We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Castle, wonderful atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Beaulieu
Ranked #3 of 25 Saumur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our second stay in this magical castle- we stayed some years ago and it was even better than we remembered. Again we received a wonderfully warm welcome with champagne and biscuits (and apple juice for our little girl).
The room was beautifully decorated –a four poster bed and a single bed and a large modern bathroom with two sinks bath and shower (I think the room was named ‘Montespan’– but not sure)
The grounds are magnificent – rows of grapes, a little herb garden, a pond, pool and scented flowers ( scented flowers may seem obvious thing to say, but the flowers around the pool were really powerfully perfumed).
The breakfast was excellent – plenty of compote and yoghurt, croissants, brioche and scones.

Our thanks to Mary, Conor, Monique and Louanne- they were so helpful and made our stay so memorable -there is a wonderful friendly, open, atmosphere in the castle- If we are ever in the Loire again we will stay there again, magical!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiggymega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauDeBeaulieu01, Owner at Chateau de Beaulieu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

It's always such a great compliment when you come back again, and thank you for your gracious comments regarding your stay at Chateau de Beaulieu, Saumur.
We well remember your visit to us, and it was a pleasure to try and make your visit memorable and to discuss with you some as-yet-unexplored corners of the region.
Of course, for your daughter the Chateau d'Ussé, which is the reputed setting for the novel The Sleeping Beauty, was an unmissable destination. Dreams are made of this! Maybe when she is a little older she can come back for the famous horses of the Cadre Noir - or, indeed, the many pony and horse riding schools around Saumur - or even sailing on the Loire River?
Also, we very much enjoyed our discussions regarding French cuisine - on which you and your husband are clearly so knowledgeable.
So, until the next time (we hope), very best wishes to you, your husband and daughter - it was our great pleasure to meet you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Beaulieu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

A fabulous location and chateau - but the essence is in Mary and Connor - we had accidentally booked at a chateau with the same name but 5 hours away - so to Mary we arrived unannounced. But we didn't feel awkward for a moment - a suite readied in a flash, a glass of champagne, a call to the owners of the incorrectly booked chateau and we were relaxing!!! This chateau is worth going to -it's steeped in history and has a brilliant vibe - no matter who you are.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zubbie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauDeBeaulieu01, Owner at Chateau de Beaulieu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

“There are no mistakes, just happy accidents.” (B. Ross). We were delighted that an 'accident' brought you to us and that you liked your stay with us. It was a real pleasure for us to meet with you and to hear of your fascinating travels. Your detour to Saumur gave you, I hope you'll agree, an appreciation of this unique region of France (the Loire Valley) which combines such great wine appellations, cuisine, and so much history. Bon voyage in all your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife, two young girls (7 and 5 at the time) spent four wonderful nights at Mary and Conor's wonderful Chateau in July 13.
It was an incredibly relaxing time, we stayed in the Louis XIV suite whch was one of the best in the house apparently with four poster bed and annex room for our two daughters. Breakfast was a very convivial experience and we got to meet many other residents who all seemed similarly thrilled to be staying, Mary was a particularly genial host and my irish wife loved swapping stories about 'home'.
The weather was fantastic and we made great use of the pool. There were only ever a maximum of three groups there at any one time it seemed and it was never crowded, usually we were there alone - even in the late afternoon. The girls' swimming came on no end.
Saumur and the surrounding area is of course stunning (it's France!) but many other media will cover that.

Would love to stay there again and relive the memories!!

Thanks to Mary and Conor for an unforgettable time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauDeBeaulieu01, Owner at Chateau de Beaulieu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

It was our great pleasure to meet you and your family while staying with us at Chateau de Beaulieu, Saumur.
Yes, the heated swimming pool is always a great hit with the children - and the adults too! The adults, of course, may find the setting of the pool amongst the rows of vines, a pleasant reminder of the their travels to the many appellations of the Loire Valley: Saumur Champigny, Chinon, Bourgueil, Puy-Notre-Dame, etc.
Thank you for your very kind words, and finally, thank you for the fitness video reference... I'll get to it - soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at the Chateau de Beaulieu for our first night on a cycling holiday of the Loire area. We arrived earlier than the requested check in time but Mary was happy for us to sit by the pool and enjoy the grounds until she got back from shopping. Having only just arrived into Saumur by train from Paris and not having been to the Loire area before we appreciated the welcome Mary gave us into their beautiful Chateau and the information she was able to pass on to us about what was available to see and do in the surrounding area. Mary and Connor (the owners)are originally from Ireland. Breakfast is served in their big dinning room around a huge table that all the guests sit at. This is a lovely way to meet fellow travellers and hear about their experiences. Breakfast was a nice combination of both French and English food.
Our room was on the second floor at one end of the Chateau. It was very roomy and light and our lovely big four poster bed was very comfortable. Staying here was a wonderful start to our cycling holiday in France.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlsonwalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Reviiew from Gloria G

The exterior of this stunning listed building exudes elegance, peace and tranquillity and that's before we even entered it. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the owners, Conor and Mary with a glass of bubbly. We chose for our two night stay a suite/room consisting of two bedrooms and a spacious bathroom on the second floor. The bedrooms were very comfortable with superb beams and terracotta tiles to add to the charm. There was an added feeling of relaxation and stillness on the second floor.

Our breakfasts were a nutritional mix of cereals, yogurts, cheese, ham, fresh fruit (including grapes picked from the garden that morning), croissants, breads and, a big highlight for us, was the 'just out of the over' freshly baked wheaten bread, baked by our host Mary that morning.

Our hosts also were tireless in their efforts to ensure we got the very best from our Loire trip. Numerous leaflets, information on chateaux and maps were available. They even phoned and reserved tables for us in nearby Saumur. All of the restaurants they recommended had been tried by both of them and the two we visited in Saumur were first-class, food and service: l'alchimiste and Ton,Ton.

We also enjoyed around Chinon and Saumur, or sitting in an attractive square with tempting cafes. Our culture trips took us to Chateau Azay le Rideau and a couple of Abbeys.

We will back for another stay with Mary and Conor

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 878GloriaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights at Chateau Beaulieu midway through our holiday and found it to be so comforting and warm thanks to the owners Mary and Conor. We arrived slightly early and were greeted with a much appreciated glass of local sparkling wine whilst warming ourselves in front of the fire. Mary then showed us to our lovely rooms which by French standards are huge! Beautiful and comfortable 4 poster bed and lovely period pieces completed the room and our newly renovated ensuite was modern and clean. Breakfast was especially nice due to a lovely, hot, strong cup of real tea! Mary goes above and beyond making restaurant reservations, providing recommendations and address for wineries and even helping out with failed hotel reservations. Both Mary and Conor understand the true meaning of hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and full of charm.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0ira54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at Chateau de Beaulieu last weekend and had a fantastic time. We were in a group of 10, and shared two suites, which gave us plenty of room. Conor and Mary (the owners) wonderful people. They even unlocked an empty room for us so that we could have an additional toilet to use. The location is just a 5 minute drive to Saumur centre and simply stunning. Our only regret is that we only had one night there. Overall we had a blast, and if we pass through Saumur again we will definitely book at Chateau de Beaulieu again. 10 out of 10 for everything.

Room Tip: All three of the rooms we saw were incredibly cute and unique. All of them had their own charm, so I...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Verrieres
Chateau de Verrieres
#5 of 24 in Saumur
427 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
1.5 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
559 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
434 reviews
12.3 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Beaulieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Beaulieu

Address: Route de Montsoreau, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Price Range: £102 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Beaulieu 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Beaulieu is a beautiful and romantic 18th-century castle nestled in the middle of a park with hundred-year-old trees, and situated just 200 meters from the banks of the Loire River and 2.5km from the lovely town of Saumur. Listed as a 'Monument Historique' by the French Ministry of Culture, Chateau de Beaulieu is recognised for its light and elegant architecture. At the chateau you can enjoy French billiards, or a swim in the heated pool set amongst the vine rows of the vineyard.Dr & Mme Coady-Maguire purchased Chateau de Beaulieu in 2003, and guests can be assured of a warm and friendly welcome to their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de Beaulieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Beaulieu Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing