We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central spot”
Review of Le Londres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Londres
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Friendly staff, good size rooms, good wifi and secure parking . Central Saumur so easy walking to the sites around the city. good restaurant recommendations made . We didn't take breakfast as it was expensive but plenty of cafes locally to get a good coffee and pastry.

Room Tip: rooms at the front are noisy early in the morning when they are road sweeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeLondres, Propriétaire at Le Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Sarah,
thank you so much for all these details & positive comments. The enthusiasm of our gests is our best reward ! We are sorry that our breakfast was out of your budget, but be sure that we have one of the less expensive ones of the 2 & 3 stars hotels in Saumur & our priority is to be delivered locally with fresh product like croissant, paints au chocolat & bread from the bakery every morning, yummy !
Best Regards,
Charlotte & Francois Chovet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

I booked one night in the Hotel de Londres after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. I arrived in Saumur by bike, and the hotel couldn't be easier to find! It is very centrally located, and there is a little bit of everything nearby. I was able to lock my bike in a safe and secure unit next door in their parking area. The check-in process was easy, and the rooms, reception, and breakfast area are clean and relatively new. The building does not have an elevator, and some of the hallways were a bit gloomy and worn. This could be why the hotel has a 2 star rating. But do not let this discourage you. I would recommend the breakfast. Overall, I had a very nice stay in this hotel and would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeLondres, Propriétaire at Le Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear guest,
I am glad to read you had a good & peaceful rest after days biking ! It is true that our central location is appreciated by many. Since 8 years, our priority has been to refurbish the rooms. The 2 last hallways (over 5) will be done soon with air conditioning in all rooms. We have all criteria to be a 3 stars, but our choice is to get them with the elevator & air conditioning in 2 years maximum.
Thanks again for your nice comments & we will be very happy to welcome you again,
Best Regards,
Charlotte & Francois Chovet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Hotel de Londres was absolutely the best hotel experience we had in France. The staff was friendly, and helpful. The hotel was clean, the breakfast an outstanding value, and they had safe parking at a reasonable price. The only negative is no elevator, but the staff helped up bring our bags to our rooms. If I return to Saumur I will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeLondres, Propriétaire at Le Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear David,
thank you very much for this great comment. The enthusiasm of your guests is always a so good pleasure ! By the time we can invest in the elevator (as soon as possible...), my husband is the elevator of the hotel & I am glad you could appreciate his service !
Looking forward to welcoming you again with us,
Best Regards,
Charlotte & François.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Althiugh we did not stay (fully booked unfortuately), the hotel left a great impression. Good looking breakfast room, very tidy building - and dont miss out on the collection of comic books! And the owner was very kind to book us a room in a hotel nearby.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Xxx N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Greeted by very friendly and Helpful owners who have done a significant planned refurbishment since taking over and are happy to talk about developments
The reception areas and bedrooms are on the first and second floors but the owner immediately bought up our luggage as there is currently no lift.
The bedroom was spacious immaculate and well appointed. Although at the front of the building facing the main road we were not troubled by noise and there were shutters had light been an issue which it wasn't
The hotel is very central and the owner is more than happy to provide a town map with places of interest
Both he and his wor speak excellent English, a bonus as neither my friend nor myself seal French
We only had breakfast on one of our two night stay. buffet was well stocked but as mentioned by another reviewer when the invoice was made up the receptionist was unclear how many meals we had had, but the error was quickly rectified
This hotel should surely be awarded another star

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaHorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights as a stopover on the return leg of a camping trip and found the hotel to be a great location, we booked a parking spot in their secure lot at the back of the hotel. This was a much appreciated perk considering its location and we had a car jam packed with camping things. The staff were welcoming and helpful, our room was at the front of the hotel so initial concern that there may be some road noise especially with the children but it was peaceful. The room was clean and comfy and we had enough space for our needs, the bathroom was tiny but not really an issue!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helly_and_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

A lovely little hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. Centrally located but with private parking in a courtyard behind the hotel, which is worth booking in advance (5€ per night). Our room was comfortable and spacious, well equipped with a very good free wifi connection. The room overlooked the street below, and if you choose to sleep with the window open you may hear some noise, particularly the over-enthusiastic cleaning trucks which start about 3 am. It's not a major problem as all you need to do is close the window. Breakfast was more than adequate, it can get a bit busy in the dining room if everyone arrives at once but the staff do their best. We were here for 3 nights and the hotel was everything we needed, with the added benefit of the welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 26 in Saumur
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.4 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#12 of 26 in Saumur
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Saumur Centre
Kyriad Saumur Centre
#11 of 26 in Saumur
256 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 26 in Saumur
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Londres

Address: 48 rue d Orleans, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saumur
#3 Family Hotel in Saumur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: £64 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Londres 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Londres Hotel
De Londres Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing