We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay a premium for your fizz!”
Review of Gratien et Meyer

Gratien et Meyer
Ranked #10 of 45 things to do in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent tour (€3 per adult) and wine tasting. Great location and views.

Unfortunately the local supermarket sells the same fizz for 30% less. Rather disappointed to pay a premium.

Thank Visitor1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gratien M, Responsable relations publiques at Gratien et Meyer, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you very much for you comment.
We are sorry that you find the same products for a lower price in a supermarket, were they really similar ?
We have 2 different ranges of sparkling wines, one you can find in the supermarkets, another one only for the Restaurants and the shop at Gratien & Meyer cellars. The blends and the aging time are different, that is why you usually can't find the same products everywhere.
Maybe it was a special sale for a limited time.
We would be glad to welcome you again and try to arrange things with you.
The Touristic Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"have visited several times"
in 2 reviews
"interesting tour"
in 4 reviews
"sparkling wines"
in 6 reviews
"great wine"
in 2 reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 2 reviews
"champagne"
in 5 reviews
"winery"
in 5 reviews
"caves"
in 17 reviews
"tasting"
in 11 reviews
"bubbles"
in 3 reviews
"cremant"
in 3 reviews
"admiring"
in 2 reviews
"loire"
in 6 reviews
"tours"
in 3 reviews
"english"
in 4 reviews
"grapes"
in 2 reviews
"euros"
in 3 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017

We have visited several times with friends and always find the staff very friendly and accommodating. The wines are very nice with many different varieties to taste (free of charge of course) including alcohol free to suit different tastes .
The tour is really interesting and a nice cool experience on a hot day , but book in advance to get an English speaking guide if necessary .
My best tip is don't park in the car park as it is a long walk up , try driving up to the main sales area as there are a few spaces there !

Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gratien M, Responsable relations publiques at Gratien et Meyer, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you very much for your comment !
You would always be welcome in our cool cellars for a tour or a tasting. Good tip for the parking of the car : when you want to purchase some bottles, it is always more convenient to have the car not far from the shop !
The Touristic Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

The visit to the Caves were very informative. The English speaking guide was able answer all the questions asked and was very patient. The tour explained how Gretien & Mayer first met and how the business grew.

Tip. take a coat it is cold inside.
Tip 2. Have a snack the creperie on the corner near the carousel and have free tickets. Otherwise it will cost 3 euros each.
Tip 3 Don't drive there or you can't drink the delicious wines after the tour ( free ).

Thank jefr805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gratien M, Responsable relations publiques at Gratien et Meyer, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you very much for your comment.
Tip 1. During the tasting you don't need your coat, the fizzy wines will get you warmer
Tip 2. You can find some free tickets in almost all the restaurant in Saumur, just pick one they are all good !
Tip 3. Please drive there, otherwise you will have to carry your bottles home by feet ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We visited Gratien and Meyer to get some bubbles for our wedding, they were so helpful and also speak English. They have a lovely sparkling red wine too which is a bit different and one with gold leaf . We bought plenty of Demi-sec. Love this place and it's set up

Thank Lillezoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gratien M, Responsable relations publiques at Gratien et Meyer, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you very much for your comment !
We hope that your wedding was wonderful. How could it be different with our sparkling wines ? You will always be more than welcome in our cellars, at least once a year to remember your 2017 bubbly holidays !
The Touristic Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We visited Gratien and Meyers Saumur wine caves last week and took advantage of the guided tour at a most reasonable cost of €3 per person. The lady on the reception desk was most helpful and the guide spoke very good English and was most informative during the interesting tour. Well Recommended.

Thank CarharrackmanRedruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gratien M, Responsable relations publiques at Gratien et Meyer, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for your comment !
It's been almost one year since your visit, we are missing you ! We would be glad to welcomme you again, maybe during one of our summer events Jazzbulles or Night'n Bulles ?
Have a wonderful season !
The Touristic Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gratien et Meyer also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Gratien et Meyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing