining in a nearby cave! We stayed in the large historical room upstairs on the left, and although it was charming, it was a bit too dark for our liking. We looked at the other rooms on that top floor and would recommend any of those as a brighter alternative. Alas, the wi-fi was not working during our stay, and that was a bit of a drag.....we did use Helga's once, but it would have been preferable to use our own computer whenever we wanted. If wi-fi isn't important to you, we would say this was the perfect place to unwind and tour around the chateaux and charming towns near Samaur.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Wonderful french breakfast in a sunny pool cabana. Upstairs room was spacious, nicely appointed and a nice bathroom but no windows in bathroom for ventilation and natural light.
Wifi is available but only around the main house, i.e., not in your room. In rainy weather this can be inconvenient. The gentleman managing the rooms was very helpful and took care of our every need. A quiet and lovely location, easy to find and convenient to Saumur and other Loire attractions.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the left is spacious but small windows and thus a rather dark room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goslow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. This is a special place, beautifully managed by the owners Monsieur & Madam Minder who make you feel very welcome and are very accommodating. The Rooms are well maintained and very clean.There is a good size pool in the lovely grounds and a Breakfast room looking towards the pool - breakfast is included in the tariff and was very nice with fresh fruits and local produce. The hotel is off the main road so very peaceful but in a great location for visiting nearby attractions. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milliesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
1.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Saumur
Premiere Classe Saumur
#14 of 24 in Saumur
179 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
2.7 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Campanile Saumur
Campanile Saumur
#23 of 24 in Saumur
293 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Saumur Centre
Kyriad Saumur Centre
#10 of 24 in Saumur
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Croix de la Voulte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Croix de la Voulte

Address: Route de Boumois | Saint-Lambert-des-Levées, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Price Range: £48 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Croix de la Voulte is a very old manor dating from the XVe and XVII century build in the white stone of the Anjou area. The fireplaces in the rooms Anjou and Touraine are dating from the XVth century. A parc of nearly 3 hectares invites the visitors to gather around. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing