We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here with EF Tour”
Review of Campanile Saumur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Saumur
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Exclnt breakfast.Poor room.If you're thinking about an EF tour look for better agency.We toured So France,Loire Valley then Paris.No consistency in hotel quality.Lot of time on bus.Exclnt tour guide, but think you can do better for your $.Very rushed, no downtime.

Room Tip: US adult with group of kids on EF Tour. Basic room,poor AC,mold in shower.EF needs to up their game...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here last year. One reason we booked this hotel again was we knew and had very good memories of the restaurant. This time the restaurant was a disappointment. I remember a much better menu and better service. Not that it was bad. The food was fine. The service was just a bit slow. Last year I remember a larger menu with better food and service.

The room was exactly as we remember. Yes, it is small, but it is clean and has everything one needs and then some. The bed is comfortable. The water is hot. The heater was a bit strange, but kept us comfortable. The coffee in the room was not as horrible as most hotel coffee. The WiFi worked most of the time, but did go out some. There is a cave for wine right next door with a very nice young lady who knows her wine.

All in all you get what you pay for. This is not a five star hotel, but it serves our purpose very well. As far as the restaurant goes I hope it will return to the way I remember it. We stayed two nights. They second night we went downtown to eat.

If you are on a budget and want to visit the Loire Valley and the chateaux this is a good location. If you want luxury this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watercop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Our first experience of the Campanile and we were very disappointed. We were two adults and a child travelling, and the twin room which we booked included a dirty child's "put-me-up" bed which could only fit in the room by blocking the access to the bathroom! We were subsequently moved to a double room which was bigger (the bed was bigger then a double) with a sofa bed, but the room was not especially clean, was dated, and the whole room felt very tired.
The hotel is right on the limit of the town, at the top of a long gradual hill, so hard work if walking or cycling to get back to.
We usually stay with hotels in the accor group, and this compared very poorly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKBigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I traveled with a large group (67) and stayed at the Campanile,during the first week of April 2012. We found the hotel to be quaint and rustic. Very clean and fresh, with tea bags and a few packaged cookies in the room We enjoyed dinner and breakfast there....and had nice wine and enjoyed the fresh air by the reception area out front!!! We stayed 2 nights and felt we had a clean, comfortable and safe place to stay as we traveled around the Loire Valley. I would recommend this hotel for budget travelers, families and singles.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulfcoastgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Booked this hotel for myself and my mother through Expedia. The idea was to be there for four days while exploring Saumur and region. After only two hours we'd had enough of the place. I would have been satisfied with a clean simple room and this was neither.

The smell in the room and another we checked out was so bad it made us both ill, even after a brief exposure. You could tell whoever cleans the rooms does a pretty casual job as there was layers of dust around the windows, that is if you could see through them with the dirt and other smears on them. The sheets, if they were clean looked pretty dodgy and I'd be worried about bed bugs. Staff attitude was not too impressive especially that of the manager who just gave a shrug which typified what this place is like. I would have liked to impart a few choice words back to him in French but figuered he wasn't worth the effort.

We ended up staying at the Anne D'Anjou for a bit more and it was worth the extra cash including the cancellation fee I lost by cancelling at the Campanile. Fantastic hotel and staff who helped us out in a crunch.

Do yourself a favour and stay away from this place. I relied on Expedia listing a decent property and they fell way short on this one. I had stayed at another Campanile in Lisieux which was way better. Appears they lack consistency in maintaining quality control on all their properties

Room Tip: Don't book a room at this place!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Arcantel, Gérant at Campanile Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Upon arrival and before checking in the clients where disappointed with the location of the hotel as they were expecting to stay down town with a view over the LOIRE River.

As our hotel is located in a park at 2km from down town with a magnificent view over the Castle of Saumur and is not located in town.

On the first visited room by the guests complained on a cleaning product smell whom they where allergic and after visiting another 5 rooms they called EXPEDIA to cancel their full stay with us. We did accept it and even proposed refreshments to these clients who refused it.

Being always attentive to guest remarks we cannot accept non founded critics because guests made a wrong choice of location when they booked their hotels.

Please note that all rooms are equipped with air conditioning, bath tub & shower, satellite TV with CNN & MTV, welcome tray, free wifi, high quality beds, etc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

With its location, furnishing and restaurant, this Campanile should have been well on its way to a 'very good' rating. The bedroom was old style but clean and in relatively good repair (though there were large gaps around the door which was disconcerting - people outside in the corridor sounded like they were in the room). The location is fairly quiet and some attempt has been made at landscaping. The restaurant was attractive and the buffet selection at both dinner and breakfast was much larger and more inviting than at many Campaniles.

However all this is wiped out by the terrible attitude of the front-of-house staff. It was impossible to get a smile out of any of them and while direct questions would be answered politely, there was no attempt to be helpful or offer information. It would have been nice, for instance, if the guy in reception had bothered to mention that, unusually, you need a special code to use the wifi rather than just your room number and name. Instead we had to trail back across the car park to get this when he could have offered it when we checked in. At dinner our waitress was very flustered and agitated and as the evening wore on she was increasingly rude to the elderly French couple on the table next to us, who were clearly having a miserable meal as a result. I discovered on settliing our bill the next morning that she had served us a MUCH more expensive wine than the one we had ordered (and no it didn't taste that good!). The receptionist on duty merely shrugged and more or less said 'Too bad' - she couldn't see any reason why our bill should be adjusted. Incredibly bad staff training - if she had apologised and corrected the bill we would have left happy and with a positive impression. Instead for the sake of 6 euros this Campanile has just bought itself a bad review.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoneflowerStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Arcantel, Gérant at Campanile Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

The remarks are probably correct but it is difficult to trace them as we do not have the exactly dates of their stay and therefore the staff who were on duty.

We are going to work deeply with all our staff to avoid in future those misunderstandings and we wish to thank the clients for their comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The hotel was a classic motor hotel set up. The rooms were a bit small and cramped but very clean and well maintained, the restaurant was quite good. The outdoor areas were very well maintained and landscaping was lovely. We had a large group and had planned to socialize outdoors in the evening on their outdoor patio with fireplace, but the unexpected chilly temperatures and rain didn't allow for that. The hotel staff was very accommodating and let us gather to socialize in the lobby and restaurant up until almost midnight each evening we were there. I would definitely use this hotel again for the great value.

Room Tip: cramped rooms but otherwise a great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwilliford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
3.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Saumur
Premiere Classe Saumur
#14 of 24 in Saumur
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kyriad Saumur Centre
Kyriad Saumur Centre
#10 of 24 in Saumur
243 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Volney
Le Volney
#12 of 24 in Saumur
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
3.7 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
437 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Saumur

Address: Carre De Bournan, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Saumur 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing